Unwelcome Guests

4 19
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

I opened the front door and instantly had to fight the urge to slam it shut in the face of the couple standing on my porch.

'You hung up.'

I crossed my arms and glared at the man. 'Yeah. Sorry about that. I hadn't actually meant to answer the call.' My tone made it clear that I was not in fact, sorry.

'Can we come in?' The woman spoke this time.

'Nope.'

She shuffled uncomfortably and cast a quick glance sideways at her husband while I watched the two of them expectantly still contemplating closing the door. I hadn't seen or heard from either of them in years and I could have gone the rest of my life (or theirs) without ever seeing them again and been perfectly fine. I couldn't imagine anything that would make them show up at my door, let alone ask to come in.

Honestly the audacity of the request only upset me more. Did they really think I was going to act like things were okay with us after what they'd done?

'Okay as lovely as this has been, I have things to do so,' I didn't bother to finish my sentence as I did finally begin to close the door. A hand pressed on the door and the woman looked at me with what almost seemed like a plea. I paused.

The man spoke. 'You're angry at me still. That's fine. Don't take it out on your step mother.'

I opened the door to glare at him. 'I'm not taking it out on her. She's just as guilty.'

'She didn't do anything wrong to you!' He raised his voice.

How sweet. I thought bitterly. The knight in shining armor.

'She stood by you and watched. That makes her just as bad.'

I kept my voice level. If he wanted to yell, so be it. I wasn't going to give him the satisfaction of knowing he was getting under my skin. I had often wondered what would happen if I ever saw them again.

I wasn't sure if I would be angry, hurt, or want to burst into tears. Turns out seeing them here was an odd mix. I felt anger at the fact they would show up at my home, my safe place and I felt indifference.  I didn't care one bit that they were freezing on my front step.

As a naturally curious person I was surprised to realize I had no desire to know why they were here. I think in that moment, it really set in that I didn't need them. I had been fine without them and I didn't want to give them the chance to upset my world again. More to the point, I didn't want them here.

'You made things clear when you walked out on us. You aren't welcome here.' With that, I closed the door before either of them could react, locked it and walked away, half expecting to hear a knock behind me.

My listening ears were met only with silence.


5
$ 1.81
$ 1.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Comments

Written by Matt Yorston:- Barney Bear is out in the woods picking berries when he comes across a skunk. Fearful of the skunk's scent, he tries to avoid it but when he arrives back home, the skunk enters his home shortly after he does. When Barney discovers the skunk, he demands it leave his house. When the skunk refuses, Barney gives chase during the course of which he falls into a well and the skunk rescues him. Even after the rescue, Barney is still angry and is about to clobber the pest with a shovel but just can't bring himself to do it. So instead he dons a gas mask and invites the skunk back into his house.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That was bitter but i suppose parents who left their families for someone else is a whole other thing entirely. It reminds me of my father XD

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm sorry for reminding you of someone you may not want to think about.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's fine, It's inevitable since every now and then i still see him when we go home to the family house

$ 0.00
3 years ago