New challenges

4 16
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Online schooling is a new thing for a lot of families and it comes with a new set of challenges. Children learning from home often means the parent will have to fill in for the teacher at times when they can't be there to help during assignments.

In my case it means at least four times a day, dropping whatever I am doing to walk through assignments that are due before her next class starts. This means I must be more flexible with anything of mine I am doing.

It means that whether it be writing, earning money, cleaning, dishes, cooking or whatever else I am doing I have to drop it to go through her work and help her through it. Instead of acting in the role of a teacher for a half hour to an hour a day after school helping with homework, I am now acting in the role most of the day as an on call teacher.

It adds greatly to my work load and at times I find myself overwhelmed because I constantly feel down on myself. If she still doesn't understand after trying to explain then I feel like I've failed as a teacher. If I end up not doing something one day that I think should have gotten done, I feel I've failed as a wife or a mother.

I try to remind myself that I'm only human but we really are our own worst critics. At times it becomes overwhelming and stresses me out. The problem is, if I am stressed, this will of course stress out my daughter which will make it harder for her to learn. If she is feeling stressed out, particularly because of me, that stresses me out more. It's a never ending vicious cycle that needs to be broken.

I need to take better care of myself but it's not so simple when the time is scarce. That's why I'm writing this. So I can try to get my emotions out and think more clearly. Writing has always been very cathartic for me. Often stress can make you feel alone but logically, I know I can't be the only parent trying to figure things out, especially right now.

At the end of the day, I am almost always exhausted by the time I drag myself to bed, usually at around 2am only to get up at 8am.

5
$ 0.13
$ 0.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Comments

Online schooling is a bit challenging to parents particularly if the student is still very young. There should always be someone to look after him/her as schooling goes on. Well, most of things are challenging at first specially when one is not used to it. Eventually, when we all get use to it, time will make everything normal.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you are a bit further it will be easier for your child as well. We decided if homeschooling starts here again we will no longer invest that many hours. My children were busy from 6 a.m. till midnight, mainly trying to lay hands on the work, waiting for teachers. Or the internet is too slow for it. Downloading 256 MB takes me literally one week. It'snot worth the time, energy plus I learned through the past years teachers hardly invest time in teaching and explaining. It was always me who did it, hour after hour, trying a new way if they didn't understand it. Easy for the teacher but I am not getting paid for that job. We still wait for answers to questions about the last school year.

Teachers should not expect parents to teach. If that is the case we better give up on this profession and do it ourselves.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Her day is only from about 8:45 to 2:45 but in between that she has assignments and of course there's homework. She also like any child, will get sick of doing the work and because she's at home, it feels more lax than if she were actually at school. The teacher will explain in the video calls but nothing is one on one and other kids will talk over him which makes it even harder. I basically have to leave my day open during her schooling though which means most of my work is done at night when she goes to bed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mine their day is not longer either but without an internet connection or a slow one they have to keep trying to lay their hands on the homework, need to keep trying to figure out answers to their questions and worse of all: sending made homework. Altogether work not even worth calling useful and everything takes way more time as anyone can imagine.

$ 0.00
3 years ago