Know Your Place, People.

20 57
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

It took me a very long time before I could realize that most people are selfish and they would make you feel bad just because of their selfish ways. No offence, I have done such to people too, so that's just human nature but we can do better. I have said it many times that you need to prioritize yourself and you owe no one an apology. This is your life and you have to treat yourself better. As harsh as it might sound, learn to value yourself because if you drop the ball, others would pick it right up and best you to dragging yourself if you don't value yourself enough. It is not pride but self-worth.

Pride is thinking of yourself more than you ought to while low self-esteem is thinking yourself lesser than you ought to while humility is not thinking yourself lesser than you ought to. They are all different and knowing this would help you to know those who need to stay in your life and those who need to take the exit door. Whether we like it or not, our association matters in life.

As humans, we have all been guilty of this at some point and that is, we have this burning desire to be accepted by others so we would do anything, just about anything to please them even when it makes us uncomfortable. We are causing ourselves more harm than good by compromising our standards. We are more interested in what others think of us forgetting that they would talk either way - when you please them and when you didn't.

"If you want to travel fast, you need to travel light" - Unknown. This is the truth because the people you allow in your life will either slow you down or help you to your desired goal. It all boils down to our choices. Do what's best for you and that includes whatever gives you a clear conscience to sleep better at night. Stop riding on others at the detriment of your own conscience.

The first step to accepting yourself is to know your place in people's lives. Someone said something years ago and as funny as it sounds, it is the truth; "Don't carry anyone like a bag of rice when they only hold you like a pinch of salt" - Unknown. This one makes me laugh every time I think of it and that is "Treat me like a joke and I will leave you like it's funny" - Anonymous.

Stop making apologies for those people you have cut off from your life. You are not judging them but you are checking your value system. If someone is not adding anything meaningful to your life and all they cause you is pain and hardship, I feel this should be an easy decision until they have been able to mature to treat you better. Stop keeping just anyone around. Get people out of your life or in it by checking the value they bring into your life.

Image Source.

A preacher once said and I quote: "Maybe we meet some few bad people in life so that when we meet the good ones we can appreciate them" so when someone adds nothing but more pain into your life, cut them off. Life is hard enough, isn't it? Don't let someone make it even worse.

What value are you also adding to the lives of those around you? In as much as you are holding yourself to high standards by your willingness to cut people off, what value are you adding to their lives as well? We sometimes attract what we are and we accept the love we sometimes think we deserve. Do you think your organization would keep paying you a salary while you bring nothing to the table? They would gladly and willingly allow you to go because they are using the value system to determine what's best for their business. If anyone makes you feel worse than they met you, say goodbye to them.

This life is very simple, so if you are not helping someone, you are causing more misery to someone. I want to go to where I am celebrated rather than where I am tolerated. Everyone is doing what's best for themselves so why won't you do the same?

There are people I've had to let go and I am not sorry. I am watching out for myself too because if the table turned, they would do the same without batting an eyelid. Cutting them off doesn't mean we are at loggerheads, far from it but when you meet amazing people, you just know that you need to think of yourself more and that's why I am grateful for the gift of Monika. She is an awesome being. I am not tagging her πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ so she won't say I am tagging her too much (it's our little banter).

Be around people who would let you be yourself and also help you to become better while still holding on to your true nature. Stop holding on to those whose relevance has 'expired'. Not everyone in your life is for the long haul, some are just for a season. We are all flawed and imperfect but only you can weigh both sides to determine those you would give the free pass in your life. Remember, your choice determines a lot as to how far you'd go in life.

Image Source.

I etched you on the pages of my heart

I feel we have so much to share on earth

I am excited to see us cross paths

Because my heart beats tumultuously

To the rhythm of your heart

How right it is that

What comes from the heart touches the heart

Thank you for being the rainbow after the rain

The hope that I seek after a turbulent period

As you are to me, I promise to be even more to you

Thank you for your time.

12
$ 11.13
$ 10.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 8
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

Maybe that's why I only have few real friends. The many ones I used to have filtered in time. That's life and that's why sometimes it's better to be happy in private because people love to ruin things.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha I love that last line; people love to ruin things and it stems out from their greediness and selfishness.

Yes, they filter away over time and I would always pick quality over quantity too. The smaller, the better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said. Some people just come to your life to ruin it. They got nothing to contribute but pain and headaches so it is ok to cut off this kind of person to protect your mental health. It is our life anyway, no one will take responsibility of what will happen but us so let's protect our mental health at all cost.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is beautiful and that's so true, we are responsible for ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also sorry for leaving or should I say stay away those people whom I know will not make me bloom of what I am and will just give me harm. I am not guilty though. You're right my friend, not all people we met will stay for long coz some will come to you just for a test and to give us learning about life. We should choose those people who will not let our dignity down and we should protect our sanity for peace. β˜ΊοΈπŸ’œ I so love this article my friend. It reminds me to choose myself and never tried to degrade my self and that I should choose myself towards other. And never try to neglect my self just to be accepted by others. Thanks my friend for this reminder. πŸ’š

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am so happy you enjoyed it, my friend. Absolutely, we must not degrade ourselves because we want to appreciate someone else. A true friend would value us and it would be mutual. Thanks a lot, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

,πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€— Keep writing articles like this my friend. Your articles are my reminders hihihi. Sometimes I don't write a comment but the words always point. πŸ’œ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really appreciate your kind words. Thanks a lot for this my friend πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can sense something between you and Monika here 🀣 Anyway. I prefer staying away from people who give me stress.. Lol.. And those who don't trust me and just making my self-esteem low. they are not worth the keep.. Better collect the genuine ones..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lmaaaaaaaao! Monika is an awesome being.

Absolutely, anyone who gives stress and still won't add value. If they make us feel less of who we are, we should cut them off without apology.

Thanks a lot, cute Janey ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We owe no one anything. Treat yourself better and people will do the same to you. When you know your real self worth, no one would come to give you lesser stuff because they know who you are. Thanks for explaining more on pride, humility and low self esteem.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much darling. You got it spot on. When we value ourselves, we won't accept less.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with this. Don't feel bad when you cut people off because they're no longer adding value to your life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely. We should always do what's best for us. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right when you say that we should stay away if we know to ourselves that these people brings no good for us. Its hard to deal with toxic people, you won't grow better.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very hard to deal with them. We need to be intentional about our growth. Thank you for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have nothing more to add for you have said it all :) I have learned to keep those that matter in my life. I still question sometimes what value am I to them? What am I giving back in return?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely...value should be reciprocated...it must be mutual. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Loved this. Got another screenshot from this to share. I relate to your words, and so I am guilty of feeling sorry for breaking away from people who just do nothing but make me feel hurt. Well, sigh. ..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely. I was in that bracket before too because I feel sorry about it all the time until I got to know that it is natural for some people's story in your life to come to an end. We can be in a good place to relate with each other but I don't have to let them in fully.

$ 0.00
2 years ago