Society's Pressure.

12 53
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

If you live in this part of the world and particularly, Nigeria, you will understand the pressure most people put themselves under just to get married. It hurts more when the pressure doesn't even come from the person involved but the parent. Society will look upon you in a certain way when they know that you are 'single' or you are not married.

Most parents train their children to get married and not teach them about life's lessons. They just want to get them bundled up to get married whether they are ready or not because they are worried about what their friends would say and the desire to feel superior to some of their peers. They see it as an achievement when their child gets married. I get it, any parent would and should be happy when their child gets married but you don't force them to get married on your terms.

I never faced that pressure, I am so certain I wouldn't have listened to them especially with how I was deprived of going into my football academy. I think most people need to appreciate their single self because marriage is a long journey that comes with its challenges - even challenges you won't prepare for.

Singleness is not a disease and shouldn't be made out to be. It is not a disease that you must cure with urgency. Nothing is wrong with you. I am going to use Nigeria as a reference because that is what I see around here and I am not sure how it works in other countries. When a child is already 27 years and she is not married nor engaged, the parent spiritualizes everything and feel there is one force behind the child's inability to 'nail' down a man even when that is not true. We see things differently here and it can get annoying because they make you think you are failing and you haven't accomplished one of life's greatest goals - to get married hahaha.

Image Source.

This pressure has allowed so many people to lower their standards and expectations or allowed them to accept what they are not supposed to all because they want to "get into the marriage groove". I have seen most ladies fall into this trap even though this is not a gender-specific topic, both parties have their fair share. I have heard of a lady taking all sorts of beating from the guy she is supposed to get married to and yet she still didn't see it as a wrong move to break it because she is 32 years old. Even if you are 35, so what? We need to start finding purpose rather than living up to society's ever-changing values.

There is a difference between a spouse and a good spouse. When you are blessed to get a good one, you will be happy but when you find the other, you will become a philosopher haha.

As individuals, we shouldn't be defined by what we have or what we don't have. Who we are is greater than what we have because what we have is a result of who we are. The first thing we need to do is find a purpose to live for. Discover yourself and see along the way how the person that would come along can slot into that. Imagine a lady who was into event management and this guy came around and told her he would never allow her to build a career in that. Not every person is for you and when you miss out on that person it doesn't mean others won't come. It comes with putting yourself first above anyone else. Find your identity because a man or woman of identity would always be attractive.

I always tell people to make sure they have the third eye because you can't judge who loves you or who doesn't by merely looking at them. If anyone successfully deceives you then you are in a way to be blamed. Deception always rears its ugly head, it is just a function of time. Never ignore the warning signs. "Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me".

Learn to also marry or date someone you can agree with in situations. I am not saying you have to have the same view all the time, that is practically impossible but you need someone humble enough to take suggestions and you both meet at a level ground. It doesn't have to be someone that wants his or her way all the time and it has to be what he wants or what she thinks. You need to be on the same page and have the same goal in mind. Marriage doesn't succeed in marriage but it succeeds before marriage.

Image Source.

Don't marry someone you don't like. I know of a lady that got married to a guy she didn't like because the mother felt she knew that guy from the start. They fixed their engagement without her knowledge. They tricked her home and she was welcomed with the shocker. The mother felt she was wasting too much time and she 'helped' her. They didn't even last 2 years because the guy always wants to impose and I was more hurt for her because she allowed her mother to derail her. She has a beautiful girl to show for it and that's a good thing out of all these things.

There is a part that attractiveness plays in a relationship. Attention breeds affection and after you have engaged this person and you don't really like the person, just let him or her go, don't force it because you will wish you didn't force it when the chips are down.

Accountability also matters in a relationship. Most people want to control you and allow you to do their bidding. It's a marriage, not a sentence. If that person doesn't have someone he or she is accountable to, that is a big problem waiting to happen. It is good to learn from people and that's why we have books to read so we can learn from other people's experiences but in this case, your mentor shouldn't be someone you can't reach or relate with.

There are so many things to watch out for before going into marriage. Never allow yourself to be pressured into marriage because when the ceremony is over, you are the one that would be left in it. They will tell you to endure and marriage shouldn't be about enduring but about creating memories even with the challenges that would come along the way. Life is full of ups and downs, so you need someone who will make that journey bearable at least.

You are not to be defined by your marital status. Be comfortable with who you are before you allow another person into your space because if you are not, you will constantly seek validation from your spouse and if it didn't come for one reason or the other, you are down to ground zero and you start seeking for a solution to the problem only you can fix. You are single but that doesn't mean you are out of tune. Love yourself first.

10
$ 7.20
$ 6.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Davinchysax
$ 0.10 from @Princessbusayo
+ 4
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

Well said Ola. I got married at the ago of 25, but not because of my parents, rather my own choice after being together for 9 years and I guess also the fairytale that you need to find that one person to share your life with.

My views have changed and my marriage ended and until recently my nan would still pray that we get back together 😅 She’s from the era where people thought it was unthinkable to leave their spouse, you had to endure no matter what. I never agreed with this and I remember praying that my parents would divorce, because together they were a nightmare, but my mum was forced to marry my dad, because I was on the way. Now they’re happily grow old together and I’m happy for them, but I myself would never put myself through all that my mum went through in our youth.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you so much for sharing this, Monika. Absolutely...our parents would want us to endure and take it all in without knowing the depth of the damage it's causing. I am happy for them and they are still together and that might just be one case out of 100.

It has to be a choice as you have said. You felt you were ready then and took the step but here, they start looking at you differently, especially the ladies because they suffer this the most. It hurts because their attention has been taken away from purpose and impact to being defined by marital status.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sometimes we need to find a strength to say no to our loved ones and society, despite their opinions and judgements. Had I listen to my family, I’d still be married and unhappy. I just didn’t tell them anything until it was a done deal.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely...we need to stand our ground and say no because it is not their life but yours and I am happy you took that step.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is typical of Nigerian society and it is so sad that people are yet to learn from the mistakes of others. Just like you said, if he doesn't have the receptive embrace to accept you for who you are then, don't ever think he will do that after marriage. I feel so bad for the ladies because they are at the receiving end of it all.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Absolutely...it hurts because they are at the receiving end of it and I really wish our parents can make it easier and the society can be more kinder too. It is not a race...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was discussing an issue with my friend the other day and it was about marriage. I said if a guy should raise his hand just to beat me while still dating, then that is the end of it. What if I endure it thinking I love him, he will change when we get married, what if the worse happen? I will live to regret all my life.

Marriage should not be something you are pressured into going for. It's a lifetime contract and no one will follow you there. Wedding is for a day while marriage is for a lifetime. You shouldn't be coerced by your parents or friends to get married because when the tough happens, they will not be there to save you. By then, you will regret and be like it's my cross.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

This is so true and thanks for this brilliant contribution. Absolutely... No one can change anyone. If he doesn't love you enough to refrain from his hands, what makes her think he won't see it as normal the moment she allows it. It's yours and yours alone to carry and most people need to understand that. Most people just want to have a gathering to go to, eat food and take pictures while the person would be the one enduring what can be avoided.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here in my country, people don't care if youre old enough and doesn't married yet as long as you are enjoying yourself being single and youre doing what you like such as focusing on your career first. Marriage can wait and it is a long process. Once you get married there will no turning back. You are already tied up to each other. I have seen a lot couple who married fast but didnt last long. Enjoy yourself first, explore things and when you think youre ready enough financially and, emotionally then get married no one will stop you.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you so much for this. Exactly, you need to be ready emotionally, socially, mentally, physically, financially and morally before getting married. It takes a lot but here, they see it as a major achievement which is not true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hope you’ll not be pressure yourself. Enjoy first :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely...no pressure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago