In an instant

20 25
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

[WP] A new merchant just appeared outside of your town. They are selling strange food items called "instant noodles".

******

When they first appeared, I used to ignore them.

If it wasn't in McDonald's, I wasn't eating it. They had the fastest 'fast food' in all of America, so why the hell would I want to try 'instant noodles'? It was probably a gimmick.

Until I saw my girlfriend, Evie, eating it.

"What's that?" I asked curiously, peeking into her bowl. It didn't look like spaghetti, because there would have been a stew or sauce to go along with it. This just looked like spaghetti floating in a little sea of brown soup, and honestly, it smelled delicious.

"It's instant noodles. Those guys outside town are..."

"Instant what now? Don't tell me you're eating that bullsh!t!" I said, snatching the bowl from her hands.

"Well I was until someone snatched it away from me," she said, frowning as she snatched it back, "it's like ramen. You know, the meal from that shitty cartoon of yours."

"You mean Naruto? You're calling the greatest anime of all friggin' time 'a cartoon'?!"

"Yeah, that."

"Screw you! And that doesn't mean it's safe to eat! I mean, Naruto was like the only ramen-crazy guy in the series and he was a complete dunce. You shouldn't be eating that rubbish."

"Suit yourself. All I'm saying is that it's good and you should try it. It costs just 3.99 dollars, bruh. And it's much better than that over-priced bucket of cholesterol nuggets you buy at (blergh) McDonald's," she said, strolling out of the room.

I didn't hit a nerve.

I was sure I didn't hit a nerve.

I couldn't have hit a nerve.

Did I hit a nerve?

"I'm sorry!" I shouted.

"Took you long enough, dumbass," she shouted back as she climbed the stairs.

Instant noodles, huh? I thought.

Well, Evie was going to be the death of me anyway. I might as well give it a shot

The next day I stopped by the little stand. Coincidentally, it was named Ichiraku Instant Noodles. A cheap rip-off, but well, I was here for the food and I already knew it was going to be a gimmick anyway, so why bother?

But there were so many people there. They were all eating, ordering, laughing, sleeping; it was basically a community there. All munited by the craving for trashy and cheap non-mainstream food.

"What's on the menu?"

"We have the meaty instant noodles; it has cutlets of pork and beef, vegan instant noodles, spicy instant noodles, and then, our shogun special." the Asian-looking man answered, staring at me with this twinkle in his eyes despite them being squinted.

This definitely looked suspicious.

"Shogun Special?"

"It's a secret recipe. Reserved for only the bravest of diners."

"And how much does that cost?"

"Eight dollars."

"Well, now I see why it's reserved for the bravest. It requires a lot of bravery to fork out eight bucks for this piece of..."

I heard a giggle and looked behind the man, There was a really nice-looking Asian broad back there. She blushed and averted her gaze when I met hers.

"My daughter has always wanted someone who would eat the shogun special. She has a... thing for knights in shining armor," the man said with that suspicious twinkle in his eyes,.

"Well, Indiana Jones, at your service, I said, forking out the eight dollars and heading for my seat. According to the geezer, my food would be ready in five minutes. I guess that was what the 'instant' meant.

"Here you go," the girl said, giggling and hanging around. Her father was almost leaning out of his stand, watching to see if I'd eat it. What the hell was wrong with these people?

There was definitely a lot of meat in the meal, as I told them I wasn't a vegetarian. I quickly used my fork to pin down some meat, wrapped it in steamy noodles, and took a bite.

Woah, that was amazingly good... and spicy! I grabbed my cup of orange juice, and as I gulped it down, I suddenly realized two things.

When I came there, my orange juice was in a bottle, not a cup.

And that didn't taste like orange juice.

I spewed it from my mouth as I looked around my surroundings. There was a big man in a kimono looking at me hatefully. His entire back was wet.

Oh shit, I sprayed him mouth-alcohol, I said, looking at the cup.

It read 'Sake'.

The man was shouting loudly, cursing in loud tones at me.

Then I realized something else. The word 'sake' was written in Japanese Kanji. SO was the language the man spoke. And I could understand them both.

When did I take Japanese classes?

The man kept shouting, and then I was pissed off.

"Well shit up, you big-for-nothing moron!"

I shouted, before realizing I had spoken in Japanese too. The man reached for his waist and drew forth a sharp, glistening Japanese Katana.

Sh!T. I must have overslept at the shop and this night was probably for the Asians to have their festivals or something. I reached for my picket to grab my phone, but when I drew it put, I got the shock of my life.

It was a Japanese Katan I was holding as well.

It was the days of the Meiji Revolution, and apparently, I was a swordsman for the Bakufu.

******

@Hanzell @Leo_kitti I think this one is the most difficult I've worked on yet.

11
$ 1.90
$ 1.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Okay my reading ends here. I'll continue it maybe later in the afternoon when I'm free but oh wow, instant noodles, instant death 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha, yes! Epic showdown between Indiana Jones and the big for nothing....

But, this would make me weary of eating noodles. Thanks ozzyy😭💔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Destruction 500😂😂 I'm sorry Leo, I promise Indomie only sends you into the comics!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe 😁 I get to kick some ass while wearing awesome costumes and welding a master class weapon?

Book me a table, where are my noodles!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😂😂😂😂💪 Take me with you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😂😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Instant noodles that take you back to the meiji revolution? I'd wanna go back to the edo period though. Much more prettier girls in that time UwU

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😂😂😂 Don't forget they take you back in an instant 😂😂. Girls were finer then, and their dresses were ❤💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh you understand my love for their refinement in that era OwO those were the years art and nature bloomed in japan and not much wars yet

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's why I much prefer the older mangas set in the Edo period. And their color schemes were amazing, dark and light at the same time ;;-;; back then. So amazing really! And then there weren't many wars like you said, just beauty, cherry blossoms, and men protecting their family and clan honor.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ow yes and the delicacies in those times were even art ;;-;; i still love the samurai and the armor the people wore at those times too. They had refined leather so much at those times to make it easier to move. Orz take me to the edo perioddd! I want that beauty if you'll suck me back in time anyways

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The armor was great, the food was amazing, the kimonos were amazing. What's not to love?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know ;;-;; welp time to go look for a physicist to date and hopefully he can build me a time machine 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

One day, it'll be a reality, and then I'd happily go. I'd go to all the times I've always wanted to see. Dinosaurs. The Benin Expedition in 1897. The Edo period.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

First stop should definitely be stephen hawking's time traveler party way back in 2009. The edo then jurassic period. Imma collect oll the purest of ores fron the jurassic period and bring it to this time. I'll be rich XD

$ 0.00
3 years ago

OMG exactly. I'd pack diamonds before they'd been mined excessively. When you could literally see one lying among a couple of rocks on the ground. And I'll collect really old cars and resell them now, when they're all vintage and pricey

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yesss and the diamonds back then were apparently do huge- like they reach mini boulder levels and i want! That purity too ;;-;; wouldn't cars be hard to take back? Why not go for smaller pieces? I'd definitely go collecting toys. Those in mint condition costs millions now too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, toys, lunch boxes, little bicycles. I see them all the time on American pickers and they cost a lot

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know- i even remember those pokemon cards i had that i had to sell... for reasons. Each card costed around 10-20$ UwU but getting coins per era would be nice too

$ 0.00
3 years ago