Do Not Despise A Little Beginning

15 55
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Taking time out of my time to do what gives me joy is the best thing that can happen to me anytime, any day. Depression is not something anyone would like to remember or experience. And very little things can cause depression. What should be depressed about? I have had a lot of experiences in this short while I have lived, so much that I have become a hardwood. This is particularly my personal experience through the journey of life.

I graduated from the university over a decade ago. Young and promising. The job market was like a tremor. I couldn't get a job. One job interview to the other every week. Most of the interviews were for marketing pharmaceutical products. For me, that ain't a job. Some persons even wanted to help but we're demanding a bribe. A desperate job seeker being asked to pay bribes, where on earth do they want me to get such an amount of money.

One day, I just decided to take a stroll round town and found an inscription:

Subject Teacher Needed. Apply Within.

Quickly, I went in without any of my document and left a message that I will be back shortly. I ran like a wild dog to get all my document. That day, I got the job. At least, I won't just be sleeping and eating. The salary was #3,500 (less than $10 per month). I accepted the job and was diligent at it. I gave it my best shot.

After two months on the job, my salary was increased by #2,000. It started making sense. I was able to save some money. I first thought the job was for the main time, but I have been there for ten(10) years and still counting.

Scholars' International School for boys and girls became a talk of the town among private secondary schools for standard and discipline. There were time I feel this is not my calling but I kept pushing. When I saw other classmates moving faster, driving exotic cars and living in luxury, it feels like this isn't just it.

I was young and agile. Aside the salary, I organised extra-mural classes for students who are interested. The huge part of it all is the tutorials for prospective University students. Those who just passed out of secondary school and applying to the University Matriculation Board. We made enough cash through the tutorials. Everything began to fall in place.

Due to my versatility, I was made the chairman of the examination and records committee, to work closely with the registrar. It was a five man committee headed by me. Our responsibility was to screen intending students, give admission letters, conduct continuous assessment for all students and examination termly. And ultimately, to keep records of all tests conducted.

Image source

During my fifth year in the institution, I was appointed for a very sensitive position, the registrar of the institution. I have worked with all the registrars since I joined the school and the experience gathered will be of great help for me. When I started in the office, it was challenging but I managed every situation.

The founding principal had to go on a missionary activity out of the country and he won't be back any time soon. So, there will be need to employ a new school head. We all anticipated who the new head will be. During the end-of-year get-together party organized for staff, the member board of directors of the school was in attendance. When the party was in high spirit, with a lot to eat and drink. Dr. Martins, the chairman board of Director cleared his throat and said:

Attention ladies and gentlemen.

It's has been a very exciting year from September last year to now.

In this final term of the school year, we haven't had a principal.

Unknown to all of us, there had been series of interviews for whom will occupy the highest office in the school. And no one can tell what happened during the process.

The Board of Directors have decided that since none of the applicants knows how we operate, It is better we adopt one of the staff as the principal.

Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty

At this point, we looked left, right and centre for whom it could be. Then Dr. Martins continued:

For this reason, from next session, Mr Kazzy will resume as the principal of the school.

I couldn't believe my eyes.

There was shout in the hall as everyone gave me a standing ovation. I didn't believe I have done enough to merit such a juicy position.

Dr. Martins isn't done yet.

He will be assisted by Mrs Edith Etim.

By September, he would send a list of those who will work with him to the Board.

The Principal will be paid six months salary as he prepares for this office while the Vice Principal will get for three months.

On behalf of the Board, accept my congratulations.

For a week, I received congratulatory messages from parents and other stakeholders. It's another chapter of responsibility after another.

Lead image

15
$ 6.88
$ 6.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 8
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Comments

More grease to your elbows and more Wisdom to dispatch your duties in your honored position. Congratulations πŸŽ‰

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Amen man of God. More power to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hummn. My congratulatory message to the new principal Hahaha. So I have chatting with principal of a whole school. It’s my pleasure πŸ˜‡

Your patience really paid off. Just like yesterday. I am so happy for you sir

$ 0.02
2 years ago

All glory to God. Thanks for your kind words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Forward ever backwards never by the grace of God sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! This is great πŸ₯³πŸ₯³πŸ₯³ A man diligent with his business with sit with kings and not ordinary men. Says the bible

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The Bible was perfect on this saying. Diligence is paramount if you must break the jinx of stagnation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg...I agree a little beginning can leads us to wonders.I am glad you started with only a little salary but succeed to get this higher position as a principle. Congratulations

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I wanted more from life but like they say, a bird in the hand is worth more than a million.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I adore your diligence and patience. Not everyone can do it. God bless you sir. πŸ’—

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks a lot. It wasn't easy but perseverance kept me going.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Patient is the most important thing to have in order to get to higher achievement. If u can't start small, it will be difficult for u to get to bigger place

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for your kind words. Patience is very important in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wow, that's touching. A Yoruba adage says, Bi ori ba pe nile - oma di ire.

You eventually got rewarded for your hard work and patience all these years, congratulations to you sir. This calls for celebration.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks bruv. We will celebrate much later.

$ 0.00
2 years ago