Goals or Gadgets?

6 78
Avatar for PatsKy8135
3 years ago

I worked in the Middle East for three years when I knew from my heart that it won't be and never a long term goal for anybody who worked there as an overseas worker.

took this image at Corniche Area during a dhow boat race

At the end of the day, we would still go home to our home country, that's why I sourced out my finances and tried to study more about financial education as I am strong believer of Financial Literacy as the key towards wealth abundance and stability. It's the HOW and not just the WHAT of having money. Likewise sharing with you guys 4 Tips on How you can Fix your Cash Flow Problem!

*Took a screenshot on my second Cash Dividend as shareholder of Banco de Oro back when I was a newbie in the PSE as I invested my hard earned money in the Philippine stock market.

I don't save my money there but bought shares on a regular basis so when they earned, a portion of what they have, would also be given to us shareholders.

And oh, everyone can invest as long as you have the appetite to grow your finances for long term goal.

***

So what I really want to share with you today guys is about an experience that up until upon writing this post, I was reminded of how our Kabayans, Filipino overseas workers spent so much, and when I say so much, hilariously insane money when it comes to GADGETS per se.

Look, I know it's their money and they were entitled to how they wanted to do with it, but remember, BLACK SWAN is always coming so might as well prepare.

images both from pexels edited via lunapic

***

I always believe that LEARNING IS EARNING! investing my hard earned money wisely (equity, mutual funds, even health care) I knew it would save me when crisis comes. THINK on how it would affect your long term goal indeed. Took this photo back in Corniche area Doha, and at once the mere thought of THINKING how I wanted to have my finances grow brought me into researching and investing in the stock market. Oh how I love the bullish and bearish trend in the market because I would have the time to reflect that globally we are always affected regardless if we earned when financial depression hits the world economically.

And here's my thing with some of my Filipino colleagues back in the Middle East when every payday the way they have spent their money was 80-90% on gadgets.

I have a terrible experience of a friend who borrowed money with an excuse of sending it to her family and later I found out and had seen that she managed to buy an new released iphone in the market.

selfie time with a new iphone!

WOw, how timely eh?
I mean borrowing money to buy an iphone?

Please be reminded gadgets always depreciates on value so invest on something that can bring help you in a long term goal.


Another story of a colleague who worked for 15 years yet she could not even build a house because the money has been spent on either luxury items, travel here and everywhere.

Hey you might say, "Pat, come on, get a life, this is my money and I can do as I wish."

Sure I do get that but what I don't understand is the idea of spending even beyond their means. DELAYED GRATIFICATION is a saving act.

Delayed Gratification: Time is ticking!

I have seen and experienced how the idea of not preparing for long term goal or even setting aside an amount of money for future reference brought financial havoc even to my own relatives. My Uncle passed away due to critical illness. He worked for 45 years as a government employee, earned good money with a monthly stipend of nearly 50,000php!

yet when he was hospitalized, not even a medication was enough to pay for it.

So lesson learned: It's not about how much you earned but it's really about HOW MUCH YOU set aside for your investment.

So guys GOALS or GADGETS? why or why not?

Sponsors of PatsKy8135
empty
empty
empty

"THINK" image taken at Corniche Area, Doha.

Image of a woman on a phone: Photo by Anastasia Shuraeva from Pexels

Image of Time:Photo by The Lazy Artist Gallery from Pexels

Images of Goals or Gadgets are from Pexels edited via PicsArt

*www.dreemflare.com gif edited via lunapic

10
$ 2.90
$ 2.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @cmoneyspinner
Sponsors of PatsKy8135
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for PatsKy8135
3 years ago

Comments

People are encouraged by advertising to spend money on fancy, even useful, gadgets that they don't need. Just for being fashionable and appearing cool. The worst, as you well point out, they go into debt for the latest smartphone that they will soon put away in a drawer as technological waste. Sometimes they are not at fault, as they are victims of the increasingly aggressive programmed obsolescence.

As you well advise, people instead of making stealthy purchases should intelligently buy what brings them benefit. Not an unnecessary expense, but an investment that helps maintain or increase your capital for future contingencies.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hello, i am new to this platform, this is very interesting to me. I would like to study and earn like you. Such topics should be written by others to educate people. thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hi dear @marijaristic, glad that you found my content helpful when it comes to financial abundance. Personally I am a believer of investing either (crypto and stocks-equity and mutual funds) specially for long term goal because it would help us for future reference. I have seen a lot of financial havoc to my friends overseas due to not knowing how to invest and take care of their money. Again it's not about how huge the amount you have, it's actually about the habit of investing if not saving it. at least 10% of your income will do.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi kindly comment based on the post as this is considered spam. Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Greatful very fantastic

$ 0.00
3 years ago