Interrogation

6 23
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

'I already told you what I know.'

'You told us nothing.'

I nod my head in agreement but don't say anything more. I just sit and watch the man standing with his arms crossed in front of me. I know he doesn't believe me. I know he's waiting for me to break. I won't.

'You were reading.' He spits the last word out like it's the most disgusting thing in the world.

I hold up my book which I'm surprised they didn't take from me. As if the presence of the book in my hands even makes a difference to him. He's still giving me that look. The one they give that warns you to tell the truth or they'll lock you up. Good luck.

'I never left the vehicle.'

'Cars have windows.'

I made eye contact with him and kept my voice level.

'Books don't.'

He snorts and walks closer, towering over me but keeps his hands firmly on his belt.

'Didn't you hear the screams?'

I tilt my head and look at him before I answer. Why not make him wait a few seconds longer than necessary? What else does he have to do, go torment another citizen?

'I heard yelling. It's not exactly uncommon in that area.'

It wasn't a lie. Lots of teens hung out just around the corner from where it happened and they got loud.

'Did anyone mention a weapon?'

I shook my head and heaved an annoyed sigh.

'I don't know. If they did I didn't hear it.'

His hands tightened. I could tell he was getting frustrated.  

'How could you not hear it?' If he went anymore red in the face he could pass for a tomato.

I raised my eyebrows and held up my book. Did I really need to say it again?

He reached out and grabbed the book from my hands, throwing it across the room. It hit the wall with a resounding smack before falling to the floor. I fought to keep my face composed.

'Was that necessary?' My voice was surprisingly even as I stared him down.

I wanted to get my book but I forced myself to stay in my seat.

He walked across the room and picked the book before tossing it casually onto the table across from me.

'You heard yelling.' His voice was calm now, his little outburst all but forgotten in his mind.

The whole good cop bad cop thing would probably work better if this bone head wasn't trying to play both and failing miserably. I thought to myself.

I almost smiled in spite of myself. Almost.

'I did. I couldn't make it out.'

'Did you try?'

I shrugged my shoulders. 'Why bother? It wasn't my business. It didn't seem important.' I really wanted my book back. My fingers itched to take it but I knew that's what he wanted me to do.

He gritted his teeth. There was clearly another outburst coming. He was practically shaking with rage.

'A murder was happening right in front of you and it didn't seem important?' He shouted, his grating voice echoing around the small grey room.

I crossed my arms and gave him another annoyed look. I wasn't sure how many that was now.

'I didn't know there was a murder happening.' If he was trying to intimidate me, it wasn't working. When would they finally get it through their heads that I didn't see anything?

He walked out the door and I heard the lock click into place behind him.

A few minutes later he came back in with a coffee which he placed on the table. He rubbed his forehead and started pacing in front of me. I leaned back in my chair, careful to keep my eyes on him.

'You really didn't see anything, did you?'

Finally!

'That's what I've been trying to tell you for the last four hours. Why the sudden change?'

'Camera footage just came in. It shows you sitting in the passenger seat, You never looked away from that damned book.'

With a sigh he picked up my 'damned' book and walked to the door, holding it open for me. He handed me the book and I studied the cover closely. Much to my annoyance the top left corner was bent. I bit my tongue. The last thing I needed was to be held longer for getting smart with him.

He followed me out of the precinct then branched off to his car while I continued to the other end of the parking lot where my ride waited for me.

I examined my book in case there was further damage but thankfully there wasn't. I looked up at the sound of my brothers voice.

'Everything okay?'  

'You owe me dinner, and you pay my phone bill for the next three months.' I told him getting in the passenger seat.

'No way. The phone wasn't part of the deal.'

'Neither was spending four hours in interrogation.' I tossed back.

He shrugged.

'Not my fault they didn't check the cameras sooner.'

I looked out of the window. He was lucky. He got the cool power. He could change his looks whenever he needed to as long as he had another person to take from. I was just an essence taker.

'Okay. Deal. What do you want for dinner then?'

I considered.

'He bent my book.' I pointed to the small disfigurement.

He knew how much I loved my books.

'Cop it is.'

He put the car in reverse and headed in the direction the officer had driven.


9
$ 6.35
$ 6.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Comments

Wonderful article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Brilliant article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cop sounds good to me although.... Let's skip the brains.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay that was unexpected, though I have heard human meat is the sweetest XD. Great Work!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

She was in cahoots with the killer this whole time OnO

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow nice story. I really love it. I never bore to read it. Thank you for your awesome article. We keep looking for more article from you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago