What A Day!

56 98
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

I am exhausted... knackered... Spent... Tired... Can someone "borrow" me another English to use because, at this rate, my head is spinning as I am hungry and tired. What a terrible combination.

I stepped out of the house as early as 7 am today because today is the Thanksgiving service for my mother in law and it's 41 days after she passed so it was held in her Church. It was a smooth and easy ride there but coming back was something else. I don't know which heaven my wife and all my in-laws came from because there is no day they hold an event that rain won't fall.

Let it be a day that rain normally won't fall, once they schedule an event for that period, rain must fall. At my wedding, it rained... On my baby's naming, it rained... Anytime they hold annual thanksgiving and anniversary in Church, rain would fall. Even on my mother in law's burial, rain fell. At my brother in law's wedding, rain fell... Today as well, rain fell and I was soaked in it...

The journey to the service was amazing... I enjoyed it but the moment we finished service that was when the cloud changed colour... And before I know it, it was a heavy downpour so much that I couldn't even drive anywhere again. I was already at my sister in law's house, parked outside, so I just told everyone to go inside her house while I parked the car outside. The distance between the car and her house was short but the rain spared me not.

We stayed at her place for a while and after the rain stopped, we decided to get going. That was how we got stuck in crazy traffic. We stayed there for hours and what caused it? Flood. Welcome to Nigeria... That area had no proper drainage and the water rose so right that you could see it almost cover up to the waist of an adult. Most people had to wait it out a little while some passed alternative routes.

If you are used to Nigeria and the way we do things here you would know we have impatient people who would rather mess up the lines and delay everyone in the long run. Everyone created another line that hindered those coming in opposite direction and everything got muddled up. We stayed there and finally pushed through.

Most of the issues we face in this country can be traced to the government and of course, each one of us. Yes, the government didn't do enough for us regarding the roads but we don't have to act like uncivilized people and mess everything up. Everyone is always in a rush and if you ask them where they are going, I believe it's not somewhere that requires haste, so what's the point? I suffered today hahahaha but the thought of sharing my day with you all surely made me see it's not a bad day after all.

Right in the traffic, the brake of the car started acting funny... Then panic mode set in. It would get so hard and won't press and after 5 seconds it would ease up and it would stop the car abruptly since I was already pressing it. It made me look like an amateur behind the wheels but that was the least of my concerns. I just didn't want to hit anyone and I have to press the brake way before I get close to another car and being in traffic, you can see how frustrated and extra careful I had to be. My right leg aches as though I had offended @Jane , @tired_momma @bmjc98 and @Princessbusayo all combined. πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

When the traffic cleared up that was when the break received sense. I had to pray though. I pray about anything and everything and that's my life. Even when it doesn't make sense to others, I believe in God and the supernatural abilities of His, so when I prayed, I just got my mind off it... I kept doing what I needed to do just like that adage says: "Call on God but keep rowing to the shore". Calling on God doesn't mean He would come down and take the wheel, it only means I am trusting Him to help me while I do what is expected.

A lot of people substitute prayer for what the have to do. Prayer would not take the place of common sense because God gave us the ability to reason so some prayers might be a waste of time because it's in your power to do. Imagine asking God to help you pass an exam yet you won't study. Do you want a divine revelation in the exam hall? God does miracles but not magic... God will always send the rain but are you ready to cultivate your field?

Okay, let me get back on track before I turn this post into preaching... The brake regularized itself and the road got free. What a day it was with mixed emotions but I am glad it was over. The Thanksgiving service went well and it was as though my mother in law was somewhere in the service smiling at us. It's still hard to imagine her not being here anymore but we are grateful. God understands it all.

I got home around 19:30 and I had to quickly share my day by rushing this post. I haven't even eaten anything yet but as @George_Dee always pepper me with his delicacy, let me share with you my dinner as well... I hope it makes him and @Princessbusayo in particular, salivate. Yes, here is my revenge.

Chinese Rice with Diced beef and Plantain.

They used to say that revenge is sweet and also that revenge is best served cold. On this note, I hereby conclude that revenge is Ice Cream = sweet and cold.

Special shout out to @bmjc98 for renewing her sponsorship. It means a lot to me. I hope not to disappoint and thanks to everyone who has shown faith in me, I love you all. I hope to check out more posts tonight as well... hope I won't doze off.

Thank you for your time.

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

29
$ 9.16
$ 8.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.07 from @Infinity
+ 16
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

Hmmmm. Sounds like the Philippines, too. Could it be because the brakes were soaking in floodwaters, that's why it went wonky? When that happened to me in the past, I was told to pump the brakes while lightly stepping on the gas, this way, it would stay dry. Haven't gone through floods lately, so I hope I got that right. Good to know you're safe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much. It started even before we got to the flooded area and it is a Jeep, so the tyres are huge and it didn't even know it went through the water because it was high up. I called a mechanic to check it when I got home and he said everything is fine. I just had to top up the brake oil just to be sure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why prayer without action is dead.

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Yes, my friend. We pray and then we act.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You had a long day that made you came back late at night,try to rest ok and eat your delicacy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot... I sure did. 😍😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

dulce noche y bendiciones saludos desde venezuela . comparto tu opinion en eso de agradecer pero a la vez ir siempre con la frente en alto por mas ,,

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Gracias...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wherever we go we should always pray. Rain is like a blessing from God. It's a blessing especially to the farmers. It is like a shower blessings from God friend.

I love the food friend. I was curious about the plantains. I know it tasted so good. I want to try it friend.☺️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much, my friend. I really wish you tried the plantain too... It's sweet 😍πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're always welcome my friend. I wish my friend. I will research it.☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please do 😍😍πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is clear that the day was really beautiful. Let such a day come again and again in your life. And yes, the food was beautiful. Seeing that, i wanted to eat.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha the day should come without the brake issues.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a day my friend, but rain is a blessings and your food makes me hungry..πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha I am sorry my friend but I am willing to share the food with you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here in my country kuya, when there is any occasion and it rains they say it is a blessing from heaven. Your wife's family is very blessed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love this perspective... Thank you so much, Susan. πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How far? Is the food still available? Because after seeing it, I can't remember anything I read. Lemme try to remember.

Yes, the rain. It's a sign of blessing. Ehhn... Bad roads, people vs government. You should be used to it. Although, it's good to orientate people about these things, so that they will do better. Sadly, even the orientation is tired of Nigerians and their government.

"Wò!." Let's not get into it. Nigeria will always be Nigeria. It's nice to see that despite the stress your mouth NO FORBID GOOD NEWS. ☺ It's nice to see that you are doing great. It was an amazing read for me.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£. Thanks a lot, brother. Indeed, Nigeria is another matter. Make we just dey look and pray.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Chaiii, I have been washed today. The return leg go bad but me I no sabi Chinese rice ooo. The food is superb and sorry about the stress you went through today, Lagos and traffic on rainy days is something else.

Your faith worked for you, after all, Holy Spirit took over the brake and made an amendment. I am glad you got home safe and sound, it didn't rain in my area and I don't know who we offended.

Enjoy your meal and have a great night rest bro...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.

Thank you so much, brother. Lagos, Rain and Traffic... Terrible combo.

I am glad God took over. I was really worried about how the journey would be without active and reliable brake.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oppression re oo πŸ™„πŸ™„ Do you call this revenge? Wait till I give you something called "The real Revenge" soon πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

Omo! No wonder I chatted you again and you didn't reply me on time. Sorry about your day.

I guess your wife came from Rain tribe where rain must surely fall at any event that concerns her πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

Pls, don't tell her I said all these oo πŸ₯ΊπŸ₯Ί

I hope Dara wasn't affected by the stress today? Sebi you are eating Chinese Rice with Diced beef and plantain? Mine would be India Rice with Diced snail and plantain πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

You no go wait finish (e ni duro wotan) 🀣🀣🀣

About that prayer too. I believe in prayer and I pray over many things including things I shouldn't have prayed over but God is awesome.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚. I am still warming up. Real oppression is coming again. Layer by layer.

Rain tribe πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£ I will tell her o. Dara that was busy sleeping all through πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚.

She said diced snail hahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Layer by Layer ko, Root by Root ni

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know how kisses get levels? Soft... Aggressive, lips... Tongue... French... Good. We go there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣🀣🀣 That aggressive go bad oo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lmao!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was truly stressful. Thank God you survived the day 😁 . Because you are a good son and always pray.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much, Janey. I always look forward to your amazing words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe every rain is a blessing from God and every event he is with you. You are all blessed. It's good to know that despite the challenges you never forget God in your life. I love the food it makes me hungry 🀀

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yaaaaaay! I am glad my meal made you hungry. Thanks a lot, Gracie.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're always welcome ola ☺️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a stressed day ,but I guess you enjoy a little bit of your day ,keep safe .God bless

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much, Chelle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here the rain is called abundance, they are said to be fertile if it rains in every business.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No doubt, I love the rain too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hope when you were born rain didn't fall 🀣🀣🀣, the one rain dey fall at every event

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha let's blame it on her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can see you had a stressed day, but at the end you enjoyed yourself

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I had to wash it down with something light πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😊☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You seem to have a busy day. Well, everything is on government. They can help the nation.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nigeria is another case on its own.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe that the government have a lot of money to spend on developing the nation. If they spend enough on developing the nation, thing will get better. Drainage will function and there won't be flooding anymore.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They would rather divert the funds to private pockets. Evil people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What A day indeed.. You could say you were drained and worn out. I hate it when it rains during occasions. We shouldn't blame the government for everything, when we fail to do our little part

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly... We are both to blame...the government and us, the citizens. We all have our parts to play.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚the rain is a sign of blessings from the heavens no don’t over think It. Hope you don’t feel too tired guy tried left home by 7:00am and came back by 7:30 pm you strong boss

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha... I dozed off after making this post. Woke up some hours ago to reply to these amazing comments.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can imagine bro happy new week

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy new week bro and have a blessed one ahead.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minister of enjoyment...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Swear me in... πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago