Manage Your Emotions.

19 28
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

This is an aspect of life where most people have failed and you cannot blame them. Most people struggle to keep their emotions in check and want to say everything that comes to their head due to years of accumulated silence of oppression, however, it is. Most people have been dragged, taken for granted and you see someone in one corner dragging the fire by whispering into your ears "If that was me, I could never take it". You feel the desire to react rather than respond because you want to sound cool and seen as not being taken for granted.

It's hard to manage that emotion when you are the kind of person that wants to be seen in a particular way. You are fueled by how others perceive you. It took me a long while to get to that point where I don't have to bother about what others think. I do things for the sake of my sanity and if that involves cutting off someone without necessarily hating them, I do that with great joy. We need to do whatever gets us a clear conscience to sleep at night because let's face it, you were not created to wake up every day with a burning desire to impress someone else.

I don't bother about what people say or think, as long as I am not hurting another person in the process and I am not losing my peace and sanity. I know a lot has been said about you at one point or the other but the truth is, life will either bless you or bury you. It is never about what other people say about you that matter but about what you say to yourself when they are done talking. The truth is, people will always talk no matter how much you try to impress them. They will always demand more of you and when you fail to live up to it (forgetting you have been yielding to them over the years) they will still drag you down, so what's the point? Just keep your emotions in check and stop fueling their drama.

Image Source.

Keeping your emotions in check requires you not getting swayed by public opinions, keeping your sanity and learning when to talk and when not to speak. There is wisdom in knowing the season for speech and when silence can echo thunder. Learn to take care of your mind and your emotions too. Always feed your mind with the right things and the right energy too because whatever you feed your mind with will eventually determine how you will turn out.

To manage your emotions better, learn to read good books, watch soul-lifting videos...just be in charge of the kind of energy you want around you. Feed your mind with the kind of information that will get you to where you intend to be in the next 5 years. They used to say the best time to plant a tree was 25 years ago (depending on which) and the next best time is now. Now is the best time to get a hold of your emotions because you don't want to learn in retrospect.

When you can manage your emotions you will earn even more respect from others. There are some people you must never respond to. Silence is golden when you can't think of an answer and it is even more cherished when you can think of the answer but opted against saying anything that would cost you your peace. Most of the things that are getting our attention are not that important. You need to stop responding to everything. You don't have to answer every name-calling. My name is Olawale and imagine I was walking on the street and someone kept shouting "Ayodeji", do I really need to respond? Of course not because that's not who I am and according to a song I heard earlier in the year it says "When they are trying to hold me, I go zoom zoom zoom. I don’t like your vibe and I go zoom zoom zoom. Bad energy I zoom zoom zoom" that song is by a guy named Cheque.

I try so much to protect my sanity. I love being happy and those who have known me longer know I love being playful. In my playful self, so many people have assumed the worst of me and I have been able to hear what they think or say and still, I move on. I have not come this far to have anyone mess up with my happy self. I love being happy and seeing others happy but the truth is, not everyone wants to see you happy and by their actions, they don't seem like they want to be happy too. I am responsible for how I turn out even though there are so many factors that can influence it. We need to also understand that so many people are insecure and you can only help as far as they allowed you to. Never impose yourself on anyone, don't sell yourself short either and don't give a discount. Balance is needed in everything especially when it comes to managing your emotions.

Image Source.

On the flip side of things too, don't try to make another person be like you. If you try it, it would be a disaster waiting to happen because his person is coming from a different background and faced with different exposure, so thinking you can change that within few months of meeting them is unrealistic. No one can change anyone except they feel the need to change something by their own will. It is maturity that would make you tolerate the other person in your space.

If you give attention to what people are saying every time, there is no doubt in it that you would be hindered. Learn to keep your emotions in check. Learn to balance things and stop getting triggered by everything because people won't learn to trust you and they can't even say which version of you they would meet next. Learn to balance things. This is not to say you can't address issues or tell people when they have done something wrong. How you go about it matters because these days, most people see being questioned as an attack so when you are talking to them, they are not listening to you per se but they are getting ready for when you will stop so they can respond.

We live in a world where most people already know the answer even before they hear the question because most people are on the edge and they have not learnt the habit of managing their emotions too. You can lead the way and handle things with more maturity that would make them see things your way. A foolish person can appear to be wise even by how he or she manages their emotions.

I noticed most people are also on the edge when they are sleep deprived. Learn to exercise and sleep better. It calms you down and helps in your journey to emotional balance.

Thank you for your time.

6
$ 8.36
$ 8.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.10 from @fantagira
+ 3
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

Hi!πŸ‘‹ I, myself sometimes tend to forget how to control my emotions, to the extent that I do such undesirable things that gives me a hard time.

This article of yours will somewhat helped me to test myself on how to manage my emotions.

Thanks for sharing it to us Sir! Good day!☺️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's normal and as humans we learn everyday. I am glad this can help in a way. Thanks a lot for your honest comment. πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome sir!☺️ I'm glad to met you..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am happy tooπŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hihi..😁😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see many wise words my friend. Not caring about what other people say or think about you is a skill that comes with age and experience I guess. I used to be VERY bothered when I was younger. But tell me, who's been judging you so much recently? I can sense some slightly hurt feelings.

Very good reminder about not trying to change anyone. I am yet to witness even one case when this approach actually worked.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much, Monika. Hahaha. You got me there. Yes, I am used to many people reading too many things into it when they see me laughing with a lady because I am the playful type sometimes...on my days hahaha.

You are right though, it comes with age. We tend to understand and learn how to shrug off those words.

Not trying to change anyone is a way where we either model to them by how we act so they can learn or learn how to tolerate people. We live in a world where everyone wants people to act like them forgetting they have it all different based on their backgrounds.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You? Playful? No idea where they get this idea from, cause all I get are threats πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£ trust me, this threat is a good one...masked up perfectly. A threat you would always want around

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No shit! πŸ˜…πŸ˜πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Up for it, yaaaaay! 😍😍😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You made me laugh a lot today Ola, thank you ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You gave me the same effect, Monika. You are all shades of cuteness. Thank you for being so warm and lovely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All shades of cuteness you say? πŸ˜… Ok, ok, I’ll be cute.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha you are cute already. 😘😘😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can you suggest me books that agood to read to boost my self-esteem for me to manage my emotions well?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Gladly.

You can read "The Lady, Her Lover and Her Lord" by TD Jakes

Daniel Goleman's "The Power of Emotional Intelligence"

"How Emotions Are Made" by Lisa Feldman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I'll go for How Emotions Are Made, I will search it. Thank you for replying by the way

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad I could help. Well done.

$ 0.00
2 years ago