XVI: True or Faux

0 28
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Death, Fiction, Story, Choices, Work, ...

[WP] One morning, you woke up with the ability to see true and false when written down. If it glows a golden color then it is true, but if it glows a dark color, then it is false. Out of curiosity, you go to the library and walk into the History section, and to your horror, all you see is darkness.

*****

Getting tapped on the leg was one of the most annoying things anyone could do to me, especially when it is being used to wake me up from sleep. I opened one eye lazily and stared outside the window, seeing that we were in another apartment complex. But this one seemed big enough – again, very different from what I saw back at Flames; unit.

“We’ll get Asclepius to look at the wounds on his arm and also run a full physical rejuvenation too, just on case. Apollo, make sure he gets up. Sleeping on his first day is really not the best first impression to give to the others back at base, but considering the day he’s had, let us just overlook this one.”

Harmonia was talking, and Apollo, the guy who was in the backseat with me, was doing the tapping. I raised one hand to let him know I was a wake, then opened the door and got out of the car with them.

“Jermaine, you’re welcome to Olympus,” she said, beaming. It was obvious how proud she was of this place, and so it was clear that there were not too many structures like this in Justice. I just wondered what made it so important.

“Since you’re obviously ignorant of what it is, this is a 10-apartment block in which each apartment has three bedrooms, a sitting room, a kitchen, and a dining, complete with toilets and what not. The building also contains indoor and outdoor gyms, a swimming pool on the roof, and a grill behind. The most important thing is that the whole property is exclusively for people with special abilities like you and me, and is one of only three in the whole country.”

That was a feat worth being proud of. I assumed she owned them all, and was too modest? To mention that, but something else I picked up was the use of names from Greek Mythology in this unit. I didn’t know the girl’s name, but I already heard Harmonia, Apollo, Asclepius and now, Olympia. It sounded cool and all, but I wondered whose ideas those were.

“And what are the names of the other two?” I asked.

She smirked. “Oh, you’ve caught on to our little Greek mythology game in this unit? Well, they are Gaia and Tartarus. Tartarus is less of an apartment block and more of a secret holding facility and experiment centre where the subjects are exclusively SCP Foundation agents, so it has that name. Gaia is just like this one. Just in case you were wondering, these buildings are not just for use by members of my unit – anyone can seek refuge, rest or dwelling here for as long as they want. As Justice Agents, we do a lot of travelling, so rest is important, and safety during that rest is even more important.”

I nodded quietly. It seemed like they were the kings and queens of hospitality, but my previous experience had been anything but actually. Of course. I couldn’t mention that, because there was no telling what she would tell me to do next. There had to be a limit on how much control she could exert on people. Because her ability was out of this world.

“Is he the one?” a male voice asked.

I turned to see a man who seemed to be very fit, albeit in his late fifties due to a few wrinkles and a generous crop of grey hair on his head. Judging from the stethoscope hanging from his neck, I assumed he was Asclepius and had come for the medical examination.

Harmonia nodded and gestured for me to follow him while we entered the building. I took a left with Asclepius, while Apollo and Director Harmonia, as she asked to be called, took a right. The girl followed us.

“I thought you had gotten over your fascination with thus, Demeter,” Asclepius said, turning back and seeing she followed us.

Demeter. The Greek goddess of agriculture, if I remembered right. Apparently, their names would hint at what their powers were exactly, and I was happy about that. I assumed she could control plants and trees.

I could hear her giggle. “I thought so too.”

We entered the room and I was asked to sit on the chair while he examined my wounds with what I assumed were X-Ray goggles. As he touched the area of the wounds, I could almost feel the air around him shimmer and vibrate with his powers, and in seconds, the injuries closed up on their own.

So that was what his ability was> Healing people?

“R=Take your shirt off,” he asked while he grabbed the stethoscope around his neck.

I could see Demeter sitting and staring fixatedly at me, not bothering to avert her gaze. Was she really supposed to be here?

I ignored her and took off my shirt, I was very fit, so my six-pack was intact and my pectorals were prominent, as were the veins on my arm. After listening to my heartbeat, he placed his hands on my head and closed them briefly, mumbling to himself before opening them abruptly and looking at me quizzically.

“Already?!” he asked while Demeter and I looked on, confused.

*****

TO BE CONTINUED.

Thanks for Reading.

3
$ 3.48
$ 3.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Death, Fiction, Story, Choices, Work, ...

Comments