A Reoccurring Lesson

7 20
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

If there is one thing I have unfortunately learned over the years it's that you can't count on people. I know this sounds cynical but I do have my reasons, many in fact for feeling this way. Admittedly, I suffer from a lot of anxiety and asking for help is not an easy thing for me because of past experiences.

Family is supposed to be there for you, they are supposed to love you, protect you and support you. A parents love particularly is supposed to be unconditional but as I've learned, that isn't always the case.

Having a parent who turns their back on you turns your world upside down. I have been through it. Twice by the same parent. The second time was admittedly my fault as I was stupid enough to think maybe he deserved a second chance.

I allowed myself to be talked into it by people who had no real idea what I had been though and because I had a child now, I thought perhaps things would be different. It was by far the biggest mistake of my life and one of the main things I would go back and change if I could.

I am one of those people who does not like asking for help, sometimes to the point of stupidity. I once carried a five drawer dresser down a flight of stairs alone because I was both scared and simply did not want to ask for help.

While I made it down the stairs in one piece, I do still have a faint scar on my shoulder to remind me of just how stupid that was.

Parents aren't the only ones who can fail us or in my case who have. There is too long a list for the number of times I have finally talked myself into asking for help only to be met with silence or some flimsy excuse as to why they can't help me.

A very recent example was when I went to a family member to ask for help with something I am planning for my daughter. I was told he would get back to me in a week. That week came and went and I heard nothing.

Having figured from past experience this may be the case, I had also made arrangements with someone else to be safe. This also led to a dead end. After reaching out to the first person again and hearing nothing, I told him not to worry about it as I would handle it on my own. This too was met with radio silence.

I have learned time and time again that I can count on only myself, and my husband. I think the most annoying and saddening part is that the same people who reject or ignore me when I need help are all people who I have helped in the past.

It is never an easy pill to swallow but I need to remember that I should start putting myself ahead of those who never help me when I need it. The silver lining in lessons like this is that eventually they make you stronger. You end up doing things you didn't think you could or rethinking things to make them work in a way that allows you to handle it without the help of another.

Perhaps this time, the lesson will stick with me. After all, how many times can a person go through it until they learn. Am I hard-headed, or just insane?

The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results so I suppose the latter is more likely.

7
$ 0.31
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Comments

I get that too and specially now when it's like it's an "every man for himself" kind of scenario no matter where you go

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Humans are by nature selfish. When you think about it, we couldn't have gotten this far in life if we weren't but perhaps it's time we evolve to care a little more about others. Sadly, I did do that and it did not pay off so I'm beginning to revert to a different mentality.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I never adapted that kind of mentality. I had a very family oriented upbringing on my mother's side of the family. That's why i hope to reciprocate that. It's not bad to help and it's not bad to keep a few selfish things for yourself for personal growth too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're lucky. My family is not like that. Most of them are only out for themselves and if they bother with anyone at all it's either because of a death and they want to know what they can get out of it or they're trying to start drama. Aside from a few people who distance themselves from the family because they aren't toxic, most of the decent people have passed already. Even my own father is a selfish toxic person who walked out on me twice, Once when I was a teen and once as an adult.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The only toxic people around me would be the people on my father's side because of their crab mentality, honestly. None of them can even give a name for themselves with how much they ruin each other in that circle of theirs

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are hard headed and your life is easier if you start believing there is no help, family is not supportive and they can, do not want to be there for you. They know you and are sure you are doing fine yourself because you always did. And I? I would have carried that dresser myself too. 😁

The fact is you can only count on yourself, the rest is extra. With that attitude life is easier and you'll see there will be a lot of extra to make life better, easier, more joyful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm basically going back to my old ways. Partly anyway, I don't ask for help now but I also will not go out of my way for the people who can't be bothered to help me now. If they can't help me that's fine, but I'll be too busy helping myself to help them. Maybe it sounds harsh but I guess it's the way it has to be.

$ 0.00
3 years ago