The Time I Cried over an Anime

5 30
Avatar for Parres
Written by
3 years ago

Browsing on Tiktok and suddenly saw something nostalgic. A scene wtih a group of pirates crying over a burning ship.

If you don't have any idea on what I'm talking about, it is about One Piece. The ennies lobby arc that made me cry so hard.

Going Merry

The Going Merry was the Straw Hat Pirates' first full-sized ship, a caravel that acted as their primary mode of transportation through the East Blue and the Grand Line until Water 7. The crew affectionately referred to it as Merry on many occasions. It was given to the Straw Hats for defending Syrup Village against the Black Cat Pirates and was originally modeled by Kaya's servant Merry. The crew grew to love it as a home and a companion over time, to the point that she built a life of her own and became a true crew member.

Unfortunately, the Going Merry was blown up, impaled, cut up several times, and partially eaten by Wapol during her "lifetime." After assisting the Straw Hats in escaping Enies Lobby, the Merry was eventually unable to proceed and was given a Viking funeral.

The Merry was replaced by the Thousand Sunny, a ship specially designed by Franky (and the Galley-La Company) to keep the "soul" of its predecessor after it was destroyed.

Episode 312 Ennies Lobby Arc

The scene that I won't forget. It is the scene wherein Luffy with his crew gave a viking funeral to Going Merry.

The funeral is just okay, but when Merry started talking to bid goodbye to his "nakamas", little did I know that little drops of water started coming out from my eyes and literally I can't stop.

Why the hell I'm crying over a ship? That is the reason why I'm still hooked wo watching One Piece even if I'm married and have a daughter.

I'm planning to binge watch the episodes with my daughter after 2 years. And hopefully, she will enjoy the emotions that One Piece anime have given to me when I was young.

And for those who saw the episodes, what did you feel? Did it made you cry too? Let me know by leaving a comment down below.

Adios Amigos!

8
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Shounenbat
Avatar for Parres
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Only true guys cries over anime. 😉

$ 0.00
User's avatar RFM
3 years ago

That is true. 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've cried over plenty of anime. A Silent Voice hit me hard!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Will watch that. Thanks for the upvote

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've seen so many video reactions on this one and they all cried. Especially with the guys

$ 0.00
3 years ago