Doha: My Adventure of Work and Love

61 168
Avatar for PatsKy8135
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

It was Ramadan of 2012 when I set foot in Doha and it was excruciatingly hot as it was summer. The heat was unbearable to the point that even throwing trash in the bin outdoor and spending 5 minutes outside our flat was way beyond imaginable.

Working in the Middle East was really an experience of a lifetime in terms of dealing people from all walks of life. Different perspectives on how to observe the culture of the country especially when it was their holy month so to speak.

Like I mentioned, Ramadan time was a real practice of self-discipline as the tradition of not eating in public even inside the shopping center was prohibited from 6 a.m to 6 p.m henceforth I remembered we went to City Center and it was around three in the afternoon that I was really craving for food, went to look for a small pizza house, ordered at least one slice, grab a bite to suffice my craving.

Trying to hide so as not to be seen eating in public?

I was literally enjoying my food when one guy came to my side, very relaxed trying to whisper something....

"please respect the culture of the country, we all want a bite of pizza you know!"

I felt like a kindergarten scolded by my teacher who wished to elope just right there and then! Boredom strike me the most for the whole month of August and it was as if like my time was just so dull and unproductive. The whole motivational videos I had watched served to no avail and I kept on contemplating what am I doing in the desert?

  • How on this green earth am I able to work productively if deep inside I just want to go back home?

  • Did I make a mistake when I decided to work overseas?


I asked myself these unworthy questions only to find out that the answers were found online… (wink on this moment thinking how I met my ex-boyfriend now my husband on that site).

Online dating was never my cup of tea as I had been so sceptical about these whole online stuffs.

I had been reading about how online dating could be very unethical and even risky but perhaps curiosity hit me that I went through the site, double, triple checked the reviews of some members not to mention a friend also recommended the integrity of the site as she found her fiancé there.

Nevertheless, out of nothing to do on that weekend I momentarily went ahead and just trying to see how it worked though. And oh by the way guys it was free at that time!

Well I came across his profile, checking through it and I knew from the beginning he is not my kind-of-virtual-friend-to-spend-time-with.​ Description per se, I’m not engrossed with his profile pic?

Why? 

Simply because he doesn’t know how to smile. Okay guys, while browsing others pic mostly it’s very tempting to send them messages and to start a conversation as façade of the snaps was just so great!

Well pictures can be very deceiving especially when you were just connected virtually. 

He sent a simple,

Hi, Hello, how are you?” statement and my usual replied,

great and what about you? How’s life?” 

Then we started talking life in general. Truth of the matter was unexpected as I was having good time talking to him basically because we talked about real life events and for a record it was political by nature. How was that eh?

It was time to log off and I just told him I need to run errands. I remembered before disconnecting he asked for my number and without hesitation since we were both in Doha, I had given him my personal mobile number and my Skype id.


He requested before logging off whether we can see each other on cam at least to wave good bye. It was a plain friendly cam-to-cam encounter and I just told him I can’t stay long. We were seeing each other on cam via Skype hearing each other’s voices and to my surprised he called me on my mobile at the same time.


I answered his call pondering,

Why are you calling me? I can see you on Skype right now?” clueless of his gesture.

His answered just blew me away.  It was a simple phone call yet an extra effort from his end. It's the effort that counts after all, right?

Well, it’s better to hear your voice on the phone. It’s more personal.”

So I have two questions for you guys:

1. Do you think online dating could lead to marriage?

2. Would you risk taking a chance on love online? Why or why not?

This video was taken during our holiday as we chill around Souq Waquif Area. Our kind of dating mode in an Arabian Peninsula!


Both images used are: Photos by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

The rest of the images used on this post are mine.

Lead Image edited via Canva

Badges earned by the author and property of Uptrennd University edited via PicsArt

Let's connect via cointr.ee

50
$ 9.44
$ 9.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of PatsKy8135
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for PatsKy8135
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

Comments

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Friend , you have written too good . I heard from someone the middle east countries are very sunniest and hot weather countries.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oh thanks @Maisha. Truly appreciated dear for reading my post. Middle East is roasting when it's summer, it was really survival to the fittest adventure. Have a good day ahead.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nicely. ... I love Ramadan season

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello dear @Syaif Ramadan is a test of self-discipline upon working in an Arabian Peninsula! I arrived there August and it was really roasting! But i love my adventure in the end

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As the picture shows the country is beautiful I would like to visit their

$ 0.00
3 years ago

all those seem very interesting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mah favourite thing in journtry is food .I have gone many places for work and test many deashes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

niceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Masha Allah this is great

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is so informative nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What a nice article I appreciate reading your article I get to learn a lot from it thank you very much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Doha is one of the beautiful place. But I heard from someone the middle east countries are very sunniest and hot weather countries .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it's roasting there @Fahmed...lol! specially when it's summer...we can't roam around at Aspire Park however when winter, it's okay...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah i heard about it before ,my one of friend live there

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Beautiful writing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article to make

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hello @Sardeeq would appreciate if you could articulate your comment further on my post. This is likely to be a spam comment. Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I heard from someone the middle east countries are very sunniest and hot weather countries.In Ramadan are become very hard for them to happy Allah.Allah give you all Jannat i wish.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Doha is one of the beautiful place. And you went there at the time of romadan! That's the best time for visit there. Becouse various kinds of street food available that time. By the way, you look so beautiful ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yay thanks dear @SajibSarker, true enough during Ramadan though we were only allowed to eat at around 6pm but the food is sooooooo mouthwatering. I enjoyed the roasting heat in the desert though. Glad you like my post. Have a good day ahead.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Excellent

$ 0.00
User's avatar Win
3 years ago

@Win, oh dear, I hope you can articulate your comment on my post. Kindly share further than by merely saying "Excellent and Good one! these are likely to be spam comments. See yah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good one

$ 0.00
User's avatar Win
3 years ago

Awesome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

[deleted]

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oh no! these are exactly my statements @Slimshink. What made you decide to comment my own lines on my own post? Try to read the story further and comment based on the content. I would highly appreciate if you would edit your response. Impatiently waiting.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It might lead to that but it all depends, really. I met my partner too and it's been 2 years of being together and i would love to get married to him of the universe allows, really

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hey @Hanzell, hubby and I were together for 3 years because our priority was work so the plan of settling down was not the priority at that time, and then when we both finished our contract, as we didn't renew, we decided to settle here in Seychelles. Just hang on dear, it God's perfect time everything will both be on your favour. Do keep me posted. Would love to wish you both good luck.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well we're both in our early 20s and I've only recently found work. I do think we'd end up prioritizing work for until who knows when and we aren't even that sire if ot will still be us til the end but I'm hoping. It's great to hear that you and your hubby have been together for that long now and had given the thought of setting down after a while

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oh wow 20 still a bit young to settle down dear @hanzell, well at least on my perspective! hehe hubby and I got married at an age where people think it's our last trip... okay so I was around 32 and he's 40! lmao! and then I got pregnant at 35! all in God's perfect timing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. That's why we're more careful now because we can't risk ruining each other's lives yet. And as I've said, we're young and we're unsure. That's why we both find a need to talk about some stuff a lot, specially about goals and plans and stuff because it's hard to be sure at this age

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wht an inspiring story 😁 i tried online dating before too .. Pro wala pinatunguhan .. Am always lazy to answers those messages and the time are different.. My sleeping time was his working time.. I just don't want to stay awake all night just to reply his messages . so i gave it up.. 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oh dear, @jane, lol yeah I could relate, actually our sched was crazy since he worked in the aviation ( Qatar Airways) and night shift while I was into teaching, so even if we're both in Doha, still we hardly see each other not unless we have the same day off, so it was a real test. There was a point I felt like giving up. But he insisted! Thanks for dropping by. Malapit na Pasko sa atin.nakakamiss

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sa doha kpa rn? Dto nmn ako HK 😁 Pro atleast lumalaban parn sya pra syo..bka forever na yan 😁 kapit lng..sakn tlga kc tinatamad ako iba ang oras. Wala nagwowork oi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

heheh we got married na dear @Yen, hey kapit lang like you said, I still believe on destiny parin basta may buhay may pag asa. I mean if the feeling is really real and authentic, who knows, love is sweeter the second time around. I am currently living and teaching in the Seychelles now with my hubby and our little Sage Alexander. God bless.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow.. Happy for you... Kyo tlgs tinadhana . mapapasana all nlng ako 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yay sana all pero alam mo ba may twist din sa story namin ni hubby kasi there was a point wherein I tried to do matchmaking to a friend kasi nga I want her to find someone, in the end the one who did the matchmaking was the one being matched. I wrote about it din. masyado complicated yay. Hehe thanks for engaging on my post. Highly appreciated

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ikaw ang type eh 🤣 sana may mag matchmaking dn sakin 🤣🤣.. Btw new ka dto? Ngayon lng kta napansin. Sorry.. ✌ Mahilig tlga ako mag engage sa good stories..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i think I would post it here...OPERATION MATCHMAKING....hehehe @Jane..Yup I actually signed up through Scott Cunningham's link sa Uptrennd but he doesn't know lol. I am a coach/tutor sa Uptrennd University kaya dun ang focus ko, Pero I enjoyed din dito kasi may Filipino community wherein yun din hanap ko na platform. Good you found my story engaging dear. Highly appreciated.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. Just kidding i don't like matchmaking.. So nice meeting you here.. And feel free to ask or you can read other articles too 😊😊 dami magagaling na writers dto.iba nsa comment section mo na 😅 sa baba

$ 0.00
3 years ago

uu nga eh thanks for the warm welcome. Actually I have student @moneychaser na nandito rin...hehe.. ang galing kasi we can speak our language dito, iba parin pag may Pinoy community, thanks again @Jane.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh .i saw that user before..pinoy d b? Mganda yan iintroduce sa students ang platform..bsta give them the rules and the right thing to do here.. Mkahelp dn sa knla kumita ng extra income..

True iba ang pinoy makakausap mo.hndi nkaka nosebleed 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

right! actually nung nag post si Scott Cunningham about read cash dun sa Uptrennd Account niya, of all the links he mentioned apart from lbry, he's likely earning more here kaya na curious ako. So I signed up pero kasi nga focus ko sa Uptrennd University kasi ang ganda din ng community namin dun, not knowing when I see my bch wallet is increasing a lil, i told myself, mapaglaanan nga to ng oras.

lo and behold, I met you here @jane. Have a good day, Nice meeting you here

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ano yung uptrennd? Blogging platform dn ba yan?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hello @Jane, yes it's also a blogging platform and we earn 1UP as a reward for posting Quality Contents free from plagiarising. As I have mentioned I am a Gamma Tutor/Coach at Uptrennd University. Let me know dear if you want to check the site. Have a blessed day.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What is 1UP? 😅 sorry.. Sure can you send me the link? Am just curious bout it. I wanna check

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hello @Jane, kindly check on the link. https://www.uptrennd.com/signup/MTExNzUw hehe would love to see you there too. Para may mga Pinoy din doon, Dalawa lang kami ni Elizabeth eh. have a good day.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure 😁😁 thnk you so much for your time.. Matagal kna pla dto sa rc pro hndi naging active for few months

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hehehe I was given task sa Uptrennd University kaya hindi ko ma iwan mga students ko dun. I love our fun filled tasks always. Hehe kaya nga buti hindi ako na deactivate. I'm glad to have found RC din..Glad of our Filipino community here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ilang years kna nagteteach jan sa doha? Laki cguro swldo mo jan 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hehehe I am currently teaching in Seychelles now @Jane! worked in Doha for three years and then after ng contract di na ako nag renew since hubby and I decided to settle in Seychelles. nagtuturo pa rin ako dito, State School na this time. God bless! Kumusta naman Pinoy community natin sa HK? stay safe guys

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Buti at stable kna jan... Ang daming pinoy dto sa HK 😅 hndi nmn ako masyado nakikisama sa iba sa fb group lng... Minsan lng kc ako lumabas. .tambat2 lng kpg off

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love how you tell your story. I find it cute hehe. I onced experienced using an online dating site and there are guys there that is genuine. I mean not all are pervert 😂

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

hey @Yen, you bet there are guys who are decent though and I am just glad I met my ex-boyfriend now my hubby in a very unexpected moment. My goal was to work and God knows I tried be more objective. But he's so persistent. Actually our first date was hilarious. I think I might write about it then.

Thanks for dropping by on my post. Highly appreciated.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's destiny. You are destined to work there to meet you husband :)

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

yay actually I didn't plan of meeting any one because God knows my sole purpose was to work and earn for my family back home, yet God's plan is always better than ours.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its good for you that you can go to that place. I hope i can see that place too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hi @Reign, I went there for work. It was really an experience of a lifetime. Yeah hopefully you could also visit that place. have a great day ahead.

$ 0.00
3 years ago