The Voices

8 17
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

I wake up to the sounds of whispering a lot for someone who lives alone. It sounds like I'm surrounded by people and it's been happening for as long as I can remember. I used to wake up screaming when I was little because of it. As I got older, I realized no one else could hear them so I stopped talking about it. I guess my parents figured it was just a bad dream that eventually went away. Or maybe they were just relieved that I wasn't crazy. I felt crazy.

The problem is, it didn't go away. Every year that passes, it seems to happen more and more. I only used to hear them at night. Now, sometimes I hear them during the day but I can't make out the words. There's just too many of them, talking all at once in a low whisper.

When I'm by myself, I tend to listen to music a lot so I can't hear them. As long as there's noise, they leave me alone. I don't know what they are or what they want, but lately it's been getting worse.

Sometimes, I can even make out a word here and there now but it still doesn't make sense. I do wonder sometimes if I'm going crazy but this feels different. The voices aren't in my head. They're external. All around me, whispering in my ears and surrounding me even though physically, I'm all alone.

I can make out more words now and I don't think they're talking to me at all. They're talking to each other. All my life, I've been hearing snippets of conversations I wasn't meant to hear.

If you listen hard enough, you might one day hear what they're saying too but you shouldn't. Listening in to conversations you aren't meant to be a part of is rude and sometimes dangerous because if you notice them and really listen, they'll notice you too...

*I originally posted this story on Reddit*

3
$ 0.27
$ 0.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty

Comments

As you see dear it's still EXC which is interesting.

How about saying (shouting) be quiet, shut up for a change or telling them to talk one by one? Go away might help too. It's what I did. 🍀💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's the case of schizophrenia if you relate it to real life and all

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There are way more options than schizophrenia, those voices sound different plus you can understand them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just remembered a friend i met in therapy where he feared the voices he was hearing since he was schizophrenic. But it's also the case with anxiety but in a milder tone, mostly

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And you have multiple personality disorder and people who hear voices thanks to the religious way they are raised and all those little voices people hear and blame (the devil made me do it), ghosts, lost souls, sensitive people feel and hear more....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahh i may have forgotten about those too. I was thinking alomg the lines of possession too when i saw your reply

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have never actually experienced it myself. I just had the idea pop into my head and needed to write about it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's rare to meet schizophrenics in social media XD it's far worse than anxiety because schizophrenia can cause manic episodes from those whispering and voices in their heads. I met one back when i was in therapy. He always cried about the scary voices in his head but I'm not sure if he's been able to control it now

$ 0.00
3 years ago