Happy Bitcoin Pizza Day!

34 366
Avatar for Omar
Written by
2 years ago (Last updated: 10 months ago)

Happy Bitcoin Pizza Day! May 22nd marks the 11-year anniversary of the first Bitcoin transaction, in which Laszlo Hanyecz, a Florida man, paid 10,000 bitcoins for two slices of Papa John's pizza on May 22, 2010.

Hanyecz was the first person to use bitcoin in a commercial transaction.

The 10,000 BTC were worth just $41 at that time.

Bitcointalk Forum

He made the offer on bitcointalk forum. He wrote: “I'll pay 10,000 bitcoins for a couple of pizzas.. like maybe 2 large ones so I have some left over for the next day. I like having left over pizza to nibble on later … If you're interested please let me know and we can work out a deal.”.

Laszlo Hanyecz (Credit: Laszlo Hanyecz)


It is understandable that one can't help but calculate how much 10,000 bitcoins would be worth now. However, even though some people make fun of him now, Laszlo Hanyecz is a true legendary because he realized the real mission of Bitcoin as peer-to-peer electronic cash system as described in the whitepaper.

Unfortunately, BTC later lost that mission because of the high fees and delayed confirmations. It became a coin just for "HODL" and speculation. In fact, currently the fees to send a BTC transaction are almost equal to the price of a pizza.

BTC maximalists claim that it is good money because it is a good "store of value". However, Menger-Mises theory of the origin of money states that store of value is a secondary function of money which depends on its utility in its primary function as a medium of exchange. Here is also a nice video by Roger Ver explaining these concepts.

Bitcoin Cash BCH is the best version of Bitcoin nowadays since it continues that vision of Satoshi Nakamoto as money for the world.

.

.

Let us celebrate Bitcoin Pizza Day by buying, selling, sending, tipping, or exchanging something for Bitcoin Cash!

You may know a person or a business that accepts Bitcoin Cash in your neighborhood.

If not, may I suggest the following resources / businesses ?

  1. https://www.bitgree.com/

  2. https://map.bitcoin.com

  3. https://purse.io/shop

  4. https://www.egifter.com/buy-gift-cards-with-bitcoin-cash

  5. https://www.travala.com

Please invite your family and friends to read.cash. This way, they can learn about Bitcoin Cash, download a wallet, see how convenient BCH is, and maybe earn some money while doing so!

Thank you for reading!

- Omar

51
$ 5.26
$ 2.07 from @Big-E
$ 0.65 from @Olasquare
$ 0.54 from @HerBAE
+ 29
Avatar for Omar
Written by
2 years ago (Last updated: 10 months ago)

Comments

Ummm, a delicious meal. A nutritious and healthy quick meal. I love delicious pizza, pies and pastries. Thank you for this article. The content is my dear friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good morning! Awesome article brother. Who would have thought that today that the money I pay for those pizzas would be much cheaper, thanks to the rise that this cryptocurrency had. What you describe is a clear example that we must have a lot of patience when we buy a cryptocurrency because you do not know how high it can go up. Happy day and I congratulate you for the article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe he would definitely regret for the rest of his life, here I am dreaming of being a 1BCH holder... I believe patience is the key to everything..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do feel like turning the hands of time, back to when bitcoin was $ 0.1

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Today 10,000.BTC will be able to buy pizza along with the factory. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If only I had 10, 000 BTC today. more than pizzas I can buy today. haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i just came across this article, yes I have heard about the BTC and the pizza guy, and comparing to the value now that is so massive, but I never knew the date of the transaction until now. we need to also exchange BCH for goods and services, it will help for the growth

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think i'm starving pizza now 🤤 By the way, Good luck for your journey sir 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great we can use bch to buy pizza. I love pizzas hehe. BCH really help us in many ways.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honesty, I've been in here for almost 5 months for now but still need to understand lots of things about "Cryptocurrency and its Finest."

If literally saying regarding this pizza thing you've mentioned sir, I hoped I can grab some even just a slice of it tho.. Hehe.. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to read your article. Of course there should be a pizza party with Bitcoin Cash.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh no you write it now sir, I read this in the twitter and I think I would write this but you are in the first so I respect it , you are so great, If I have enough BCH I can buy Pizza too ? by the way here is my article I hope you can visit it sir,thank you.

https://read.cash/@SenseiZero/my-short-experience-in-noise-cash-f5cc805a

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Will you buy pizza using BTC today? 😅🤣

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Yes, of course! with Bitcoin Cash. I would spend and replace. I would buy more BCH to replace what I have spent.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

10,000 bitcoin! How many pizzas can you buy today? Right now BCH is priced at $ 651, so today our legend could buy roughly 158,780. Enough pizzas to eat for 435 years in a row. In other words, it would be a legacy for the next 21 generations of your family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Pizza Day sir, I know they have a give aways in twitter, instagram and even in email hehe I hope I can participate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seriously i was planning to write about this one tomorrow but you already explained it hehe bad luck ....

$ 0.10
2 years ago

😁 you write about it next year, and we will split the upvotes 50/50, deal?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe deal done but i was planning to write buying a pizza with BCH will become your regret by explaining this........

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Both him and Satoshis will be sad with the direction Bitcoin is heading , it has completely deviates from it purpose. Bitcoincash is staying true to the mandate.

Currently, we have no merchant close by accepting BCH, but I do transfer to my friends from time to time in exchange for goods they sell

$ 0.10
2 years ago

If he holds it until now, he must be one of the wealthiest men ever. But it has been part of the history, so it's still a good one. :)

$ 0.10
2 years ago

The guy must be kicking himself when he must think about this decision 😅 I hope he had more bitcoins that he kept otherwise the guilt would kill him 😅

$ 0.10
2 years ago

He did have more BTC, and he says he has no regrets. https://www.coindesk.com/bitcoin-pizza-10-years-laszlo-hanyecz

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well that is such a relief 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow! If the owner of the pizza parlor kept half of that BTC. He would be ultra-rich by now!

$ 0.10
2 years ago

It was actually an intermediary who took the BTC and paid for the pizza in fiat.
And he sold his BTC early.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. At the time, No one would have thought that the BTC price would skyrocket after a number of years

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol,it was his great mistake.Although he pay 41$ worth BTC.The other time he look like he would feel sorrow for that.This example shows that we should Hodl shitcoin😂😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my. Where was I when 10,000 BTC was still $41? 💔 Such a great opportunity to miss. 🤦‍♀️

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I woke up this morning knowing exactly what I will eat today!

$ 0.10
2 years ago

enjoy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Laszlo started this. I'm always defending this guy when I read unfavorable comments against him. Some call him the pizza guy or that guy, but he was a pioneer Bitcoin dev and many seem to not even know this part.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

💯

$ 0.00
2 years ago