A wellness plate: Garlic & Rosemary Mussels

12 37
Avatar for PVMihalache
3 years ago
Topics: Health, Food, Experiences

Mussels are not everyone favourite but they are a super food, a rich source of protein and rare vitamins such as Selenium, Vitamin A and Vitamin B12. Being low in saturated fat but high in Omega-3 makes mussels contribute to a healthy heart and lowers the risk of arthritis or osteoarthritis. The iron, betain and glycoaminoglycans contribute to relieving joint pains and joint stiffness and facilitates the strengthening of teeth and bones. One of my favourite advantage of eating mussels is that it improves fertility as they increase the viscosity of cervical mucus plug in women and seminal fluid in men.

The zinc and Omega-3 fatty acids can rejuvenate the skin and fight against the causes of psoriasis and eczema. The mucopolysaccharides found in mussels helps preserve the appearance of youth by aiding the elasticity of skin. 

Precaution!

Mussels are healthy food but are prone to bacterial contamination. Only live mussels should be cooked, and dead mussels must go in the bin. The dead mussels are slightly open and do not close when touched. It is advisable to soak the mussels in fresh water for 20 minutes to remove sand. Use a firm brush to remove the additional sand and other debris. Wash and rinse with cold tap water and wipe them with a towel before cooking. Mussels should smell briny, like the sea, and the shells should be tightly closed. If it doesn't close when tapped, if the shells are cracked or they smell bad, don't buy them.

Garlic and Rosemary Mussels

I used 1 kg of fresh mussels bought from Morrisons. I gave them a good clean, a scrub and de-bearded the mussels in the sink. Only 2 were slightly open and I threw them. Left them in cold water for 2 minutes and gave them another rinse.

In a wide pan I heated a bit of olive oil and added the garlic, rosemary and half of chili. Add 50 ml of water and add the mussels in the pan, than put the lid on the make them steam. No need to add salt as mussels are salted by nature.

Cook for 2 minutes and add lemon juice and few dashes of white wine (Strongbow Dark Fruits works as well). Sprinkle your favourite herbs and spices and put the lid on for another minute, while shaking the pan gently. The mussels are cooked when they've opened up. Discard the ones that didn't.

Enjoy!

Help me out on Twitter and like/share finalist no.3

 

Links and referrals

Coinbase Earn - Up to $52 worth of Orchid (OXT)

Coinbase Earn - Up to $59 Compound (COMP)

Coinbase Earn - Up to $50 worth of EOS

Amazon author page: PV Mihalache

Quality Faucets: Stakecube (20 daily faucets)

Tier 4 referral system: Horizen (ZEN) & ZCash from PipeFlare GlobalHive

FreeCryptos GangDASH, TRX, ETH, ADABNBLINKNEO & BTC

Coinpot Gang: DASHBCHDOGELTCBTC BTC2

Free-Litecoin.com (LITECOIN)

Join Lbry.tv to earn watching videos & Publish0x to earn while you read

I use Brave and Presearch to earn BAT and PRE while surfing online?


11
$ 0.33
$ 0.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
Sponsors of PVMihalache
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for PVMihalache
3 years ago
Topics: Health, Food, Experiences

Comments

I literally knew nothing about mussels before reading this article. Now I'm well informed. And I know how to spot dead ones and that they need to be discarded. It makes a lot of sense if you know why that is. But prior to having that information and awareness, I would not have known to discard of them.

Thank you for this article. I definitely learned a lot by reading it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Always here to provide crypto and cooking updates 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

These are definitely two areas in which I can learn a lot. 😁👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Do you eat oysters or not ?? Nobody eats oysters in our country, I didn't even know that oysters can be eaten, God knows how much more I will see

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oysters are lush

$ 0.00
3 years ago

One of my favourite!!! Put ginger and it will be much more tastier! I can get that in tesco or asda like in butter and garlic then I just cook it the way I want it coz I can't get fresh mussels in here. Thank you Chef Paul! How about, Shrimp recipe?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha... can you see my drafts? Shrimp recipe is there. I use ginger for heavy meat and herbs for light meat. You can get bags of fresh mussels from Morrisons

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh really! Oh I'll wait for that. I just bought a bag of shrimp. I was about to have garlic butter shrimp tomorrow. No Morrisons near me. 😔 And the Sunday market that we used to go to we're close now so no choice. Thank you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ok. Posting now instead of morning .... stay tuned :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love mussels but it's very hard to find good ones for cooking.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is see

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This was great I like

$ 0.00
3 years ago