Welcome To Nigeria.

14 31
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

I apologize to those who might see this as a rant but that's why I intend to do, rant to get past the anger and look at the bright side. Nigeria will test you, as with most countries too but see this as me pouring my heart out so I can feel lighter and move ahead. I thank you all for your understanding and love.

My Rant.

Welcome to Nigeria. The land of humour and unpredictability. A land flowing with corrupt politicians on every front and they are not ashamed to loud their horns of decadence. They are in full glare, dancing to the sound of broken promises with a parliament full of idle potbellied dead conscience looters.

I am sure most of us have heard the news making the rounds that emanated from our government. We have a bunch of jokers as leaders and that reflects so bad on us, the citizens you would say. Not like we had a choice in the election anyway since we all know how they always get there and the election exercise is just a formality purpose.

Sometimes I am proud to be a Nigerian because of the creativity, the goodness of heart and our awesome personality with rich culture and on the other hand, I just don't want to be a Nigerian anymore or let me put it well, I want to leave this country while still clinging to my Nigerian roots only by blood and no longer by location.

I have never seen or heard of a government like this in Nigeria. I shared a few days ago about not truly having the freedom we think we have. We spoke about freedom of expression and social rights and now, they came up with the Joker that Twitter would be banned in Nigeria. The stress of the crypto ban is still telling on us as I had to pay more charges just to be able to earn since it's passing from one wallet to the other before I can convert it into Naira, now it is a Twitter ban.

Our government feels threatened with everything. I am not surprised, sometimes. The youths protested peacefully during the Lekki Toll Gate scenario, they hacked them down and shot at the youths. We lend our voice over anything, they push the blame to their political counterparts. Our government have never been held accountable for anything nor will they ever take responsibility for anything. It is shameful and disturbing, coming from a democratic state and supposed older leaders. These are not leaders but looters. By their fruits, we have known them. I call them politicians rather than leaders.

The president made an unreasonable remark which can incite violence. As it was done before in time past even to the most powerful of men, Twitter took down his ill-timed statement and now they feel attacked. They wanted to justify themselves so bad and they said they would ban Twitter because Twitter funded the protest the youth had last year. Come on, now, how???

They like dishing things out but they don't like taking it too. If anyone else made such a statement that the president made, I am so sure all hell would break loose as they would fish out that person and make him a scapegoat. It's no longer surprising that when they are in power, they are above the law. Now, the president made it and they are trying to find the sense out of his senselessness. Twitter deleted his tweets and now they have banned Twitter in Nigeria.

The speed at which they pass these laws into being and yet the sluggishness they do in persecuting their fellow looters shocks me. Under 3 days, they have passed it into law and for the past 8 months, the death of the Lekki Toll Gate citizens are still being deliberated on by the panel. This is sheer wickedness with total disregard for consequences. God will judge.

We know we have been cursed with a chronic desire to have our politicians irritate us. Facebook took the same approach too and I am looking at it if they would also ban Facebook soon. Maybe they were also pained that Twitter took its headquarters to Ghana and can you blame Twitter for wanting a suitable environment that is not riddled with corruption and lack of electricity? I believed Jack must have been asked to 'settle' some people and he must have refused, as expected.

When I said they are clowns, I wasn't joking. They banned Twitter and it was even announced again via their handles on Twitter. Isn't that funny? I don't know what is wrong with this country and I am done keeping hope and faith in it. I want out. If you are in the diaspora, kindly reach out to me because my tiredness is tired, I want to leave 🤣🤣😂🤣 so I can start another life outside Nigeria. This country has become a joke. I don't care if it's not green out there, I will water it because I know my effort won't be wasted. I have made it so far in Nigeria, I believe with the same energy and more, I would make it out there too.

Pray for Nigeria 🤣🤣😂🤣😂.

5
$ 4.52
$ 4.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
$ 0.05 from @JustMyRambles01
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

Let hope abound in Nigeria!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That hope is crawling as we speak 😂😂😂🤣.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My heart breaks for you, I feel the same way about South Africa - yet I am fortunate to be here instead of Nigeria.

Your statement of, "I don't care if it's not green out there, I will water it because I know my effort won't be wasted." actually made me cry.

I know you will one day reach your goal, you have such a beautiful attitude and good heart. I wish you all the best. 💖

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much. That's the state we found ourselves. It has been mentally draining and most people are tired .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

definitely a government of clowns. i have a few Nigerian friends and old classmates and they're the best people to hang out with. you should get out of there if the government is that depressing and it seems no amount of protest will help start a reform in the system

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am definitely working on leaving. No protest has worked and doubt it would. Trying to silence the voice of people and now they have banned Twitter. We are living under a dictator. Thank you so much, dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

there will be ways for the people to reach out. what i fear is what if they eventually also ban leaving the country to make sure the people are completely silenced

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Trust me, I read on the news a few days ago that they are trying to reduce the number of youths leaving the country. They are not making lives easy for the youth and now they want to reduce the way youths go out for greener pastures. Can you see we are under a dictator?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

now that's definitely plain stupid and i really hope you can get out of there alive,man- they're going at it like how north korea runs

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are just terrible human beings. All their children stays outside the country but they want to cage in others. They make laws they are not affected by, so it is easier for them to wake up one day and make stupid decision as this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i sorta feel you on that with the things the gov is doing here but at least it isn't dictatorial... yet

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These ones are just power drunk with no dignity and reputation to protect. I pray they don't catch that bug where you are, Cell.

Thanks a lot, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for sharing about your country. I once had a Nigerian classmate when I studied at Cebu but we didn't had a chance to get to know each other because I was going to transfer other school. But one thing I'm sure. They are nice people.😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad you had a brief moment with your Nigerian classmate. It's just in us to be that nice and warm but how we have these set of leaders with zero human feelings scares me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago