Lucky Deal on Flashfood/Basic Update

5 18
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

It's only Wednesday and I must admit, I'm already drained. As is a common theme I have been trying more and more to save money lately especially when it comes to groceries. The main reason for shrinking the grocery bill is because it's the only bill we really have that isn't fixed.

In my last article I mentioned there hadn't been a lot of options on Flashfood and at the time of writing, that was true. I did however luck out (I think it was the day after I wrote about it) and manage to find a pretty good deal.

My main goal is produce boxes on Flashfood but there weren't too many of those. I did manage to find club packs of sausage the next day though. There are 12 to a package and they were regularly just under $13.00. They had them on for only $3.00 so I told my husband and he was more than happy to grab them and a few other assorted items. The sausages were on sale because there best sell by date was only a few days away though there is nothing wrong with the sausages themselves.

My husband was never really one for saving money before but over the last few months, he has started to see the importance of it which I'm grateful for. I also picked up one produce box when I got the sausages. It was $5.00 for a box of onions (fairly big ones) and potatoes.

The time I bought off of Flashfood before that, I had picked up some Kielbasa, also on sale as well as a package of fresh french beans for $2.50. I blanched the beans and froze them. There was enough for 3 side dishes.

I used the Kielbasa, about 5 potatoes and some of the beans to make a Kielbasa sheet pan dinner with some salt, pepper, paprika and garlic powder for flavour. It was easy to throw together and my family loved it. If I find the meat on sale again, I'll be sure to grab it.

I have some canned kidney beans and corn in the pantry I would like to use up so tonight I am going to make a 'taco soup' since it will also allow me to use up the last of the tortilla chips that I bought for taco salad a few weeks ago. It will also let me use the last of the frozen fajita mix I bought a month of two ago.

For now, my focus is going to be on cleaning out the fridge and deep freeze since they are totally full right now. If I can use what I already have, and minimize out bill even more, I will as much as possible.

On another note, I've been really tired lately but at least I know why. I haven't been going to bed until around 1:30 am at the earliest and even then I struggle to fall asleep for hours.

Since I can't do anything about my sleep right now, I'm trying to focus on other aspects of my health. Eating better and drinking more water. I took an empty orange juice bottle (1.54L) and fill it with water (tap) and put it in the fridge every night so it's cold the next morning. I try to drink at least half before my breakfast in the morning. I get up, get my daughter breakfast and hop on the treadmill while she's eating. After that, I make my breakfast and drink half the bottle of water.

Today I had chocolate baked oatmeal with a tablespoon of peanut butter thrown in. We have a lot of peanut butter so if anyone has any recipe suggestions, they would be appreciated. Other than cookies of course.

If you guys are getting tired of hearing about me wanting to save money, I apologize. It's just one of my main focuses at present. If it is getting to be too much though, please let me know. I have no problem with criticism as long as it's said in a constructively and not rudely.

PS: Would anyone be interested if I started putting up recipes for things I cook? If so, I can try to do that.

3
$ 1.14
$ 1.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Comments

Well it's good that you're managing to save as much as you can on groceries now if only that was a thing here but the most we have here is a kind of trade off or barter and it's hard to get enough materials for those at times too. I'm interested in your recipes since you do mention a lot of new food in your articles

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Interesting.... Its been a while since I indulged in one of your pieces I've been busy working on ideas of what to write about in effort to bring all to life in different creative ways. Reading your staff I'm totally inspired that you are so keen on saving rather than making more. Because if you can hear me out, I feel for you to think that we would get tired of reading about your savings and what not I think it's perfectly alright that you actually post about this.

More than that I know that you'd do better than just save even in your situation unless there are things you cannot do, there is so much out there. Its really is limitlessness in the vastness of creations that you have already put forth. Once you shift your focus to making more rather than saving (by all means keep saving but save in a way of growth not cutting down) if you get what I mean.

I think if I put my most honest and sincere comments here you might not like them or find them to be spamming so I'll keep it to that.

And one last thing, you specifically filled the juice bottle with tap water uhm that's intentional right? I mean is it part of your savings or you like it? Cos that could be contributing to the savings mindset.

I like your posts and thank you for worrying about how we feel on what you feel like posting.

Ok read. Love n light. Bless up!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am trying to make more as well but things here are slow so I'm very focused on saving. Most of what I'm doing money wise to make more is surveys for gift cards for things like Amazon which I'm using to stock up on non perishable items. I should have been a bit more specific on the water. Sorry about that. We got the orange juice on sale and I've just been filling it with tap water to try and get myself to drink more water. I've noticed I'll drink 2 or 3 cups a day when I use an actual cup but when I put it in the bottle and keep it with me, I finish over a liter before lunch or at least just after lunch. Truth be told, tap water does make me feel a bit ill (always has) and we do have bottled but if I only drank the bottled I would go through more than a case a week so it's not practical to do that. I'm trying to make it stretch as much as I can so we buy less.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Very conservative. With the pandemic scam it's all that there is. Would you like some suggestions?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm always open to suggestions.

$ 0.00
3 years ago