Snowy Day Blues

0 8
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

As I type this, it's snowing outside. It's only the second time the snow has stuck around so far this year. I can't say I'm thrilled about it honestly. I hate snow, always have, probably always will.

It doesn't help that by the looks of it I'm going to have to shovel several times today since it's coming down pretty fast right now. I'm trying to look on the bright side, at least it's a bit of a workout. Only trouble is I know before the day is out, heck, probably on my second round, I'm going to be suffering from major back pain.

Back pain isn't just for the old ladies and gentleman though, some would say I am old. I've had it probably since I was 14 thinks to a soccer injury where I slammed onto my back while it was twisted. Nothing was broken but I was told it would bother me for the rest of my life.

On top of that, I have to walk to my daughters school sometime today to pick up some papers. She's learning remotely still but for some reason these papers need to be picked up. Like they can't mail them? I guess not, though I'm not sure why. Given COVID being a factor, you would think they would want to limit the number of people coming and going but I guess not.

I'm also worried about my husband having to drive in these conditions for work. I was pretty nervous until he finally sent me a text to say he got to work safely but it looks like things are only going to get worse through the day. I know when he sends me a text saying he's on his way home later I'm likely to be a nervous wreck as well until he gets home.

Times like this, I wish we didn't get snow. Sure it can be pretty to look at but that doesn't outweigh the risks. He has snow tires which help but I always worry. The last few years though he was working only a ten minute drive or so from home and he took the bus when things were too bad.

Having started a new job, taking the bus isn't an option as there are 5 or 6 he would have to actually take and he would likely be late no matter what time he left. Hopefully the snow will be short lived.

The last time the snow stuck I was out shoveling around midnight because the plow came through and I didn't want my husband to have to dig out the driveway in the morning before work. It was a relief when it all melted and we got rain instead.

Now with the snow still coming down outside, it feels like it's going to stick around longer but I hope I'm wrong. Really shoveling is just another thing to add to my already full list.

I think I'm done complaining about it now though. I should probably actually go out and try to make a dent in the mess outside then come in and have a coffee. By that time my daughter will have an assignment to work on and will likely need my help.

I do feel a bit better having gotten my snowy day complaints out of the way though so that's a positive.

3
$ 0.43
$ 0.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Comments