Struggles of a Writer

2 11
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

I have so many ideas going through my head right now. Snippets of stories, whispers of plots, wisps so vague I can't even figure out exactly what the thought is before it's gone again.

It's frustrating to have so much to work with yet nothing at the same time. So many ideas for characters just popping up out of nowhere but no idea what to do with them.

I've got a notebook and an app full of short pieces that don't seem to fit together. Some are full paragraphs where I don't know what happens before or after. Some are just a line or two. A quote or a thought.

I think if people read my random musings they would likely think me insane. I though taking a break from it would help but I'm not sure it has. I've looked back on some of my work to try and add to it but it hasn't worked.

Starting a new piece doesn't seem possible right now either. I've tried to find inspiration elsewhere. Reading, TV, music all failures. I tell myself the words will come when they need to. They always do and I know this is far from the first time I've lamented my lack of ability to write. It likely won't be my last.

I have the need and the drive to write but the concept still escapes me right now. It always comes back. Be it a few days, a week, even a month or two. It always comes back. I know that but in the moment, that thought, that knowledge does little to comfort me or quell the frustration I always feel during times like this.

I apologize for complaining so much. I know how annoying it can be to listen to someone not only complain constantly but also about the same thing over and over. That's not the kind of person I want to be but I can't help it right now.

This platform is for writing so that's exactly what I'm doing. I'm writing the thoughts i can place into words right now. Maybe this will be a catalyst to get me started on a more creative project. Maybe it will give me the boost I need to re-do or add to something I've already started but failed to finish.

Even if it doesn't though, at least this is off my mind and I can move on from it. I chose writing as a way to express myself and even with this piece, that is exactly what I'm doing. I'm expressing my frustration over my current situation to feel a little less alone.

2
$ 0.50
$ 0.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Comments

I don't see it as complaining but a way of thinking. I suggest do something different. Be creative. Pick three of your notes and build a story out of it. I make it up while I write. I have never thought out a storyline before I started. Good luck dear. 🍀💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't usually think them through either. I don't really want to think it through so much as I want to be able to just do something with it. Or write something new. Either way.

$ 0.00
3 years ago