Gods Unchained - Why sequence of play matter, and how Favor works

2 24
Avatar for Patch
Written by
1 year ago

This is a shorter post than the one I normally put out. But nonetheless, it is a very important one. And if you can master it is sure to take your game to the next level. What am I talking about, it is the correct sequence of play.


The sequence of play

At first glance, it might not matter to you what order you do things. As the result will end up being the same either way, right? Well in some aspects they are but in others, there is a huge difference. And if you have the aim of becoming better in the game. This I would argue is a very important and great way and opportunity to take your game to the next level.

But let us start at the beginning, so it all makes sense for you. Let us first take a look at how Favour, the in-match currency works. And yes I said in-match and not in-game. As there is a difference. Favor can only be earned and spent in your match vs another player. And after the match is over any Favour gained is lost.

How Favour works in Gods Unchained

There are a few ways for you to be able to earn Favour in a match. But first, let us take a look at the amount of Favour you will be able to earn. As this varies to some degree throughout the game. Both players start the match with 0 Favours each.

Whenever you complete a ‘Favor Action’, you are rewarded as follows:

  • You gain 1 favor during your first turn.

  • You gain 2 favor during your second turn.

  • You gain 3 favor during subsequent turns.

This means that the vast majority of times you will be earning 3 Favour per action you undertake. Now let us look at these actions that can earn you Favour. They are as follows:

  • You attack an opponent’s God.

  • You destroy an enemy creature outside of combat.

  • Your God/creature survives an attack during combat and the attacking creature dies.

You can also gain Favour from playing cards and some creatures can also grant you Favour in different ways. Now that we have gotten this knowledge under our belt. Let us move back to the sequence of play.

The sequence of play, and why it matters

The first thing, that I see people do wrong all the time. This is not so much a matter of sequence of play as a missed opportunity. But it fits in here. And this missed opportunity I am talking about is when you want to trade with a creature that has the ability "twin Strike". This lets them carry out two attacks on the same turn. And I have seen countless times where my opponent forgets to hit my God first, and then trade and kill my creature. 

Now let us get to the sequence of play. Let me set up an example for you. My opponent has just played a creature with 3 attack and 5 hitpoints. I have a creature with 2 attack and 2 hitpoints. I also have a weapon with 3 attack equipped. I want to kill the enemy creature and play one of my own. So I just attack it with my weapon and then hit it with the creature, right?

What is the correct play in this situation, resign? =)

The answer is it depends. Tricky right? =) If we do it the way I described it no player gains any Favor. But if we switch the sequence of play, attack with the creature first, then hit it with the weapon and kill it. This way both players gain one "Favour Action" each.

We get Favor for "Your God/creature survives an attack during combat and the attacking creature dies". And the opponent gets Favour for the same thing, as their creature killed out creature and lived.

It is important to note that in this case, both players can gain Favour or no player gain Favour. And how do you know what is right? If you can gain enough Favour that you can now buy the card you need, this can be very crucial and enable you to win the game. But you can also give your opponent enough Favour to do the same. The answer is it depends on the current situation what play is correct.

But hopefully, now that you are aware of how your sequence of play can have vastly different outcomes. I hope that you will be able to make more informed decisions during your games. And as a result, reach that next level. But do not get frustrated, this is something that takes time to fully master. If it ever can be fully mastered. And I myself struggle during my games frequently.

To summarize, the correct sequence of play depends on the current situation in the game. And the factors you need to consider is do you need Favour to be able to buy a key card? Do your opponent need Favour to buy a key card? In general, I think that if I have board control it is usually better to deny Favour to my opponent. So that is the general rule I have been going by.

And of course, there is the correct order in which you play cards, with respect to their ability. But that is pretty obvious most of the time. So I will leave you to practice that one on your own.

If you think that this sounds like an interesting game that you would like to check out. I would greatly appreciate it if you would consider signing up using my referral code.

https://godsunchained.com/account/register?referral=UMNIcMwQdC

If you do, we both get 10 $GODS when you reach rank 6 and have verified your wallet.

I hope that you have found this look at the sequence of play to be useful. And let us now take our game to the next level together. If you have any questions please post them in the comment section down below. If you would like to support me and the content I make, please consider following me, reading my other posts, or why not do both instead.

 

See you on the interwebs!

 

 

 

Picture provided by: Screenshots from Gods Unchained, Gods Unchained media

 

Resources

  1. https://godsunchained.com/account/register

4
$ 0.98
$ 0.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mypathtofire
$ 0.04 from @ZeroRequiem
Sponsors of Patch
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Patch
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Thanks, this is helping me on my GU journey.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Glad to hear that you find the post useful. =)

$ 0.00
1 year ago