Soulmate

23 42
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

[WP] "Uh... Why don't you have a pulse?" the nurse questions you. You begin sweating. Your cover's been blown!

It's said that each and every one of us has a soulmate. That one person who was specifically sent to this world to be with us.

But it's a one in a millionth chance that we'll ever find them.

Or maybe the stakes a higher - who knows? With over 7 Billion people on one spinning ball, finding your soulmate might be virtually impossible - or unexpectedly easy. Some attend the same high school with their soulmates, others live halfway across the globe and never get to see theirs.

But I... I was lucky. I found mine.

It was another hot summer day -August 6th to be precise. The sun was unforgiving, but the compensation was that I did get to see more flesh than I would have during any other season - a big win. Tank tops and skimpy sports shorts assaulted my eyes each time I went out of my two-room apartment.

Not like I was complaining anyway.

But the extreme heat did come with some disadvantages - of course, it had to. There were severe heat waves at the time, and even with an air conditioning unit at my place, sometimes I had to live the fridge open and sleep right in front of it. It was so hot, your brain could turn to scrambled eggs in 30 minutes.

And in the midst of this unbearable heat, I met Miranda, who was unarguably ten times hotter.

Okay, I won't say met, since we technically didn't meet.

I was out one day - for really long. Running up and down, trying to get a few deliveries done after submitting my job applications to firms across the city. I felt really hot - I had to dress responsibly today - long-sleeved shirts, trousers and all.

I had just gotten down from the bus and was walking the two-block journey to my apartment when I suddenly lost balance. I was dizzy, so dizzy that I could barely stand.

"Herlll..." I slurred, falling to the ground.

I awoke in a bathtub. A pink bathtub.

Looking around my surroundings, it seemed to be a ladies' bathroom.

"Heyy...uh.." I was still too weak to stand, and I could barely even speak. What happened to me?

"Oh he's awake!" a voice said and a guy in scrubs peered into the bathroom. He had a stethoscope hanging on his shoulders, so he must have been a doctor.

"Hey, man, what happened to me?" I mumbled, still suffering a headache.

"You suffered a heatstroke. You're lucky you collapsed right in front of this lady's house. She's in nursing school, so she knew how to administer basic first aid. You should be thanking her."

I was still a bit dizzy, but all that cleared when she entered the room.

Short red hair with cute bangs. About 5'8 and wearing a big shirt that reached her mid-thighs. She smiled when her gaze met mine, and my brain exploded with sparks set ablaze by the embers of love.

I'd found my soulmate.

******

Her name was Miranda.

We sort of clicked over the next few days. I mean, we both felt that connection, so it wasn't too hard. She was in her final year of nursing school, and I'd just gotten a job as a software developer. We went on dates all the time, and she used to tease me about being madly in love with her, something I wouldn't admit.

Even though we both knew it was true.

"You know you're obsessed with me, Kade. Even if you tried, you can't stay away from me."

"Someone giving themselves false hopes?" I smirked.

She playfully punched me, then grabbed my wrists.

"Uh...why don't you have a pulse?"

What the hell?

"What do you mean?"

"I can't feel any pulse. This must mean..."

"Am I dying or sum'n?" I said, freaking out.

"No, I think it's me. Your heart beats so fast when you're around me, it's impossible to discern the heartbeats," she said, laughing.

"Screw you!"

Those were the good days. The days when we were untouchable; when love conquered all and when we didn't have a care in the world.

Until she graduated and got a job in another state. 10 hours away.

We both tried to keep hopes alive, to believe that we would keep on contacting each other, but that was just hopes. Because, the very day she left, my phone fell in a gutter and got wrecked.

I lost all contacts, but none of that would have mattered if I didn't lose hers.

I searched all over Fakebook, but I never saw her. Never.

In the end, I resigned to my fate. Some found their soulmates. Some didn't. I found mine, and lost her.

Five years later, I was in New York for the launch of my new dating application. Soulmate, I called it. I devoted all my effort to make sure that with the best-advanced algorithms out there, others would get to find and maintain connections with their soulmates.

Of course, a stupid computer program couldn't really suffice for that pure, magical experience of meeting yours, but at least, one in ten tries had to do the trick.

Maybe others' happiness would fill the emptiness in my soul.

I'd just rounded off the unveiling, and I was heading backstage when I felt dizzy. I was exhausted, emotionally, and physically. I couldn't maintain my balance and slipped.

Before I could fall over, a firm but soft pair of hands my wrists and helped me steady myself. These hands...

"Uh... why don't you have a pulse?" my savior said.

"There's only one person who uses that cringe line," I whisper.

I turned to meet her smiling gaze.

My soulmate.

******

@Leo_kitti, @Hanzell you won't see this side of me for a long time, so enjoy ^^

13
$ 21.11
$ 21.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

You can really write any genre. It's cute and sweet, their time has come. They can now continue their love story, a happy ever after.

Then they will get married, and 10 years later someone will cheat and they will end up separating. πŸ’”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, now they can continue their relationship

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey, I got confused, is it Moira or Miranda? πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Fixed

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So cuteee!!! 😍😍😍

I think reading your stories consecutively is a bad idea. πŸ˜‚ You're playing with emotions! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ But I super love it. 😍 Okay, next! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's because you're reading it all at once XD. I use multiple genres.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I congratulate you on having your soulmate

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's fiction

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awwww sooooo cuteπŸ₯ΊπŸ˜­β€οΈ

You have you write moreπŸ˜”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ’–πŸ’– Even though I live for the violence πŸ˜‚ I guess I may write something like this again if I get a good prompt.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. Better!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh I'm relishing this moment for a loooonnggg time >w< that was so cute!!!! Why don't you write like this more often :"" i live for the cringe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm a man of war, not a lover of romance ;;-;; πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I guess I may if I see the right prompt again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Then i hope you see the right prompts again because hnng this was a really great change for you ;;w;; i love

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sunshine, Lollipops, and Rainbows... urgh, well, alright, I guess.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bru, you don't need to go that far into the cringe :"" even i would puke rainbows at that point. Just the sweetness overload is enoughhh

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aaahh what a beautiful story ... you are a romantic ... what a beautiful love story. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks a lot! Even though I'm not much of a romance writer, I guess once or twice wouldn't hurt anyone.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is the first time I read one of your romantics ... go ahead!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Alright!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Love this.. 😍 😍😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks @kat2x, it's been a long time!

$ 0.00
3 years ago