Toxic People

7 19
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

I guess I'm starting to look at this a bit like online journaling which is a little scary. I've never been one to personally care much about what people think of me. At the same time, sometimes I do care. I mainly care if it comes to my child and what kind of a mother people think I am.

That's mainly out of fear. I've had people in the past who have made things difficult for me and tried to have my daughter taken away. Not because we were actually doing anything wrong but because they didn't like me and figured that would be the best way to hurt me.

We were able to prove that we weren't doing anything wrong and thankfully they stated that since the claims were obviously false, they would find the person doing it should it happen again. They never got their name as the claims were made by an 'anonymous concerned party.' I know exactly who was involved because I found proof.

To this day, these people have no idea I know it was them.

I guess you could say there's a method to my madness. I used to confront people head on right after finding things out. Now I know it's better to wait for the right moment and there's always a right moment. Sometimes it just takes awhile.

The latest claim against me is that my husband works all day while I sit around 'doing nothing' because I'm lazy. Apparently my poor husband has to come home after a long day of work and then has to wait an hour before he can eat because I can't be bothered to get food on the table until he's there to tell me to.

That is so far from the truth. I make sure dinner is ready either by the time he gets home or fifteen minutes later so he has a chance to shower. He prefers to shower before he eats. His dinner is ready for him not because there's a rule it has to be but because I CHOOSE to have it ready for him.

We are partners. Yes he works and brings in the majority of the money while I stay home but we are still equals. There have been times where my husband has come home and cooked because I was too sick to stand and he does that without complaint. We take care of each other.

These people making baseless accusations because they don't like me is actually pretty sad in my eyes. It seems they have nothing better to do than make up stories about me while in reality having no clue what they're talking about.

One would hope this kind of thing would be left behind once leaving school and sadly, I was at one point young and naïve enough to believe that. Considering both these people have been out of school for much longer than me, (one is in her 60s and the other in her 40s) that's clearly not the case.

At this point it seems none too likely that either of them will get a life of their own that's more interesting than trying to destroy or at least hurt me. First with my child which in my eyes makes them outright low lives, and now again my marriage. You would think they would have gotten bored of trying to destroy my relationship by now at least since they're been trying for the past 13 years or so.

Apparently some people never learn. I don't associate with them any more than necessary but it doesn't stop me from finding out what they're up to. Honestly though, in the past, knowing what's coming has come in handy since I can usually head it off at the pass.

Toxic people never learn I guess and I'm sure they cling to each other because their behavior has left them with no one else. A better person might feel bad for them but I guess I'm not a good person. Or perhaps I just finally accept that it's their fault and they aren't worth the energy.

2
$ 3.84
$ 3.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @KJPR007
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Comments

You just hang in there because there's really no point in having yo confront them. Better to file a restraining order or something when the accusations get way out of hand. That is also enough to prove their accusations to be false

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have actually looked into that. I was told it's not possible to get one when they haven't caused me enough harm for me to fear my life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

there should be acceptable degrees of threat that the state should approve of else what's the point of having laws that claim to protect its citizens

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I once had a man threaten to kill me. Actually using those words and when I told the police their exact words were 'If something happens to you he'd be the first person we question.' I even told the cop that wasn't comforting but they just shrugged it off and said that's the way it is. I'd say I just got stuck with an uncaring one but there's been more than one time I've gone to them and they've not been at all helpful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

An now I'm sure that the cops are worthless too and that you should just go see a lawyer or something but that would be hella costly ;;-;;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are obviously the stronger one here. I enjoyed reading your expression. Its a good read. Hoping it's onward and upward from here on with you and yours.

Sending you supreme positive vibes. Love n light Bless up!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago