Halloween Plans

7 18
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

With the pandemic going on, my family has had to change our plans for Halloween. My husband and I were (for the first time in years) going to go to a party on October 30th. Obviously we have decided against this given the circumstances.

My daughter was like most kids, excited to go Trick or Treating but that will also not be happening other than a quick trip to her grandmothers and a close family friend.

Halloween is her favorite holiday so it's no surprise that she was sad when I broke the news to her. Since we can't take her out, my husband and I decided we would just go to the store and buy her some candy and a variety pack of chips.

I have also cooked up an idea for a surprise. I told my husband about it and he agreed to it. We also had to enlist the help of a family friend to keep our daughter busy for an hour while we set things up.

To make it up to her and so she doesn't feel like she will miss out on Halloween this year, we decided to get our daughter out of the house for an hour and decorate the whole apartment. We'll also set up a little snack table so she can have her own personal mini Halloween party.

With her at home schooling working on some of the diy decor could have been tricky but thankfully my daughter just assumes mommy and daddy are adding more 'creepy stuff' to their bedroom. (We have a lot of skull decor)

I'll let her keep that conclusion since it will make it easier for me to surprise her. My budget isn't extensive for decor so between upgrading dollar store things (one pictured above) and the more gothic things we have up year round, they'll have to do.

Hopefully it makes her feel better.

13
$ 0.15
$ 0.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Comments

We do not celebrate Halloween. Sounds to me you are very much the Americans alike. Halloween parties do not exist where I live so no one will miss it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sadly it would have been the first time in years I could see a friend of mine. Our schedules normally conflict and we live about 2 hours from each other. Past few years a lot of things have gotten in the way preventing us from seeing each other, this is just the latest.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am sorry to hear that. I hope you two can catch up in a different way or celebrate while video calling or sending videos up and down with some hidden tasks about movies or what you did in the past?

$ 0.00
3 years ago