Partial Power

0 5
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Today or I guess yesterday since I'm writing this at 12:32am, was well maybe not as great as I wanted it to be in the beginning. Things started out pretty much the same as any day. Got up, cleaned, dishes, ect.

Around 11 things took a turn and a light went out. I didn't think much of it. I figured the bulb had gone out but that wasn't the case. The lights in the kitchen, bathroom and one light in the living room all wouldn't come on.

The ones in the bedrooms were still fine and the TV was running for background noise still so I knew it wasn't an outage. I checked the breakers but they were all in the ON position. I pressed on them anyway in case it had popped just enough for it to register but not enough to notice. That didn't help either.

The microwave wasn't working and I had to move the deep freeze because the outlet it was plugged into also wasn't working. I'm just glad I noticed before we lost a full freezer of food.

The landlord came in to check the breakers as well and couldn't find anything wrong with them so he had to call the power company.

The clock on the stove was still fine and I thought the stove was running but found out that while it did turn on and produce heat, it wasn't enough to be useful. I put a pot of water on to boil and almost 30 minutes later, it was barely steaming. Apparently the stove was also running at half capacity.

I wasn't too happy. I was glad I got all my baking done yesterday though because otherwise, I would have been unable to do it.

I told the landlord and he said someone from the power company was coming out. Since I'm not the homeowner, they didn't tell me much but by the sounds of it there is a problem with the meter on the house. I think there is another issue as well though since I heard the man from the company say he needed to go door to door to see if anyone else was having problems as well.

Thankfully they set up something temporary so that we have full power again until they permanently fix the problem.

This is not the first problem we've had with power in this neighborhood. In the last year alone (less actually) we have lost power 3 times just due to transformers overloading. In one case, the one just down the street from us caught fire. That was over the summer.

I know people are home more because of COVID and maybe the power company is having a hard time keeping up with the demand but it's still annoying. I am glad the issue this time had been fixed (temporarily) for now though.

My landlord said since there was partial power at the time that I could just move the microwave and use that to cook but I don't keep microwave meals. I enjoy cooking too much. I like prepping and putting things together.

I think there's only been a few times in my life I have used microwave meals and that was because I was so ill I could barely stand at the stove.

Anyway, that's my vent for tonight. I'm getting pretty tired and just needed to get things off my chest. (Again)

Writing has always been a coping mechanism for me and I doubt that will ever change. Sometimes I write things I really love (stories, poems, deep thoughts) and others I write pieces like this just to vent so I don't bother the people in my life.

I hope tomorrow (later today) will be less eventful. We can't go anywhere or host a bunch of people and I want to take advantage of that. I just want a nice, uneventful Christmas with my little family this year.

2
$ 0.59
$ 0.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Comments