Steps to Digital Drawing (Line Art)

77 68
Avatar for OverThinker
3 years ago

Hello Everyone! Today I will be sharing to you how I draw lineart Illustrations. I was planning on coloring this but it's still a work in progress so probably be posting it on my next article.

So the software I used to make this is ibisPaint X. Hope you like it!

Skeleton

So the first step is to imagine what you would like to draw then make a skeleton. Just draw the points that'll serve as the foundation of your figure. Here, the circles I draw indicates the joints and the head. Use the brush tool and add a layer.

Draw the figure

From the skeleton I draw, I made a rough sketch of the figure on the second layer. I used the brush tool (hard point) and eraser for erasing unwanted lines.

Hair and face

After drawing the body figure, I draw the details of the face and hair. Add another layer for this.

Clothes

Next step is draw the clothes. I draw the clothes in another layer.

Hair

After drawing the clothes, face and hair of the male character I then proceed to the next figure.

I draw her hair in a new layer.

Face

After drawing the hair, I proceed in making her face.

Then I draw her clothes.

Erasing unwanted lines

The last step I do is erasing the unwanted lines.

So that's the step on how I make my own line art. I am a noob when it comes to colors but I'll try my best to post another article on how I'll be coloring this art.

I hope you learned something 😊

Stay tuned for the next article.

Please don't hesitate to drop a comment down below your thoughts regarding this article. Lovelots!

43
$ 0.08
$ 0.05 from @Koush
$ 0.02 from @ericreid9
$ 0.01 from @thesatoshistore
Sponsors of OverThinker
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for OverThinker
3 years ago

Comments

Nice! Thank you for sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your appreciation 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're really good in arts, digital or not. You really love drawing especially anime characters.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha I do😂 drawing anime stuff is something I find relaxing and satisfying. Thank you for the compliment but I am not that super good, I am still learning to grow hahahahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's just a natural talent doing something like that even if you're still a newbie. Be proud of that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aweeeee. Thanks a lot

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow this is great. I've tried digital arts before but I think it's not for me so I just stick to traditional arts. Looking forward to the colored version of this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much @Baij. I was also used to traditional drawings (charcoal pencil, coloring pencil, oil pastel, water color) but I tried adapting to this kind of art. Was kinda difficult at first but it gets easier as you continued making more digital drawings.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. Hope i can learn that too😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. I know you can learn it too😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. Hihihi hope you'll teach me once we got back at dorm

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No problem hahaahhaha. My rate per hour is at a good price. Kidding😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahhaa susumbong kita kay tsukii

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaahaha. Charot lang. Baka sungitan ulit ako nun hahahahhaa😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kelan ba yon hindi sumungit?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahahha. Kapag kasama ako? Hahaha charot😂 in your dreams papsh, inyour dreams hahahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Assuming ka ghorl? Hahahha by the way, congrats dear!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahahah. Congrats din dear. As expected from you, you managed to maintain your position hahahahahahhaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sanaganyan din ka consistent sa acads. Nakunaku. Kelan ka palang puntang guino?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Di na ko mag aaral. Gagawin ko na lng fulltime ang business ko dito sa readcash hahahahaha. Charot😂 Di ko knows, depende kung kelan pwede

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahhaa wala pang kasiguraduhan dito ghorl at baka magkaubusan ng funds. Hahahahha baka august nako. Before pasukan i guess. At yung sa dost baga

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aweee. Sana all malapit lang hahahahhaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Agdahon ko nga si czar hahahha. Baka mamuya magduman. Huhuhu labahan ko

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mapasuyo man ako magkuha ng cog hahahhaha. Bayaran na lng kita sa gcash or sa coinsph

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sureee. Pero masend ka ata nian ng authorization letter ata yun. Basta ganon. Hahhaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amo. Magsend n lng sko sayo ng authorization letter, na naka pdf. Baka pwede mn na soft copy hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahha mag gawa ka hardcopy kina scan mo ta yung signature. Kina igwa man picture. Para doroble an proof. Hahahhaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I soft copy ko na lang hahahaha. Naiwan ko an printer ko sa dorm hahaahha. Tigchat ko mana pati an registrar naagrerequest akong cog kaso I kennat sa personal hahahahaa. Lagyam ko na lng ng signature na nasa softcopy din hahahhaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sige sigesse.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow paps. You're so good at this. ❣😍 Are you only using your fingers while doing that?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes I am only using my fingers hahahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Have you maybe used sai? I'd like to learn digital arts too :""

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No i didn't. You can learn how to do it, it'll be difficult in the start but as soon as you know the basic functions everything will just be easy😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I still avoid digital arts like the plague because i get irritated with doing the line art so much 😂 n3pt because of the functions

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It sure is very complicated but there are other softwares that has easy functions. Even myself is having difficulties doing line art using photoshop so I find other softwares having a not so complicated tools. Btw, it's a good thing that you know how to make traditional drawings💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've tried the ones on a tablet then i tried a few softwares but really, the line art will be the death of me. Can't even manage to rhe lines right by mouse or by fingers Oh you saw those? Traditional art is the only thing i can manage 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha. Maybe it's not just your preferred style of art but I know you'll manage to make one someday😊 yesssss! I saw your worksss. I've stalked you for a while now coz I somehow saw your comments on Baij 's post then I followed u there.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I remember being able to make something on paint before though... I'll try looking for it later. @Baij is the glue and the secret link that binds people together OwO I fell in love with her style of drawing because it gets colorful. Mine is pretty monotone, in a sense

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes I agree hahahaha. Baij sure is amazing. Her style is different from yours but both of em gives off different artistic appeal💕 both of you are doing great.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, she goes on a more realistic approach while mine is stuck at the gothic level i developed way back in highschool

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. But you're so good at watercolors and not all artists can manage to do that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I actually dislike water colors because they take up so much time for all the layers to settle in and dry up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah I agree. Using water color do take up a lot of time to dry up but then you're doing great at it. If you dislike watercolors, what tools do you prefer to use?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I used to have color pencils abd markers as my main mediums but then they git a bit too pricey so i stuck with pens. Though my art style changes with the medium too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see. Art materials sure are expensive especially of those with high quality.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not really, it's all about knowing what goes well with what and knowing how to work with any medium. I mean, all the things i draw with are basically the cheap stuff you find in stores so it's really just with practice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. Good artists do can make cheap stuff look expensive😊 It's not about the tools it's about the talent👏💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That I believe. I notice it if I write. It makes a big difference if I write by hand, with help if my phone, speak or (like I tried lately) with a laptop.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same concept, yeah. It also applies to when you switch pens, actually because no pen will feel like the other so there's also a very slight change

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tue, same with the paper.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yayyyy I felt so flattered. It's so good to know a lot of people in this platform that shares the same interest. It's great that we have different approach or art styles because we can somehow learn new stuffs. Hanzel working with watercolor and scribbling, OverThinker's into digital arts and I'm into colored pencil portraits ❤❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is it 😂😂😂 I can feel art slowly starting to prosper in this platform

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. I'm hoping to know more artists having different styles in art. Let's share our talents in this platform😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love art

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Everyone sure loves art😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice arts👏👏keep sharing🏆🏆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you @Abba. Will do😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for sharing this. Do have another tool to do that?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you @Mark😊 do you mean another software?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes @overthinker.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can make those using adobe photoshop and autodesk.😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will try it. Thank you💞💞

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What device were you using in making this sketch? I mean, it looks like a tablet.. or maybe a phone..?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just used my phone😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oh nice! I'll try that one too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll be looking forward to it😊💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Keep sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you😊 Will do!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, this is awesome.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you @SeaweedKing💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I watched it but I can not say I learned something. It's nice to see how you did it but these programs I will never understand or practice. Same if it comes to photoshop.

👍🍀💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see. I'll just try my best to include the tools I've used on my next article. Thank you for your commendation😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome. I guess for me it's easier to use a pencil than the computer stuff. 🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I used to say that too when I just started digital. But every people do have their preferences😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think I am to old or stupid to start and understand it all. I do everything the old fashioned way. Just writing no longer by hand although I make 1001 notes by hand.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see. Softwares sure are a bit hard to understand sometimes specially of those with complex tools and buttons. But it's still good to know that we're not forgeting the traditional way. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago