Reunion

10 17
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

He was going back to a place he'd hoped he would never see again.

He had been sober for four years, having been through an extensive rehabilitation program that took ten months. Before that, he was well on his way to Heaven's Gate, and the drugs were pushing him further down that path.

He paused at the door and took a deep breath.

Damn you, Kristina.

A week ago, he thought he had it all figured out. A paying job, a wife and a four-year-old kid. They loved to go to the park and play with the frisbees on Saturday Mornings. Wednesday night was bowling night with their neighbors, Shane and Alice. You know, the perfect textbook family.

And then he lost his job. He could see his little sober world develop hairline cracks. The frustration in his wife's eyes, and the looks of confusion his son, Jacob, flashed his way.

He'd had four arguments in three days with Kristina. He knew losing his job would be devastating, but he didn't expect it to be like this.

This morning, he'd woken up, and she wasn't there. Neither was Jacob, or any of their stuff. Worse still, she'd sold the apartment and moved out. The new owner was outside his door, showing him documents and telling him all sorts of rubbish.

She wasn't picking her calls, and he didn't have money for a lawsuit.

So he was back here. He knocked thrice on the door, and he was let in.

"My man! It's been, what, ten years?" SkΓΆll said, passing him a wrap.

"I thought you were sober and sh*t" Kane said, laughing.

He didn't have words, he didn't even have thoughts. He lit the wrap, took a deep breath, and restarted his journey to Heaven's Gate.

_____________________________

I used a generated first sentence from https://writingexercises.co.uk/firstlinegenerator.php to create this story, courtesy of a post I saw from @wakeupkitty

Timer set to ten minutes.

Happy Freewriting!πŸš€

6
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @wakeupkitty
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Did you read it? What was the nice part and why didn't you give an upvote? I would love to read your opinion. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The wife is brutal to leave just like that and to have sold the apartment that fast! It is as though she has been planning it all along and waiting for the moment to attack. Pity the guy in some ways.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, there were.many potholes on the storyline but I've gotten better at it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

She left fast...one week jobless isn't long... he lost way more... I wonder how she could sell the apartment without his knowledge...strange marriage. πŸ‘πŸ€πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now I think about it, I really didn't think the plot through. I'll do better next time!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can use the plot generator...I will try that out too. Funny way of practicing isn't it? It's more like a puzzle...I noticed if I use the story generator (characters, place, etc) there's not much action perhaps I need to mix up it a bit more or fewer prompts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. For my next one (I'm just about to post it) I'm generating a dialogue and eight prompts.

The website is great and it really spices writing up.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahh looking forward to read it. Are you a bit read.cash addict now?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I believe I'm a read,cash addict. A platform where I can freely write and explore works of others? Yes please!

$ 0.00
3 years ago