Trying to be Positive

4 21
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

They say whatever you put into the universe will come back to you. I have to admit, especially lately, I've had a really hard time believing that. Today I'm having a hard time believing that right now. I'm trying to be positive though but I still need to get this out.

I woke up and as most mornings, I didn't want to get out of bed but I did. As soon as I realized I was about to enter a negative mindset, I pulled myself out and told myself 'No. It's going to be a good day. It's already a good day.' I got up, fixed my daughters breakfast (which she asked for) and got on my trampoline.

I decided to pull it out again as a way to get a little more active. Walking alone doesn't seem to be enough. My daughter still has half her breakfast left to eat so she can finish that before her lunch. I admit, I was annoyed over her not eating it when she had more than enough time.

Getting her to eat has been a struggle. I offer her things she likes and she doesn't want them. I give her things she requests (other than junk) and she doesn't want it. Today, that didn't exactly help my 'trying to be positive' mindset.

Neither did struggling to write all weekend and coming up with only half finished ideas which are sitting in my email waiting to be finished, but I digress.

Despite my daughter so far only eating half her breakfast (which was not a lot so she isn't full) I kept trying to be positive. I drank a bottle of water and set about making my own breakfast.

Since I'm not fond of Mondays, I decided to make myself a double chocolate baked oatmeal sweetened with homemade apple sauce. I used cocoa powder and dark chocolate chips. I love dark chocolate and figured it would give me something to look forward to for the next half hour while I got my steps and waited for it to bake.

I have walked a little over 10,000 steps and it's not even 11am so I thought, 'Okay. there's another good thing.' My stepbet for the day is already finished so all I have to do is sync it.

That's where another wrench got thrown into things. The app on my phone didn't seem to be working so I tried reopening it but it still refused to load in. Since it still wasn't working I figured I'd do a restart on my phone and see if that helps.

I went back into the app and it told me to log in. I tried and it told me my password was wrong even though I knew it wasn't. I figured 'Okay, no big deal. I'll reset it.' So I went to the website to try and do that only to find the reason it wasn't working is because apparently my IP address has been blocked by the site.

I have heard this is something that happens if you use VPNs but I don't so that can't be why. Since I'm blocked on the site, I had to go through facebook and send them a message explaining what is happening. I have a $40 stepbet going and cannot afford to lose just because something is going on through no fault of my own.

I explained what the problem was and they said to keep an eye on it and get back to them in 48 hours if it's not resolved. Naturally I was very annoyed by this point. Last week was only a warm up. This week I only have one day grace so if I can't get this working soon, I'm out $40.

Despite being stressed, worried and highly annoyed, I still thanked them and told them I would get back to them if needed. I am still trying my best to be positive but if the rest of the day keeps going this way, I'm not sure how long it will last.

6
$ 1.03
$ 1.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Comments

What's that stepbeat? And there's also false positivity that really won't do you any good. If you're annoyed, it's always fine to be annoyed. Better for your mental health too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Stepbet is a step competition. If you have a step tracker like a fitbit you can enter a game for $40 on average. If you meet your personalized step goals you are guaranteed to get back your $40 and usually make a few dollars extra as well. Thankfully they understood my issue. I sent them proof of fitbit saying they would look into it. That proved it wasn't my fault so they gave my game chips so I can enter a game later. As for being annoyed, I know it's okay I just didn't want to take my frustration out on an innocent person.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So you have to put in cash first to use for betting? Doesn't seem like it would be the type that would pay you when you accomplish a certain number of steps after some time. Though seems like an interesting app to try out

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've never had a problem with them in the almost 3 years I've been using them. I've never lost my money because I get my steps. They do get higher as you go but in my case I paid the membership so I can enter members only games. They have recovery games which lower your steps again if you don't want to wait for your average to go down. The members only games also tend to payout more because Stebet doesn't take a cut of it but a membership isn't a necessity for using them. I had one game a few years ago that I was in the middle of and couldn't finish because I injured myself and my doctor told me to stay off my feet for a few weeks. I sent them a message explaining the situation along with a picture of my doctors note and they gave me a medical exemption. I got all my money back that I put into the game. This time around with my issue they helped me out as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago