XII: True or Faux

0 24
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

[WP] One morning, you woke up with the ability to see true and false when written down. If it glows a golden color then it is true, but if it glows a dark color, then it is false. Out of curiosity, you go to the library and walk into the History section, and to your horror, all you see is darkness.

*****

The intensity of the heat was something I had never experienced before. Even though I was s, I could still feel the scorching heat on my arms, which I used to shield my eyes from all that light generated by the explosion. I thought to myself that there was no way those men escaped that attack before I saw the text glow gold.

"Barrage!" I managed to whisper as Flames exhaled sharply. The vapor that came out of her mouth was blue, and from the way the air around her shimmered, I knew that she was releasing a lot of heat. There was hardly a living thing that could stand that intense heat, and surely, as soon as the crystals got within ten meters of Flames' body, they melted.

"Oh, you're not dead? Well, this should prove even more entertaining," she said, panting as she tried to get her breathing under control. I then realized that there had to be some sort of burnout system that would prevent the users from continuously using their powers to their detriment, From the way that Flames was breathing, and how pale she looked, it seemed to me like it was her body's internal oxygen that was used to fuel the flames.

That said, the greater the flame produced, or the more intense the heat released, the more oxygen it took. That, on its own, felt like a great handicap, but because she had just produced a lot of great flames, and released that much amount of heat without hitting her limits, I knew she was good.

When the smoke cleared, I finally took in the carnage that was left after Flames went ham on those guys. Meek was dead - even worse than dead - gone. I could only make out a few charred bones, like his femur, but skin, flesh, and clothes had been consumed on the spot. Unable to dodge and lacking the abilities to protect himself from the flames, he was now nothing but a memory.

"Your partner is dead. Live cremation, hmm? You can check that off your bucket list because I'm doing the same myself."

Her tirade was cut short by the gasps from both of our mouths when the smoke cleared and the red crystal rock - which seemed to encase Mill like a fossil in amber - came into view.

The crystal wasn't completely solid; there was a big hole in the. roof and the edges of the hole looked slippery and melted, which made it clear that the attack had melted through what was his strongest crystal yet - the ones produced with blood. Was it just a close shave, or did he get hit squarely?

At least it was clear that he was not dead... yet, and was still able to use some of his firepowers.

But as he emerged from the smoke, I knew that he'd been through hell, literal hell, and wanted nothing to do but to kill the both of us. He had red hot molten crystal across one half of his body, meaning that the hile in his crystal dome defense was caused by the intense heat melting it on impact. He looked sadly at where Meek's ashes lay.

"You killed my partner," he said, swearing and breathing hard. All of the text had no color shown, so he wasn't planning on attacking us yet. He still couldn't get over the shock of losing his partner in the blink of an eye, and was on the verge of a nervous breakdown,

"You're next, you know. 10 years of killing Justice agents, did you think Karma was a myth? You've already had a first-hand sample of how hot my flames are, with your crystals and all, and I'm happy. From the looks of things, your crystals melted onto your face and arms, burning you. That went to show that your protection was good but inadequate."

He suddenly took a breath, and I looked at the text. He was about to send out something, another barrage of tiny needles like he did the first time. But none of the organs I wrote were glowing gold.

Then something glowed.

"Aiming for Jermaine."

I couldn't believe it. It was a worst-case scenario situation. Flames said that she suspected Meek and Mill would want to leave the Foundation any time soon, but she didn't know when exactly. If this was the case, then that would explain why he was aiming for the very guy who he was supposed to bring in.

Then the 'Heart' text glowed gold and I knew he was going for the kill. He had completely abandoned his mission now and was acting for the sole purpose of revenge and to satisfy his vendetta against Flames.

In whispered. "He's targeting my heart."

Flames bit her lip for a second. "Can I trust you to dodge? As soon as you can duck and avoid that, I'll be able to stop the rest. I have to build up heat for the final blow, so are you willing to gamble that?"

My entire life was on the line over a simple movement. I was physically fit, but did I have the speed required? Could I risk my life trying to do this, knowing well that if I missed, I would die?"

I swallowed heavily and crouched as Mill blew.

*****

TO BE CONTINUED.

Thanks for Reading!

3
$ 4.47
$ 4.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

Comments