XIV: True or Faux

0 25
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

[WP] One morning, you woke up with the ability to see true and false when written down. If it glows a golden color then it is true, but if it glows a dark color, then it is false. Out of curiosity, you go to the library and walk into the History section, and to your horror, all you see is darkness.

*****

For the first few minutes, the ride was quiet and uneventful which actually suited my desires at that time because I needed some time and silence to properly gather my thoughts. For all I knew, I was in the Lions' den, so I did the little I could to be observant and properly analyze the mannerisms of the people in whose custody I'd found myself.

It was clear how much they differed from those in Incognito's unit. Unlike Flames' car, which was a beat-up Toyota that did not attract any attention towards itself, the car I was being transported in was a White Sports Utility Vehicle. To make things worse, the windows were tinted black, so it seemed the car was just begging to be stopped or noticed by the wrong people.

I soon found out that this did not matter, because each time we were stopped, the woman driving would always sing "let us go," and the officer would allow us to go without any more questions. I then established that this was really her ability; it was the ability to control people by singing her commands to them.

And it lasted long too, because, despite my attempts to hum or even whisper, no sound was produced. Until she allowed me to speak, I was basically a mime without makeup.

I looked into the rearview mirror and saw that she was looking at me and smirking from time to time. Her piercing gaze with the alluring eyes made it quite difficult to keep staring, so I managed to shift my head before getting drawn back to those eyes again. It was a vicious cycle of attraction and embarrassment before she spoke up.

"I haven't seen Flames talk about anyone or anything that passionately before. It was almost as if she cared, and the Flames I know barely even cared about the fellow members of her own unit. I wonder what's so special about you."

I wanted to speak, and I had actually opened my mouth too, but then I remembered two things. First, she had not exactly lifted whatever it was that made me unable to speak. Second, she didn't ask me to speak, so this was a test most likely. It felt like I was being given a second chance at a fair impression, so I shut my mouth and kept looking on straight.

"Well, he is a quick learner, to begin with," the girl in the passenger seat said as they all laughed. "I thought you had;t even learned from your mistakes back there, Opening your mouth would have earned you a little taste of hell once we reached the base."

I felt that I would have loved to have Flames' ability at a time like this since there was nothing I would have loved more than burning the girl's mouth. But I stayed calm.

"You can speak. Tell me how you guys managed to defeat Meek and Mill since you mentioned that you finished them off. Flames was only about three minutes late, which is remarkable considering the enemy you both faced, so how did you guys do it?"

"Flames had the upper hand because she knew what our opponents were planning to do, their mode of attack, their targets - target organs precisely - and all of that ahead of time."

The girl turned back at this point, while the woman just frowned a bit. "That sounds...off. I don't remember the information we got stating that you have any form of clairvoyance ability."

I nodded. "It was more technical than that. Flames asked me to write down a list of possible attacks they could use and a lot of attack patterns and combinations too. Those were about sixty-three total. Then she ak=sked me to write down target organs too. Any time the text glowed gold, I knew exactly what was their move, as far i=as they had settled on doing it in their heads, it became the truth, and the written truth turns gold according to how my ability works."

Her mouth was open for a bf=rief second before she closed it and smiled. "She turned the liability into an asset, didn't she? Smart. It seems like your ability had a few merits. It isn't a particularly windy day, and it's understandable that she looked so pale. How far did she go?"

"Amongst other things, she produced blue flames. She was burned out by the time we were done, and so she passed out. I drove us here."

"Ah, so you were the one responsible for bringing her back early enough? That's some fast driving there; makes you even more of an asset."

I just nodded.

"They don;lt say 'thank you where you're from?" the girl asked, her eyebrows raised. I could see a hint of a mischievous smile on her lips, so I knew w=she was baiting me.

"he's no fun," the guy said, laughing. "Caught on too quick."

"I'll do the honors of giving you a codename, Jermaine. I'll admit that we all have a few screws loose in my unit - which has eight people in it if I count you -but I think you'll fit in just fine."

Again, I had no choice but to nod.

*****

TO BE CONTINUED!

Thanks for Reading!

1
$ 3.18
$ 3.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

Comments