Delivery Issues (No Tip)

8 19
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Please, before you judge based on the title, read the article.

I had originally planned to make a chicken dish with potatoes tonight for supper but I just didn't feel up to cooking. When I told my husband I was lacking energy, he suggested we order pizza. I agreed. We haven't ordered in a while I wasn't going to say no to the break. Plus, leftover pizza freezes well so that means instead of being stuck eating it for days in a row, I can just pop it in the freezer until we want to eat it.

Anyway, the frustration comes from the delivery. We've noticed that the drivers to the only place we order from have been getting lazy. They never come to the door but always expect you to go to their vehicle on the street. This is not a COVID thing as some of them have been doing it for years. We only order from them because they are the only place that has decent prices that will deliver around here.

This time in the section for special instructions, I made sure to type out 'Side door. Please do NOT call phone.' I put that part because they have a habit of calling our cell and telling us they're on the street and we need to come out.

My husband walked into the house and asked if the food was here. I told him no and he said there was a car sitting at the end of the driveway that had just moved up to let him in. I went out with him to check and sure enough it was the delivery driver.

Admittedly, I was slightly annoyed about him ignoring the instructions, but I figured maybe there was a chance the restaurant didn't pass them on as they sometimes don't. He was just sitting in his car on his phone (no doubt calling the phone that no one would answer)

He finally got out and I tried to get his attention. I even had the card I was using to pay. He ignored me. I say ignored because I was less than four feet away and he was looking right at me. I even started waving the card I would be using to pay to no avail. My husband was working on the car and I was fed up so I went over to help him and ignored the driver.

My husband knew what was going on but he also knows I like to handle things myself which is why he didn't step in. The driver kept standing there staring at my husband waiting for him to say or do something because I clearly was not good enough even though I was paying.

I guess he finally got tired of waiting so he finally spoke (though again he addressed my husband instead of me.) He asked if the delivery was for us and I said yes. He again ignored me and looked to my husband. My husband made a point of looking at me. The driver finally got the hint and grabbed the delivery and piled it into my arms. He then put the machine on top of the pile of boxes in my hands. I was holding 2 pizzas, one box of wedges, one box of wings and a box of garlic bread.

As I had nowhere to put them down at the end of the driveway, I had to juggle them while also attempting to pay. When he put the machine on top of everything, he said in a demanding voice 'You tip me. You tip.'

I usually do tip delivery drivers. I think it's only right to but this man was the exception. I'm sorry but when you ignore instructions and refuse to come to the door even though it's part of your job, ignore the person paying and then demand them to tip you, it's not going to happen. I understand these are difficult times but I refuse to reward someone for treating me that way.

Crappy service on top of demands does not deserve a tip in my book. There has only been two times in my life I haven't tipped a driver. The other one was when I had to break a hundred and was waiting for the change to tip the driver out of it and he took off with it. We did get the money back from that one when we called the manager but still.

4
$ 5.96
$ 5.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Comments

:)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's a pretty mean driver, if you ask me so you did the right thing. I don't think they should fire a person like that when it's the food delivery industry

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know especially with COVID things are difficult for people but that level of rudeness just doesn't deserve a tip especially when they don't even walk to the door to knock. If my husband hadn't come in to tell me there was a car at the end of the driveway, I never would have even known he was there.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is there no rule there that "if it's late, it's free" kind of thing? Because pizza places here always tell a time estimate of when the delivery will arrive. And it's kind of weird that the delivery guy is that much a snob to his customers

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There's no rule like that here no. And honestly, there's some people particularly where I live where they don't like dealing with females. They feel the men are in charge and the women are only there if you're lucky.
He was one of those. He didn't want to deal with me because I'm a woman.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really? There's a thing like that there? While here, the delivery guys are always on the look out for females because it's usually the girls that do the ordering

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Here they don't really care if the woman orders as long as they don't have to deal with them. A lot of them aren't too female friendly here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The list of rude things just keeps getting longer and longer, the more you tell me

$ 0.00
3 years ago