Battle for Supremacy

22 42
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

[WP] All Humans have a Sword they are born with, Every year on your birthday, your sword gets more detailed and powerful. You are born with a Gun.

******

I exhaled deeply, inhaling in a like manner as I knew it would be long before I would breathe like that again. I could feel him coming closer and closer as I tried to stay one step ahead.

But I'm narrating this too fast. You must have a hard time trying to follow my narrative. Let's go back to the beginning.

Every human is born with a sword when they come into this world. More like a blade, however. Tucked in a little sheath and enclosed in the womb, it is always taken out with the placenta.

Every year, on the stroke of midnight of a person's birthday, the sword disappears and an upgraded version of it appears: still possessing the same abilities but longer, more curved, or having a new aesthetic or utility feature.

Most popular warriors we've known in history have used bladed weapons like:

Death and his giant scythe. He was born from the union between Lucifer and Megara, a fallen angel. This most unholy union gave rise to a figure with a terrible countenance and a legendary scythe which cut and sealed the souls of the evil, allowing them to suffer in a hellish eternity within the blade.

King David and his legendary sword. His sword made a musical echo each time it made contact with the body of an enemy, producing a vibe that gave his men high spirits and helped them to win all their battles.

Arthur and the legendary Excalibur - a weapon extraordinaire. His blade absorbed the fighting spirit of all who he killed and gave him heightened abilities. It is said he won it from Death after he hit his head on a rock and had to wrestle death for his soul.

Hercules and his trench knives. People always told the story of Hercules' knives, said to be forged by Cyclopes, with the forge being powered by Zeus' own lightning bolt. It was said that Hercules punches thus had an extra cutting effect, and he could cut a = mountain into two.

Ken, the swordsman from Edo, and his Katana which cut and burned at the same time, making his enemies feel the guilt of their actions and the pain they had caused others.

These were legendary people. Of course, not everyone got an awesome blade. But in my case, my parents were shocked.

It was 2110, and I was born with a goddamn gun.

It was a tiny revolver.

People flocked to our home to see the little kid who was born with a friggin' gun, and some laughed and told my parents that I would never be able to amount to anything with that.

His parents were legendary warriors: my mother's bladed fan carried the winds of the north, and as such, when she threw it, it could fly for an hour straight, cutting heads in a circular trajectory till it always landed back in her hands.

My father's sword carried the winds of the east, and with every slash, he sent a bigger wave of sharpened air that could cut through the very fabric of the universe. Some said if they both used their blades in perfect sync, they could rip the fabric of the time-space continuum and be able to travel through time.

They never tried.

So it was in this family that I had to grow up. My parents tried to love me nonetheless, but I knew they just couldn't wrap their heads around the fact that we were not going to be the ultimate blade trio. But I made up my mind that I would become a hero, even if it was with that gun.

I trained until my aim was impeccable. I could unholster, fire, and reholster in less than 3 seconds.

I hit the mark eight out of ten times.

And when I turned 11, I discovered I had mastered the hidden ability of the gun. It absorbed natural energy: solar, wind and sound, and used it to create special bullets- basically little energy beams.

When I was 13, it could shoot medium-sized fireballs with a surprising scorch ability.

When I was 17. the beams became more like missiles, creating the same damage but now being able to travel a far distance without a great loss in power.

When I was 22, the beams now had an extra shockwave effect, which spread the heat and increased the damage done. By now I was known as a force to be reckoned with

At 23, I discovered I could absorb 25% of the energy from the gun, thus refilling me when I was low.

Of course, the gun changed as I grew up. From a revolver to a double-barrel to a Dane gun to an assault rifle to twin submachine guns and now, a mini rocket launcher. It was heavy to carry around but well worth the weight.

But why does all this matter? Because people became obsessed with swords and power. Everyone wanted to rule the world and prove the dominance of his/her blade over others. Bloody intercontinental wars broke out until finally, a bloody agreement was put into place.

Peace was not an option.

A tournament was held every 30 years to determine which warrior from one continent would get to rule the world for the next 30 years. It was open to ages 18 - 25, and I was 23.

My Parents MADE me go, saying that this was a way of proving my valiance. I didn't want to compete in this, but my Dad had participated and won the last time. He was the ruler. If I won, it would be the first time a continent would win the tournament two times in a row.

All that hype was dead now, as we played a game of cat=and -mouse in the forest.

It was remaining just us two - Razaq and I. Razaq had an ax called Storm. It could cause earthquakes when it hit the ground, and it roared like thunder when it whizzed through the air. He was from Africa.

"Come out, Luke!" he screamed, looking around. I was perched high in the tree, not knowing where his voice was coming from, but knowing he hadn't detected me.

He was a skilled tracker, so if I as much as breathed carelessly, I would be a dead man.

I had run out of options, so I was waiting for midnight. The next day was my birthday, and I hoped the new upgrade would be something good. I had no idea where Razaq was, so it was just stupid to randomly shoot, knowing I may not get him and my location would be compromised.

I had to wait for my upgrade. I prayed it would be something nice.

11:58 PM.

Razaq was still quiet. I was tense, watching the clock as I stayed perched in the tree, making my breaths shallow and stabbing mambas that came too close.

12:00 PM. My gun vanished immediately.

Five minutes later, nothing. Was I being punished for seeing my weapon being taken? Or was it...

A sudden quiet buzzing interrupted me. On looming iu[, it was a little drone with what looked like three blasters. I looked at it and saw it, rotating and trying to focus on something.

I thought it was a drone used to monitor the action for relay to spectators, but then I noticed something. I could sense the second field of view being relayed to my brain rather than that of my eyes.

In this second field, I could clearly make out Razaq stealthily walking before darting into the bushes. The image quickly changed to a thermal scanner and I could see the bast*rd crouching in the bushed.

This drone was the upgrade! It added another field of view and could monitor independently while still relaying the data to me. It was as if I was in a control room, watching data from different security cameras.

I jumped down from the tree, knowing exactly where TRazaq was.

He sprung out immediately, coming face-to-face with me.

"I've got... where's your weapon?" he asked frantically.

I smiled.

"Today's my birthday."

As the shadow formed on his face, he looked up and saw the drone.

"Oh Chri..." he shouted, but it was too late.

"Die!" I screamed as the machine began to fire at him repeatedly.

He was dead soon, and his ax faded. I was to rule for the next 30 years.

******

@Leo_kitti @Hanzell long and annoying but it was a great prompt!

15
$ 7.29
$ 7.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Oh my gosh, this one is so cool theis can be made as a movie I love it. I like how his gun reequip into more cool weapon, yayy. I wish therr's more into it, like some more actions but it's a short story so I understand. Will just read your other short story.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, it's a short story but it's interesting, huh?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very interesting, Iove it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Happiest birthday ever!! 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

"Today's my birthday" then that huge ass mic drop killed me, OMG i love it!!! Why are you such a great writer :"" teach me sensei

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh a great prompt indeed and a very happy birthday to him and that hell of a gun-now drone

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

"Today is my birthday"

Ohhh I so loved that line. Killer plot ozzyy❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! Nice story. You have good skills of writing. I feel no bore to read your article. Thank you for your awesome and interesting article. Hope you will share more article like this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks. What did you enjoy most about the article?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well this. If over there you are born with a revolver, pistol or machine gun, in my country you must be born with a knife or machete in hand. As things are going I think it will be normal shortly.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol, I guess you could say the same here. These things are necessary to protect oneself from the multitude of crazy folk out there.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't get used to violence. Until now I am a pacifist. I don't like weapons of any kind. Although I don't know if I will ever have to use them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We all hope never to have to use violence

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am not so convinced of what you say ... there are many people who make a living by creating violent controversies. They like violent fights, I think because they have a lot of male hormones in their being and they don't discharge it unless they have violent acts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh yeah sorry. I guess it's all 'normal' people then, since only physiological or psychological disorders.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awesome article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That was great! I am envy of your talent in writing. I can't write something like that or write it the way you do. But I'm glad and appreciate everyone's uniqueness. I enjoy your vacation just like a movie in my head.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks a lot! You write really well too if you don't know. Your articles are informative, and I subscribed yesterday!

$ 0.00
3 years ago