Skar: Twenty Two

0 35
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

Skar: Twenty One

[SP] every time you kill someone, their fatal wound shows up as a scar on your body.

*****

I sat in front of the large screen, watching the six camera feeds intently. Nathan Prescott was yet to return to his home, and I was just using this time to familiarize myself with the rooms I was currently looking into and what they contained, the layout and all whatnot. Since I had planned on killing him in his own home, I was going to have to familiarize myself with every little detail, because surprises and grey areas didn’t ever do any good in my line of work.

By 6:52 PM he was back at his home, exhaling deeply as he loosened his tie and threw his briefcase on his bed. I remembered then that I had not thought about whe5ther he had a maid or not, or at least stewards. I didn’t see any. So I just assumed that there weren’t any. He rang a bell and within a minute, two girls dressed in admittedly ‘slutty’ maid costumes came into the room. It looked like a scene from a generic adult movie, and even though I had a few stirrings, this was not what I came for.

They petted him all over before stripping him down to his underwear. He spanked them both on their derrieres and sent them off, telling them that there would be a continuation at night. They took all the clothing items and the briefcase with them as he sat on the couch and grabbed the TV remote. But he didn’t switch it ion immediately. I watched him grab a customised EncroChat phone for a bit, then decide against it, dropping it and picking a ‘brick’ phone. He dialled a number, his face contorted in a scowl as the line connected,

“And how’s your operation coming along? I’ve not heard anything from you n about two days, and I do remember that our deal involved daily briefings with a report of progress made. Or is there no progress, Skeletor?”

I swallowed. The assassin he was using now was Skeletor? Of all people to pit me against – in fact, of all the known assassins in the world, he was one of the ten that I actually feared. He had been in the business seven years before me, and had a great kill count. He had even been noticed by the CIA, and without a picture or any means of identification, Skeletor was on the CIA’s most wanted list, pegged at Number 9.

If he was the person on my neck, then my little outing that day was a huge risk. I was lucky to be alive now, but it was just expressive of the fact that Skeletor had not progressed very much in his own hunt.

I couldn’t hear the other side of the line, and I didn’t know whether to do something about that. Of course, trying to tap the line would only result in me alerting Prescott of my advancements. There was probably a cybersecurity team watching over all these things for him, he didn’t seem like one to skip precautions. I had to keep making the underground moves; if all my cards were on the table then it would be easier for Prescott finish me off in this hide-and-seek game.

“Well that’s not good enough, now is it? He already knows where I live, Skeletor. He has the advantage here, and I bet you know who I’m--“

He was cut off by Skeletor saying something, and his scowl became more pronounced. He apparently did not like getting interrupted while he was talking, and neither did he like what the other man was saying.

“Of course I’m not stressed. All this money and power? There’s no way I’ll lose to a backroad assassin like that, no matter how good he is. My prible is that I believe that too many cooks spoil the broth, so I don’t want to get another assassin involved. But it seems like the person I’m entrusting my life with isn’t really efficient now, is he?”

Thus guy had to be very stupid, talking to someone who coukd kill him within the next half hour if he wanted like that. That was the thing I didn’t like about money, especially in the hands of men like Nathan Prescott. They began to feel on top of the world. Nothing would please me more than to put a knife in both of Nathan Prescott’s lungs and watch him realize that money couldn’t buy life.

He began to stutter. “No, of course I’m not trying to get on your nerves. All I just want is for the job to be completed. I’m paying after all, and my life is in danger so…Oh, yes I know you will. Alright then-“

Skeletor had ended the call.

He stared at the phone for a few seconds, barely keeping his anger at bay. Then he screamed and threw the phone on a chair, staring into space for a long moment.

“Both of them, both of these two b*stards. Skar and Skeletor, I’ll do away with both of you. Nobody, absolutely no one speaks to me like that and gets away with it. I don’t care if you’re a veteran assassin or not, you f*ckin b*stard.”

The whole dynamic had changed, but in the worst way for me. I had to kill Prescott as fast I could, or I would be done by Skeletor.

*****

TO BE CONTINUED.

Thanks for Reading!

2
$ 4.46
$ 4.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
2 years ago

Comments