The Hypocrite

25 23
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

We all laughed at her. Sally with the big bones and an even bigger body. Standing at six feet while we were still in high school, she was the freak of the class. To be seen associating with her dealt a huge blow to one's reputation, so we all just steered cleared of her while calling her all sorts of names.

Yet Sally would smile, laugh with us, and try to hit us sometimes. We thought, "well, if she's such a good sport., then it's okay". We were too dense, too callous, too insensitive to see the tears behind that smile. Or maybe we didn't want to see it. Maybe we just wanted to make fun of someone, and she was the unlucky scapegoat.

Was she less human than any of us? No in actuality, but yes in our minds. Who's born like that? How can someone be so fat and so tall? Looking like a bowling pin... that's abnormal. We told her she was an alien from outer space that failed to completely copy the human appearance. It didn't help matters that her parents weren't well-to-do either.

OI for one shouldn't have joined the bandwagon. I came from a religious home, where we learned to love everyone as they were created by God. By why should I be the only one out? They'd call me her boyfriend, something I was desperate to avoid. Sorry Sally, but you're just collateral damage.

Yet I'd iron my best white and pair of trousers and go to church on Sunday, and I wouldn't mention it to the priest during confessional. My skin was pure and my clothes were clean, but they all masked the vilest of souls to walk the planet.

And then one day Sally committed suicide. Her note said things about all of us, and about the way we treated her, and how she felt worse about herself. Some of them had the effrontery to laugh. I lashed out in 'righteous' anger, telling them how wicked they were for forcing the poor girl's soul to eternal damnation in hell.

But who are you to judge? A voice said within me.

You who call yourself religious. Devout. Socially correct. Morally Upright. Yet you trampled upon her feelings and called her names. You have no right to speak to these people about the speck in their eyes when there is a log in yours.

I was broken, in spirit and the body. My conscience tortured me, and every night I could hear Sally's screams, calling out to me and asking why I didn't defend her.

Why I didn't defend my own cousin.

Today, most of my classmates have become lawyers, advocates, and people who speak out about societal and moral injustice. Some of them became just as fat as Sally, and now they preach about not body-shaming others.

Ironic, isn't it? How they all forgot what they did in the past?

Hypocrisy is a pandemic that can never be eradicated.

13
$ 0.75
$ 0.50 from @Koush
$ 0.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Hanzell
+ 2
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

She is lonely. Things like that happen and without any support especially from someone we trust, can bring anyone down. It is nice for you to write this story. I those who have become lawyer and preachers are dare to tell the same story as you and admit the mistake.

As @wakeupkitty said it is sad. If sally was still here, I bet she grow into modelling the way you describe her.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That''s the real truth. They grow and then pretend to be what they're not, forgetting about who they'd been.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess. Some are just like that. It could be that they remember but chose to ignore.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That has to be it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are quick. What time is it at your place?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

12:50 πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ The plus side is that the connection is faster, but then I'm sleepy. I just need to post one article and then I'll go sleep. I've been working on it for hours, I'm running out of what to write as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good night to you. It's morning with me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh the hypocrisy indeed. We can't really say kids were just being kids here but i wonder if that incident did change them

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can only wonder. They really don't act changed in my case.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They never do. They just want someone to sympathize with them or at least comfort thrm after experiencing as much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hypocrisy at its very best

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Truly when they pull out the "I'm a victim too" card. It's just sick

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Boils my blood to be honest

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is so sad. I actually have a friend like that. Lol. Says one thing and does the other, I just had to seperate from her. And I'm glad I did

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great for you. Such people are usually too toxic to be around.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly. Now I watch her from the side lines

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Better

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We have that tendency as human beings to see people who are equal to us but who we decide that they are different. We don't realize that when we don't help others we are also part of the problem.

That over time we reconsider? Yes, there is such a condition. We can also go to confession and ask for forgiveness and the priest takes away our sins.

But is that all? I don't think ... I think there's something left. Something must remain in our soul that we will have to see again one day.

Very good publication. !!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks. I guess we should understand that being religious or turning to a fighter for social justice doesn't exactly mean that we didn't do what we did. People should become more empathic, put themselves in their fellow humans' shoes, and decide to behave in a kind manner if that's not too much to ask.

Thanks for the upvote.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's true. But we must be able to teach many values ​​to our children, family, friends. We must learn not to laugh at others. We must be able to be more receptive to those who are less physically attractive and be more tolerant of those who are different from us,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's right.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can only cry about this...

Interesting most of the classmates became lawyers, advocates...I assume from the devil.

@charmingcherry08, @Clarissa_KG, @esciisc, @gerl, @Hanzell, @heartbeat1515, @Jane, @Jdine, @lioness777, @marblely, @Mehedi01, @psychie, @Purplesky, @Urmeelaurmee122, @Xzeon

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm sorry it was an emotional one for you.

But yes, they can only be the devil's advocates. Most of the popular 'freedom fighters' we have now are people who were no more than the evil they fight. Vile hypocrites who won't reveal the tings they have done. What makes them feel they have the right to save others after damning someone or some people out there?

Thanls for the upvote.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The only reason they "save" others is because they feel bad about what they did, who knows still do.

You are welcome, till the next one. πŸ€πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. They feel bad, but won't get off the stupid pedestal; to admit their wrongs and face society's backlash.

$ 0.00
3 years ago