Not Quite What I Had In Mind

0 17
Avatar for Paganprincess
2 years ago

I realize this is a few days late. I did mean to write this article a couple days ago but it slipped my mind and when I did remember again, I just didn't have the motivation.

This past Valentines Day was my first one with my new boyfriend. I was both looking forward to it and not. Holidays always have a way of getting messed up in one form or another. That's just always been the case for me no matter what I do or how I try.

Sadly, this Valentines Day was no different. The day started off with my ex dropping my daughter off for me to take to school and her deciding she didn't want to go. My boyfriend and I both tried to convince her and she refused to listen. I was tempted to pick her up and take her myself but between a bad back and being unable to get her into her jacket, that wasn't a viable option.

I did end up calling the school to tell them that her absence was not parent approved. About an hour after this, the principal called and tried to convince her to come to school, this also had no effect. My ex called from work to tell her as well.

In addition to deciding not to go to school, she spent the day mostly ignoring me or talking to me like I was nothing. We also had company for a good portion of the day which wasn't all that welcome.

The only thing that actually ended up working out the day of, was my dinner. I decided to make herb and garlic mashed potatoes, vegetables and slow baked ribs with a homemade rub and chocolate bbq sauce. Thankfully, that at least came out better than expected. I would have taken a picture of it but, they were gone before I got the chance.

My boyfriend and I did exchange our gifts after my daughter was picked up and our company left. He even got me a single rose since he knows how much i love them but also knows I'm not one who likes a bunch of them.

The end of the day was more peaceful but overall, it wasn't too great a day sadly. I hope you all had a better day.

2
$ 0.56
$ 0.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Paganprincess
2 years ago

Comments