Road to a good freewrite

8 18
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

After the official announcement of the end of the first Freewriting Contest, I took a break off writing for a while (coming from a guy who is on his 4th article of todayπŸ˜‚) to look at my entries to the contest.

What we all need after this contest

I know I've not exerted my best efforts, but no matter what happens, I'm convinced I've done a hell of a job (some applause and confetti in my mind). Everyone who posted an entry into that contest should count themselves good writers notwithstanding. It's been long since I saw such an array of writers create such interesting pieces with no research, no Google, no Wikipedia. Just ten minutes and a wild imagination spiced with bittersweet experiences.

But how did I tap into my fountain of inspiration to create those posts?

I took some time off

Not me though πŸ˜‚

Before I started any of those stories, I took a lot of time to think about the topic. It was a day or close to 24 hours after the contest commenced that I posted my first entry.

Without any research to be done, I really had to sit down and think before I posted anything. My three entries had a minimum of 24 hours interval between them. That's because creativity takes time to nurture.

But that doesn't mean I thought the whole article. I just thought out my perspective and points.

Spontaneity

This is as spontaneous as it gets

As soon as I started typing on my phone, I didn't stop. Once you've thought about your perspective, you'll tap into inspiration. It was a real waterfall, and as soon as I began typing, I didn't stop. I kept on letting out all the creative thoughts I was abke to garner, taking that perspective and molding it into a great story (If I do say so myself).

Borrowed Ideas

More like 'Borrowed Ideas with 0% Plagiarism"

I had to look at what other writers had created after my first post. The best thing about this contest is that it was held as a community, so it wasn't as much about the $150 reward money (that's a big motivator though πŸ˜‚) as it was about learning about others experiences and gaining insight into others articles.

You have a fountain inside of you, but by reading others articles and borrowing a little of their insight, you've gotten access to a huge waterfall of inspiration.

Rare picture of inspiration

I owe a lot to various writers' works in order to create mine. Because with them, I was able to explore a lot of perspectives to Alcohol's Effects, and though I was unable to talk about them all, like I said, I did a hell of a job with my attempts.

And finally, as they say (or as I just said), may the best writer win.

10
$ 0.12
$ 0.11 from @Telesfor
$ 0.01 from @heartbeat1515
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Very well written and said. You have a good reason to be proud of what you wrote. Freewriting is not about writing the greatest article but about making a start for it. After I read the entries I can only say them, we all did a great job as a community and it's amazing to see how not one single entry is the same. If the topic would have been alcohol or alcohol effects without prompts, rules we wouldn't have ended with this rich variety of content.

Let the confetti out it's nearly time to celebrate.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think the best part was the prompts.

When I saw alcohol effects I was expecting prompts like gutters and liver. Then I saw "worm" and "perplex" Like what the heck does Alcohol have to do with worm?πŸ˜‚ It was fun pushing my brain to its limits to create something out of nothing (literally nothing (

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am glad that you've found the beauty inside Freewriting and are able to share a piece of your experiencece to other.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the upvote!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's worth. If only I can give more. Maybe someday.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜…. Don't stress yourself. A comment alone is enough for me to know you read and appreciated my article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am not stressed, but I am a little bit sad. I am not earning fast enough to be able to be someone who can do even a little giveaway. I just need to work a little bit harder.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too. I've benefited so much from read.cash. I hope I'll be able to contribute to any future contests, and that's why I really need to put more effort.

$ 0.00
3 years ago