Homemade Tomato Soup

3 11
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Last night I wanted something fairly simple but still homemade for supper. Since It's been cold and rainy I decided a bowl of soup would be a good idea but I didn't want the usual chicken soup.

I haven't had a tomato soup in years since most of them seem to have celery so I decided to try my hand at making my own.

I minced four cloves of garlic and put them in a pot with some dried Oregano, parsley, basil and thyme. I don't generally measure spices so I apologize for not being able to give amounts for them.

Instead of oil I sautéed the garlic and spices in a bit of water since the oil may not fully mix with other ingredients later.

After sautéing for about 3 minutes I then added two cans of tomato paste and two tablespoons of brown sugar to the pot and cooked it over medium low heat, stirring until the tomato paste becomes an almost dark burgundy colour.

Then I added two 28oz cans of crushed tomatoes along with four cups of broth (use any broth of your choice) stirred to combine, and heated through.

The soup had a nice rich flavour and made for a surprisingly filling meal with a grilled cheese sandwich on the side. In my case, the chicken broth I used had just enough salt to add to the soup so I wouldn't have to add more but not so much as it over powered it.

This recipe made a fairly large pot of soup. It fed my husband, my daughter and I and there was enough left to freeze for probably a few meals as well.

4 garlic cloves

Dried Oregano, parsley, basil and thyme

2 156ml cans of tomato paste

2tblsp of brown sugar

2 28oz cans crushed tomatoes

4 cups of broth (add more if you like a very thin soup)

6
$ 0.33
$ 0.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Comments

I make it with tomato paste too these days but add vegetable broth cubes. Same herbs or... mint.

If I like a thick soup I add rice and in rare occasions pasta.

I never add sugar. I fry the tomato paste. The best way to "kill" the sour taste although I love eating it this way. 👍

P.s. There's a community for recipes!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder if my roommate would like to try this. It looks like a nice soup to have for a cold day and when we're both lazy to cook

$ 0.00
3 years ago