The Day I Died

30 91
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Being stuck as a ghost is frustrating. Having to move around, seeing people you can't talk to, the food you can't eat, and the experiences you'll never have the pleasure of indulging in.

Stuck in limbo because you were taken before your time. I know you cannot relate, but perhaps you can sympathize with my plight.

Especially since I have to watch my killer enjoy life every damn day.

The day I died was a Monday, I think. Which is ironic because I always thought I would die on a Friday night after enjoying one last night as an old geezer at a pub. I never thought I'd be another unsolved murder case on Crime and Investigation, which was my best TV show.

I was heading for a job interview with my friend Sky. She was my best friend, although I had initially wanted us to be more. Guess I had to settle for what I could get. Nevertheless, it was a swell experience with Sky as a best friend.

That was why I told her about the job opportunity immediately I heard about it. XYX company had vacancies in a position we were more than qualified to apply for, being unemployed graduates. We both walked tom school that day, passing the house of Mr. Jenkins.

Mr. Jenkins had a daughter named Elsie, who, according to him, liked me but was heartbroken because I ignored her. On the day Elsie was involved in a car accident and died, she had come to visit me, but as usual, Sky was around. According to Mr. Jenkins, she was drunk while she drove on the slippery roads with reduced visibility.

Every time he saw Sky and me together, he would fume with rage and come out shouting at us. I knew he hated my guts and I steered clear of him as much as I could.

I also passed Fergus' house. He used to be the state Scrabble champion until I won him. According to him, I had a perfect life: the best grades, the hottest girl in school as a best friend. And all he had was Scrabble, which I took from him. When I passed his house, he was watering his front lawn. His noisy mother screamed his name, and as he looked up and saw me, his sneer was scary.

We both passed a Chinese restaurant as we were in a taxi. Sky suggested that we ate there after the interview. I obliged.

When we got to the company, the interview was a breeze for me. I was confident and smart. Sky was smart too, but according to her, she stuttered a little while she was being interviewed. We stayed a little while and got a tour of the place, and soon we were back at the office to get a couple of brochures before we left.

Right before we exited that office, I could swear I faintly heard "...gonna have to choose."

We stopped by the Chinese restaurant that day. I can't even remember what we ate, but I remember my fortune cookie was blank. Sky's cookie read "Opportunities await you. Take the wise step."

I complained to the waitress - it was petty but I felt weird about it, so I asked for another one.

That one was blank as well.

I left the shop a bit pissed off why Sky kept patting me on the back to calm down. I allowed her to take an Uber home, I needed an evening stroll and my house was about a quarter kilometer away.

I did notice two strange things that night.

Fergus' silhouette was visible in his bedroom window that night. I can't explain it, but I felt him leave the window as soon as I walked past. I quickened my pace.

Mr. Jenkins was sitting on his porch, smoking when I passed. He let out a burst of loud, eerie laughter which made my bones shiver. I became even hastier as I broke into a run, keeping it up just until I was two houses away from my house.

I couldn't hear anyone behind me. Only a car which stopped for a little while, and then breezed off. It looked oddly familiar.

Suddenly, I was bumped into from behind, and before I could react, a massive force hit my back hard. The world seemed to become warped, as sky and ground melted into one another. I could feel my lungs fill up with blood, and I could hear the heartbeat of my killer.

The shadow on the ground looked familiar.

Then I felt another hit on the right side of my chest, and then I knew that both of my lungs were going to collapse.

Then I knew I was going to die.

My vision became blurry as my assailant stepped over me and ran off, but something fell on my face.

A paper.

I was curious to see what it read, as I carried my shaky hands and brought it closer to my face in my very last action.

"Take the wise step," was all I could see before my vision went black.

I could feel a tired, worn smile forming on my face as I shoved the paper into my mouth with my last breath.

28
$ 9.12
$ 9.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @kat2x
$ 0.01 from @wakeupkitty
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I want to live more i don't want to get die

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Was it sky-

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sounds to me life isn't that perfect as it looks to others, others willing to break you any minute. A blank note in a not very tasty fortune cookie...

"he saw I and Sky together" ?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, life's very much like that/ I decide to put the blank fortune cookie to refer to the fact that he had no fortune or future because he was going to die.

Wow how did I write that? 😂😂😂 I guess those mistakes can only be handled by Grammarly premium

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sounds to me he has a future just different as thought. He's still around.

I guess you need a better connection if you do not want Grammarly messing up. Premium will most likely force us all to write in the same way.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

He's still around yeah, but his future and life as a human have been cut off. If there was a Chinese restaurant for the dead, maybe he could go there and check what life holds for him.

Grammarly sure needs a really strong connection, but I guess it's doing a good job with what it has to work with.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article loveu bro..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Suside is a bad reason for avoid using any concept. We have to avoid it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At first I was confused who's a ghost and who's not 😂 but yeah, it was obviously Sky who killed him.

The descriptions you made about a dying car accident victim was so realistic. This convinced me more that the easiest way to die is what we call bangungot. It's sleeping and having a cardiac arrest. Some believed that it is caused by a nightmare. But whatever scientific explanation it have, I think it is the easiest way to die 🤔 or maybe not? 😂 maybe you can describe that too? 🤔🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes I feel it was something like that. His daughter had a mini heart attack due to heartbreak, so she was dead even before the collision.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woah..... Creepy. This is really good!

Sky did it!! Lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😂😂😂 Wow, you come outright with the answer

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. There were many hints

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think Sky has been ploying around on you waiting when to take that wise step.. ahmm that deadly step I mean. Must be hard to uncover a mystery, when you're already a ghost.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Right before he died, he already knew it was Sky.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm concentrated on Mr. Jenkins because he was the one who hated them most or the waitress being annoyed when they visited the reataurant. But the paper was hint. I just can't accept its sky.. 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, you have to 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder what it is really like on the dying day. It's weird and creepy to think of but sometimes I'm like tend to practice by holding my breath which is really a stupid thing to do. Then I realised it's not a good feeling for sure, it's pure struggle.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is. I used to think drowning was easy until I read it being described in a book. The urge to keep holding breath which is forcefully overridden by the body's need for oxygen. It's sad really. I don't want to imagine how death would come, since it could come anyway. '

I just pray and live life as best as I can.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too, I pray when sometimes I can't sleep thinking about it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Honestly

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What an unexpected way to die. But i was puzzled why? And who was his assailant 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm thinking it was Sky because of that paper. But a part of me says it's the waitress for complaining or asking for another fortune cookie?😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😂😂 It was Sky

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Then you didn't read the story properly if you don't know the assailant 😈😈

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Im reading again... Its hard to concentrate on the story when all are talking beside me.. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahah! I'm really bad at investigating /analysing. 😅 Part 2 please..

$ 0.00
3 years ago