A Bumpy Road

5 14
Avatar for Paganprincess
3 years ago

Today was my daughters first day of online school. For such a huge change, she did very well and I made sur to tell her at the end of her day how proud I was of her for handling it so well.

She was supposed to start last week but the Saturday before she was supposed to start, an email from the school board informed me that they 'needed more time.' Normally I try to be very understanding but the situation with her schooling honestly sent me to my limit.

In August, I signed my daughter up for online school as my husband and I decided we didn't want to risk her going to school physically. After a months wait we got an email confirming her place and saying we would hear from her teacher (whos name I wasn't given) within a week.

That week came and went so I called the school board. They told me to contact her physical school so I did. After calling three times in two days and leaving a message because no one picked up, I still had not heard anything. So I called the board again and was told to keep trying the school.

I kept calling and left numerous messages. I never did get a response. Finally, last Saturday I got an email telling me the name of the teacher. I understand that online learning is a huge adjustment not just for kids and parents but school staff as well but I think had they started planning much sooner, the transition could have been smoother.

After all, the board was the one who warned parents back in March that online learning was highly likely. Which means they could have started planning farther in advance than August.

All in all, there are still a few bugs in the system and it's been a bumpy road to get to this point. Hopefully as things progress, it will get easier.

11
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

Online class in here doesn't work well. We need to climb on the top of the mountain to catch a better internet connection. We are in modular class. So we need to come and go to the school facility in order to receive and submit our kid's modules and then retrieve it again. I need to do it twice a week because I have two batches of students in our household. The lower grades and the high school. Such a tough job for me. But we have no choice but its the least we could think of a possible remedy to comply with their education.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Here, my sisters have already finished their exams. This online class setup is rather stressful, i tell you, specially in the case on third world countries where so many people can't even afford it despite the need for it. I believe they plan to open up physical classes as soon as the vaccines are secured though

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@charmingcherry08, @Clarissa_KG, @esciisc, @gerl, @Hanzell, @heartbeat1515, @Jane, @lioness777, @marblely, @Mehedi01, @psychie, @Urmeelaurmee122, @Xzeon

$ 0.00
3 years ago

To be honest I wouldn't know what there need to be planned. Each teacher/school teach each year exactly the same. They know which lessons should be reached a month or for 3 months. Year after year the questions asked, the texts and tests are the same. It's simple. Give the work for one week and let children make/learn it. Plan a time to ask questions or send them by e-mail. That's all. Especially children who already visit school will figure it out with or without help of their parents.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Most of it is because they do video calls for attendance. The program is a little buggy if too many people are online. As a parent though, I was highly frustrated at having to fight tooth and nail just to get an answer on who the teacher was when they should have known that much sooner.

$ 0.00
3 years ago