Not Just Headaches

2 22
Avatar for Paganprincess
2 years ago

I've suffered from migraines for as long as I can remember, since before I had even heard of them.

At the age of 9, I finally realized that they were not normal headaches, though I had no clue what they actually were.

At the age of twelve, I remember coming home crying my eyes out because the pain was even more intense than before. I felt sick, clammy, and had stumbled home half blind before finally regaining full sight just in time for the pain to kick in.

I remember my mom being on the phone when I stumbled in, looking for comfort and her telling whoever she was talking to that she had to go. It was after that incident that she took me to the doctor.

She told him what was happening and that she suspected it was a migraine. This doctor insisted that 'Children can't get migraines.' That was that. No more was said or done and for years I suffered from them again and again.

When I was 14, my father took me to a doctor and I told him my symptoms. He said they were in fact migraines and that there is no proof kids can't suffer from them. He ran some tests but they couldn't find the cause. He suggested it might be caffeine, and right before Christmas of all times, I was forced to avoid anything with it. Including chocolate.

I still got them. Eventually they just told me there was no physical cause and said it was probably stress.

Even a few years ago, I was tested again because I still get them. Still no answers. While I'm glad there doesn't seem to be any physical reason, it's frustrating to know I suffer from something that interferes with my life so much at times. Not having any answers is frustrating and disheartening at times.

They are not just headaches. They are debilitating and anyone who doesn't suffer from them should be grateful.

3
$ 0.54
$ 0.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Trifecta
$ 0.02 from @TeRRey

Comments

Suffering from an unknown sickness is difficult, and not being able to eat your favorite foods is even more difficult. I recall when I was also suffering from diseases, I had no idea what it was at first, but every time I woke up, everything was black, and when I got up from my chair, nothing was black, but my eyes were open. We didn't know I had Addison's disease until we went to the doctor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not sure if they are migraines, but I get headaches where I feel like I want to puke and sometimes have to go into a room by myself with all the lights off and be completely quiet. It' difficult when you get headaches like that to have to interact with others. I could hardly imagine having to deal with that as a child. It must have been terrible for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago