Giving.

10 23
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Giving, Love

Yesterday, I took on a challenge by @JonicaBradley where I spoke about what motivates me. I made mention of the ability to give back to people as one of the motivations for me. My view of life is very simple, as much as I have been helped, I also want to help another.

If we care enough, share enough, the world would have enough. The world is blessed with enough of our needs but never enough for our greed. My motto is "Don't feel proud because you have bread to eat. Remember, someone owns the bakery." That quote humbles me anytime I want to get ahead of myself and feel I am doing too much. We can never do too much in this fleeting world that is full of pain for others. It is a privilege to have enough.

That post drove me back to when we held what we can call outreach to help those in a particular location. We had food items to give to them and also household items. We got donations for clothes and materials and I was so happy that day.

Giving makes me happy. The truth is, there is no one who wouldn't love to receive too, so I love receiving just as I also love giving to people.

I know a lot of people might take advantage of you because you give but I have never been bothered about that because I always go with my conscience. I love maintaining a clear conscience that would make me sleep fine at night. I want to satisfy my mind by doing what I enjoy doing which is giving.

A lot of people don't know that when people take advantage of us sometimes, it is a huge compliment because it shows they expect us to be good all the time. I know it's a tricky place but I love to see it that way which makes it easier for me not to be bothered too much if they were.

The world is in a bad place and with this movie of a thing too, you see a lot of people struggling. You can be seated next to a broken person and you wouldn't even know it. Life deals with everyone differently and when we can make life better and a bit bearable for others, I would always join that cause.

We need to learn to give to those who might never be able to repay us at that time. The story of Bill Gates always come to mind when he shared the story. He was asked who is the richest person in the world. A lot of people would expect him to mention himself at that time but he shared a story. When he was still struggling, a young boy selling newspaper once gave him a free newspaper. It was his lunch money but he gave it to Bill Gates.

Bill Gates became rich and went looking for that boy. He asked if the boy recognized him and he said yes, "Are you not the richest man in the world?". Smart kid. He wasn't only selling the newspaper, he was updating his knowledge too. Bill Gates told him that he wanted to reward him for his kindness back then but the boy answered, " You cannot reward me. I gave you when you had nothing. It was my lunch money then and you want to give to me when you have everything." The boy was simply saying the scale isn't on a balance because his help was timely and more sacrificial.

I see life through a lens that as many people as I can get through to, I just want to help and I have met amazing people on this platform that always want to give, help and share too. Giving is not limited to material things. Once someone can be better off than you met them, that is giving. Your words of advice, direction and help in any way is giving. We should all learn to make life bearable for others to live in.

I will be sharing some of the pictures from the outreach where over 400 people were gifted food items, wears and household items too. It was in partnership with a few organization and I am glad it was a success.

We should always be constantly reminded of what is important in life.

I want to appreciate my sponsors: @JonicaBradley @Bjorn and @fantagira

I am sorry but my heart is full of gratitude to you all. Thank you, once again.

7
$ 2.95
$ 2.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Bjorn
$ 0.10 from @fantagira
+ 4
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Giving, Love

Comments

I remember the words “the only time you look at your neighbors’ bowl is when you want to check if they have enough, not when you want to know if you have more.”

This phrase humbles me and always makes me want to give to those in need. That’s why I regularly donate old books and clothes, especially when I know they’re gonna be used more by someone else. I hope you’ll get to inspire more people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a noble act. I love it. Yes, donating to those who need it more is important and I love that quote. In a world where everyone wants to show off, it is important to look at the bowl of our neighbour to know when to give more rather than to brag. I enjoyed this. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a beautiful story. I think the very first step in reaping rewards is to be generous. I may never be a millionaire, but I help when I can. When we first moved here to Texas, the property was filled with all kinds of junk. People said we should sell it. We didn't. We gave it away. We have it to people who we knew would go sell it and spend the money on booze. We didn't attach any strings. My son was amazed one time when we were traveling. We stopped to eat. I noticed a couple who seemed very down on their luck. Her ankles were dirty and her hair was unkempt. They were both very thin and obviously living on the streets. I only had coins on me. But I say down at their table and asked them if they wanted something to eat. I gave them the handful of coins and offered to buy them each a meal using my card. They turned down the food, but took the French fries I had. The clubs only added up to around 5 dollars or less. My son wanted to know how I knew they needed help. I believe my giving without being asked made a huge impression on him. I sometimes think of that couple and wonder where they are. If they are ok. I get so much from giving.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so beautiful. Thank you for sharing this. You are so kind and your son seeing you do this would definitely make him grow into a kind person. He is blessed to have you as a mother.

I love random acts of kindness like that, really. I paid for a fare of one elderly woman and when I do that, I usually run away, so I sometimes like to do it when the ride was about to end but I had to quickly act on this instance because she was reaching for her purse to pay.

After paying for her, she was looking at me and I was avoiding the gaze 🤣🤣😂.I kept looking forward but I could feel her stare. She tapped me and asked if I knew her or her husband and I replied no. I told her I was just led to pay for her fare. Oh, a quick rewind, just when she was about to enter that taxi, she slammed the door against her finger and she must have been in pain. I was just led to at least make her pain bearable with an act of kindness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I get more from giving than the person to whom I am giving. So really, giving is a very selfish act for me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this perspective to it. Both sides get satisfied. Love it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always loved to give to others because not everyone have, and the little we have, we need to extend to others so we can all be happy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very true, dear. We should find a way to make life bearable for others. Life is hard on its own.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is so very true Olawale. Being able to give to others is one of the best feelings I know.

Not sure I’d like or accept being taken advantage of, but I certainly love the way you look at it. It’s a brilliant perspective that I never thought of.

I also love your pictures. So colourful and heart warming 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much. Yes, being taken advantage of is not so cool but to make myself to continue doing what I love, I love to see it that way so I won't feel discouraged.

It warms my heart whenever I read from you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago