Announcing the First Stories in Series Contest

92 172
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

A few weeks ago, I created my new community, Stories in Series(99cf) for stories that have more than one part, such as my Taken series (which was fairly a success) and my The Case of the Missing Child, which has also attracted a few readers.

However, I had big plans for the community, and I've always wanted writers of Fiction on this platform to come out and showcase their talents, a desire which was fueled by the efforts of @wakeupkitty, @Jdine amongst others who encouraged writers to experiment their creativity in one way or the other.

Their contest helped m,e to embrace Fictional writing at a time where RC was full of posts on ABC and Amuary and IFC or whatever - all topics I didn't know a thing about. Today, we've seen the likes of many great writers who've taken the stage by storm βœŒπŸ˜‚.

That has given me the motivation to start a contest that will promote writing stories that have more than one part. The idea is to start small now, but I've planned for this to be a monthly contest, and as such, the prizes will definitely be increasing every month.

So now, I guess I'll lay down the parameters for the contest. But first, I've got to make sure people are interested in the contest - I really want to see your entries. So, I'll do my part by boosting this announcement so people see it and know what's happening here.

The boosting will be for about two or three days (30 August to 1 September)- that should be enough to see how many interested people we have.

Preliminaries

Before you can submit an entry, you should at least make a short post or article describing the contest and sharing the link of this post. This is basically so that your friends who are talented in writing can also join the contest as well.

Once you have made that post, you can share the link of that post in the comments section. Once I have a substantial amount of commented links, I'll know people are interested, and we'll kick-off.

Rules

https://read.cash/@Ozzyy/the-case-of-the-missing-child-1-3c29ae86

  1. Entries will be approved from September 2, provided that interest is generated. The Contest will last for two weeks, meaning that by 12:00 pm UTC on September 16, no entries (as far as winning the contest) will be approved.

  2. The prize money is $3. It might increase, depending on how things go, but all the money will be given to the one lucky article. Fifty percent of it will go to the top article, while the other 50% will be split amongst the 2nd and 3rd best articles.

  3. If the money's not enough motivation, or if you'll just want to post for the love of it, good! We'll be happy to receive your entries

  4. Your stories must have a minimum of two parts and a maximum of 10 parts. Anything more or less would be either poor quality or impossible.

  5. What we're looking out for is Good Plot and Character Development and Good Grammar and Spellings (Written in English, although you should indicate if you made use of a translator). That means you must have a well-developed story - not too rushed or having plot holes, and you must have well-described characters. These will determine who wins.

  6. If you think it's impossible to create something that good in less than two weeks, check out The Case of the Missing Child. It has just two parts left, and I started it a week ago. If I do say so myself, the plot is also quite wholesome as well.

  7. You can write from the following Genres - Romance, Crime, and Comedy. I decided to add three categories writers can choose from so that we can give writers a bit of freedom to express themselves.

  8. When you make your posts, be sure to tag me ( @Ozzyy ) and @Hanzell as the moderators so we can note. The final decision will be based on our decisions, So @Hanzell, if you would kindly give me a means of contacting you outside RC, I would be very grateful.

  9. For your entries to be approved, it is important that you join the community Stories in Series(99cf). That is where you should post your story parts to.

  10. My personal entry is The Case of the Missing Child, and it's only for you to have a fair idea about what you should bring to the table here.

    11.Β Β  Only one entry is allowed per account, and all accounts must be at least a week old.

    12.Β Β  No plagiarism! The OC checker will be up and running for this purpose, although I do hope it will be reliable for this purpose. βœŒπŸ‘Œ

    13.Β Β Β Β Β Β  Please indicate from your very first part if your story contains swear words or Rated R content. It helps the readers know exactly what they’re getting into.

    14.Β Β Β Β Β Β  Each part must contain a minimum of 300 words. I’ve decided to allow you to use your better judgment to know when the part has become excessively lengthy, just in case.

    15.Β Β Β Β Β Β  Short posts DO NOT count as entries.

    16.Β Β Β Β Β Β  Not utterly compulsory, but it would probably be nice for you to subscribe to me so you can keep up-to-date with the latest developments as far as the contest is concerned and also read my work UwU. I’ll be interested in what many of you write, so be sure that I’ll subscribe when I see you’ve got something good going there. Β 

    17.Β Β Β Β Β Β  I guess that’s it! This probably has way too many rules, but bear with me ️. If there are any loopholes here, or you have questions, please ask so that I can clarify.

That’s all for the contest’s rules. I’ll be boosting now, and if we get a good turnout, we can begin. If not, I’ll try again next month. See you soon!Β 

  1. @wakeupkitty Β @Leo_kitti @Jdine @Eybyoung @Winona if you're interested in participating, or you know someone that might be, please do mention them.

    Β 

79
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @Xzeon
Sponsors of Ozzyy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ozzyy
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Submit the entry to the group as well when you're ready. Thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yesss i will thank you:)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is such a wonderful event. I think the rules are necessary for the contest. It may look overloaded (rules) but it seems reasonable enough. I like the concept of this contest. I know both of you can judge this fairly and good. I would want to join but I guess I have so much going on right now. But I will be joining the journey as an audience. Looking forward to reading the stories. 😊 I wish you success and good luck to all participants. 😊

oh btw, thanks for commending me. 😊 it's a pleasure being able to become one of the reasons that motivated you in creating this contest. 😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks a lot. You can help by pitching in a comment or two along the way

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah. no prob. I will be giving honest feedbacks to entries I read. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would really love to join this, I hope i can have more time to write.. This is a good concept and i wish you good luck.. Hoping for the success of this contest.. I can't promise but I'll try to construct my entry.. I'm just too busy with things at work but I want to try it... Thanks for sharing this 🌹🌻🌹

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Then do so if you can, thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Can i submit my old series stories?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If it falls within the criteria (2-10 parts, either Drama, Crime or Comedy categories) then sure you can!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ow thank you so much😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome πŸ’₯⚑

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Up this article is a good idea

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Can we help each other?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i would really love to join this dear and please keep on writing more inspiribg articles dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Then you can get posting because the contest was launched yesterday and it's ending on the 16th

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oh really my friend i didnt know about it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah that's it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same cna i try

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you have an entry to post then go ahead, the contest has begun

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay thx for the opportunity

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would like to to join 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Then you can start posting because the contest has begun and it closes on the 16th

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would really love to join this, I hope i can have more time to write.. This is a good concept and i wish you good luck.. Hoping for the success of this contest.. I can't promise but I'll try to construct my entry.. I'm just too busy with things at work but I want to try it...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're free to try. Depending on the number of entries I get, everyone will be rewarded.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it's was so nice..keep writing continue...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article dear.I hope you keep still writing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice on dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice one dear.keep writing and inspiring other people.goodluck

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice,keep writing πŸ˜‡

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its really amezing , good work dear keep it up and stay connected with us

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice Article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@eosop I saw you write series may be you can have a try in this contest.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article.I have already subscribed to you please backπŸ€—

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Stop spamming

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice post

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wao this is splendid,I just want to wish you success because this would be so helpful...great article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This was very helpful article. I hope that many people like you to post helpful articles. In order for the others to earn a lot of points. I will always looking forward to support you brother.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

okay i wish your page stories in series may grow and i feel happy if you take this comment seriously and start wrorking your page seriously then i will be happy for you and all the best wishes from my side and thank you for uploading this πŸ’Ÿ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks a lot

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Am sure this will be a great contest.I like everything about it especially the rules .Great article. Kindly subscribe back.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Stop spamming

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Plz subs i also you sub

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice article bro.. πŸ™‚πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

that's nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice post...dear .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice post...dear .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmm... i have telegram? If that works? Just realized I'll have so many to read >w< and i thought @Dolores would join, she was writing a long series recently though I've been waiting for her to finish that first

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Paging @Doloris please reply πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That would be perfect. Send your username. @wakeupkitty has contacted Dolores, we're awaiting her response!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hooe she joins, I've seen parts of her series. I was just stopping myself from reading because ji wanted it to finish soon My telegram id is @Hanzell08 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's exactly what I want to do, thanks to you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. great article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You should render a better opinion on your thoughts as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not just about that, join the contest if you can write and/or refer your friends who can

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Uhm well, I know you and @Hanzell but both of you can not join. I wish you good luck with your story and keep it in mind if I bump into a good storyteller. Unfortunately, they are rare here and a part already left. Who knows @marblely likes to join? It's always a pleasure to read her fine English. Good luck to all participants. πŸ’•πŸ‘πŸ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the mention. I will read through the 17 rules first. Am not sure if I understand them all. That is a whole lot of rules.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just write a story (3 themes) and cut it in 2 or 3 parts. πŸ‘πŸ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This realization 😯 just realized I can't participate, that's sad but still hoping I can promote primrose because I'm proud of my work despite the lazy ending πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No you can't unless you do not moderate when the contest runs but you can join for fun. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well i always join in for the gun anyways so i don't mind just writing for fun

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You join for the gun? I could use a gun 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. You can at least pitch something in though πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

You did pretty well on primrose

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well I'd like to contribute to that prize pool when the judgement day comes

Still wanna have that published, actually ;-;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That statement is correct: They are very rare. Well, thanks for at least mentioning someone, and for your effort. I hope you do find someone good. Have a nice day!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just mentioned your contest. Let's see if @Dolores is interested. There must be some writers left or who knows some new ones like to give it a try? @Heartbeat1515 perhaps?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I haven't finished my series 😭 I'll try to make an ending about it maybe tomorrow to give justice to the story not being abandoned πŸ˜‚ I will share this so it can reach more writers to participate.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Many stories do not have an end...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Don't rush it. When this contest is over, I'd love to read what you and "Mj123 have been working on, so make sure you maintain the flow!

And do join the contest if you can, you write well πŸ’ͺπŸ‘Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I thought I need to rush it,. I'll try my best if I can join.

@esciisc @myt.24 @yen maybe you can give a try

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm thinking about writing a series as well. But I'm not sure if I can finish it. I get really lazy when it comes to series lol. I even tried to write a story in wattpad and it started to gain attention but I eventually deletes it because I'm too lazy to write lol

Anyways, thanks for the mention, I'll consider this 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's just a story and you cut it into parts 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You should try this one, just for fun πŸ˜† me too haven't finished my series I am kinda sluggish to finish it πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll try to work on it tonight. I'm too lazy to write today, I even barely wrote comments. I don't know why I'm feeling too unmotivated πŸ˜‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe you are just worn out these days, have a beauty rest to freshen up your minds.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks I hope that by tomorrow, I'm 'normal' again 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahaha you will be the normal again, as long as you rest well. You can also watch movies to lighten up and see other perspectives in life πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am pass to this one. I am not good in English πŸ˜„ As I was reading the article of Ozzy regarding the requirements I was like πŸ˜…. I am not belong to this community haha. Im sorry Eybyoung 😐

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I understand πŸ™‚ Especially you are going through something, it's not easy to write series. I just don't know who I mention πŸ˜† Jdine is already mentioned, so as Doloris and Hanzell is one of the moderators πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can mention @jeaneth ad well πŸ˜„ Yeah I am not into series haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Thanks a lot!

$ 0.00
3 years ago