One Good Turn

6 38
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Hi everyone, something caught my attention today and I feel we should address it before going to the main topic of the day.

As I was returning from work today, the traffic was crazy but we had to enter it so we could get home on time. We managed the situation and that driver did a lot of swerving and maneuvering se we could get home on time.

When the bus arrived at the location where the traffic jam started, we found people standing and watching a fight between two guys. People were just busy snapping pictures some hailing them as they punched at each other. The fighters were at each other's neck but no one could separate them.

This season where smart phones are flying here and there, people are rather picture freak than saving fellow humans from disaster. Let's watch it.

Image source

Some years ago when I was offered admission to the university to study history, I knew this good thing could not be celebrated because my parents may not be able to fund me. I held my admission letter to myself for quite a while before a summoned courage to tell mother that I have been offered admission. With the news, she jumped in jubilation. I would be the very first to be given such an opportunity in my entire family. It appeared to me like this is a huge celebration but I didn't join because I knew the financial power of my parents.

The University is about four states away. And in those days, there were no mobile telephones and if you have to write a letter through the post office, it will take another fourteen days to reach the preferred destination.

I was willing to go to the university and my dad knew that cannot be taken away from me. So, a week before our resumption, my father took me to his bank and withdrew every dime he had. I felt so sorry and weak that I had to go to school with everything he had saved.

When I arrived at school, as a fresher, we were compulsory asked to reside in the school hostel and we have to pay #90 (ninety naira) as hostel fee for a session and since our school was a federal school, tuition was just #200 (two hundred naira). After paying, I had more than enough money to spend for a whole year. My mother had packed everything I could need in school from beverages to raw foods.

At this juncture, something struck me. I regurgitated that back at home, my parents and siblings could be starving, I couldn't bear it. A week later, I boarded a bus back home to return a huge part of the money left with me to my parents. She wept. When I got home, my mother thought I had come to collect some money from them. I read her countenance but didn't utter a word.

After dinner that night, I went to my mom and dad to return the money. There and then, I saw the tears gathering in my mother's eye as she rained prayers of blessings on me. The next day, I was off to school. I didn't return home until after my second-semester examination, during the Christmas period.

Years later, after my grandpa passed on. He had a very big cocoa farm in Cameroon. Each year, proceeds from the farm is delivered to the family in Nigeria. My parents conceived the idea that if I could return money when my peers were buying new clothes and shoes, then I could be vouched for in terms of money.

Most of the property that could be seen in my family compound today was erected with the proceeds from grandpa's cocoa farm in Cameron.

Sometimes in life, some of the attitude we toy with turn out to either make or mar ou future. I am glad I took that decision and today it is in my route with members of my family.

Lead image

10
$ 5.82
$ 5.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
+ 6
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Comments

Well, it's funny how people enjoy watching fights especially when they don't know the parties involved. I've had my fair share of this experience and I didn't find it pleasant at all. These are some of the things I see that make me want to hate social media!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is such so nice of you to return some of the money to your parents. You are very unselfish. I hope the young ones do that too today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They trust with everything because of how you have handled things, such act is rare among the youth today. They will rather buy clothes and have unnecessary fun with them.

People are fond of what to share online instead of saving the victims, I hope people under the consequences.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is indeed a very touching story. We need more people like you helping their parents out

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm

Very nice story, one good turn really deserves another

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A very touching story. Once trust is earned, respect is earned alongside power. This story made me gain alot of respect for you. Your parents are really lucky people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago