Sentient Sword

2 51
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
1 year ago

My father had always told me about the sword, the one above the fireplace in its sheath that comes from his time serving in the Isougalla Empires army. I heard stories of the legions that he helped cut down with the blade but I never thought that I would have to use the blade myself. And if I did I never thought that the first time I use it would be a life or death situation. Though I quickly learned tonight that things don’t always go to plan and this would be the test of a lifetime.

As the Yamara Kingdom besieged our city the swordsman and other fighters had breached the walls and the archers rained fiery arrows down onto us. I knew that if I wanted to live and protect my family I had to act now. I raced into the front of the house and grabbed the sword fully prepared to die, then the sword spoke to me.

“My name is Arondite, have you used a sword before” the blade, Arondite, spoke

“No I’ve used a blade, wait the hell did you just speak,” I said

“Yes I did, now this is a problem, of course, Emeric wouldn’t train his son. Alright, listen Garen heed what I tell you and you should live, try to forge your path and I’ll help the next poor soul who picks me up, hopefully, one better trained.” Arondite told me

“Wait the heck so many questions if I survive but fine I’ll listen to you Arondite what should I do,” I respond mind racing and swirling with so many confusing questions.

I took the sheath of the blade and threw it to the ground and raised the blade ready to fight still not fully comprehending what was going on

“Good wake your family up, lead them to the basement, tell them to stay quiet and wait for you to come back then stand ready,” Arondite commanded me to do so.

I raced to my siblings' room, waking up both of my little sisters and my brother one older and one younger. I woke them up and hushed them quiet.

“The war with the Yamara Kingdom has heated up and they are now besieging the city they broke through the walls you all need to hide now. I’ll wake up mom dad hasn’t returned from the Alderman's office so likely the guards and military response will be slow so hide stay low and quiet in the basement.” I instructed my siblings

Motioning the still sleepy and scared now siblings out the room to the basement a few steps away my older brother Baret stopped me before he went in I

I'll close the hatch once we go into the basement and you mom go down.” The words shakily leaving his breath. I looked at him and then at the sword and then back at him with heavy eyes and a worried face.

“Please don’t tell me you think you're gonna fight them. “Nish you are stupid.” Baret berated me.

“There’s no choice but if they come into the house they will know where we are hiding. Someone has to be here to stall. And with this sword -” I sputter out before Arondite cuts me off

“Running out of time, Garen.” The sword angrily sputters off.

“Did the sword just -” Baret questions

“Yes now you heard him in I’ll close once Mom is in,” I say as I turn to my parents' room as I hear beret go down the stairs.

I race into my mother's room and wake her.

“Into the basement, the Yamarites are attacking and father hasn’t returned,” I yell as I pull her out of bed to the basement the sounds of bloodshed out in the streets

“What, ok I’ll close after you.” She says

“I’m not going, someone has to stall them. Now in” I tell her slightly commandingly.

As my mother descended the stairs I closed the hatch and I heard screams from my neighbors.

“Be ready your house next,” Arondite says.

I wait a few minutes and then axes break my door down and I see a Yamarite commander storm in rushing to me.

“Out of my way, kish, I’m here for your father.” The commander hisses to me flanked by three Yamarite soldiers.

“Stand your ground when the first soldier moves to strike duck and doge left and then strike up through his chest then use the momentum and come down into his throat.” Arondite whispers

Shuddering, I look definitely at the commander and ready myself to fight. He motions to the first soldier to come and strike me down. He moves in, readying the battleaxe in his left hand and coming down to strike across me. I did as the sword said down and to the left and dodged the hit barely but I did. Then I take the blade and go up and go up through his chest and even without any training the sword moves through the air with ease like I was an expert fighter.

As my dodge process, the soldier doesn’t even realize I am hitting him till after connection. The sword catches flesh on his patchwork leather armor. Then the sword whispers to me “ don’t go for the second strike, move to your right and get ready to block. “

As I hear this I see the fighter ready to strike and just before it would hit I move to my right and get ready to block the sword making the movements effortless. As I am ready to block I see a sword come from the fighter's other hand and meet my blade as I block the strike. The sword without telling me catches me off guard, parries the strike, and goes for the now exposed neck of the fighter and slices through most of the neck dropping the fighter dead at my feet. Blood sprays from his throat and chest as he falls and paints my walls with gore and me as well.

“You two fight the kid I’ll send a few more kill him and his family the father isn’t here I am going to look for him”

The two fighters look at each other and then one takes a wide path to the right and the other a wide path to the left

“Arondite what now” I get out through panicked breaths.

“Stay focused stop your panicking boy I have you, I killed one for you I’ll kill the rest you'll get out of this now before they get ready to pick one and full rush at him and catch him off guard slice through his neck. Try to take the head off if you need to, just strike him hard I’ll do the rest.” Arondite calmly explains.

I pick the one that goes wide left as he gets his weapons ready. I full bull rush and move to slice his throat and the blade does most of the work and makes a perfect strike on the neck the fighter head goes flying off and blood sprays from getting in my hair and my eyes. I wipe the blood from my eyes as the head lands with a groan and his body hits the floor.

“See I got you, let me do the work boy,” Arondite says.

As he says this two more fighters step into the room and look at the two dead and the other is still unprepared now seeing that his friend was dead he gets ready and acts like he was the whole time.

“Yall were always good for nothing, can't trust you.” One of the fighters spits out.

“Yeah can’t kill a simple boy huh bunch of ‘nish and kish.” The other fighter spits out.

“The one who just spoke will charge be ready to parry and block.” Arondite whispers.

“Ok” I whisper back.

As he said the fighter charges, I go to parry his blow and the sword does the work and the blow is parried and I stand ready to block his next one.

“Ok guess you have some talent, runt.” The fighter spits out.

“Parry then strikes the neck straight through it” Arondite whispers.

As the fighter moves, I expect to parry his attack but the blade in my hand moves to parry an attack from the fighter who went wide right. As his blade goes down its meat and moves by mine and then I pierce through his throat and I see the life drain from his eyes.

I feel hot fire move through my body as the first attacker I parried slices my side breaking a rib or two. I grimace in pain and look pissed at the sword.

“Sorry, you're untrained, forgot about that,” Arondite says

Without even saying another word Arondite whirls to the other attacker and blocks a killing blow then strikes him in the chest with three blows. Before I glance over and see the other fighter rushing in

“Uhhh Arondite the other on–” I say before pain winces through me.

The other fighter slams his mace into my side breaking multiple ribs and nearly knocking me down but I catch myself on my knees.

“‘Nish Arondite I’m gonna die here.” I scream out.”

“Calling to your gods won't’ help you now you Isougallish scum.” The mace wielding fighter says as he moves forward ready to kill me

“I am taking over just follow my lead like I am your dance partner leading you” Arondite calls to me.

I have no chance to respond as the blade whirls and blocks many attacks from the two lasting for nearly a minute and a half before I see Isougalla guards rush in and my father behind them. Before I can process that I see the blade slice the chest of one of the fighters open and he falls dead at my feet. The other fighter sees this and hears the other enters and gives everything he has in one last desperate attack. Waiting to the last possible second Arondite easily blocks and parries the attack before the fighter is struck down by the guards.

“I got you but you have got to get some training for next time, boy.” Arondite scoffs.

“Shut up you piece of metal.” I get out of ragged breaths.

“Uh wow really went there,” Arondite says before he goes silent as the others enter the room fully, a healer rushing to my aid.

“This is your son, Emeric have you trained him?” The Alderman asks

“Yes this is my son Garen and no I haven’t trained him. I wanted my fighting days behind me.” Emeric responds.

“Yet you keep the sword near, but nonetheless we could use your son's help without training; he killed 4 and held another off.” The Alderman says.

“Well, that is his decision to make if he wants to join the army.” Emeric responds.

“Well, what do you say Garen are willing to join the army and protect your empire alongside your family.” The Alderman asks.

“Uhh, sure I guess I’ll join,” I responded.

“Good, We'll be in touch in a few weeks or a month or two after the city gets repairs and gives you time with your family. Don’t worry we’ll keep you close to the city and need you here to protect us.” The Alderman responded and walked out of the house shouting “A cleaner will be here in ten minutes to help, don't worry.” as he left.

*****

THE END

6
$ 3.31
$ 3.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Dennnis
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

this is the first story i read today that i like, well-written and well-portrayed the characters.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Everything has its story. Some stories have a happy ending, others make you cry! I had a drum, many years ago, which was said to have been used in the First World War when an attack was being prepared!

$ 0.00
1 year ago