Darkness - What Comes To Mind.

15 39
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

This is the #4 Writing Prompt of @JonicaBradley. Thank you for all that you do and I wish you more strength.

You can join the prompt.

The rules are simple:

  • Write about darkness

  • Write 100% original content

  • Write at least 600 words

  • Tag meΒ @JonicaBradley

  • Have Fun!

Darkness... This hits me differently and it took me back to the "dark ages". What do I mean by dark ages? The time of ignorance, the time when there is no understanding and in my language here we say "when the eyes were dark" - a time where there was no civilization.

I was at the receiving end of this when my parents didn't know better. I don't blame them because they didn't understand either. They had their thinking only in one spot so it was hard for them to break out from it. Like I always say, your exposure matters in life and you are limited sometimes as your background if you choose to stay rooted in that spot. I am sure if my father lived in this era, he would do things differently and even encourage me to do what I have always wanted to do.

As I said, darkness in this sense is a time where there was no exposure. In Nigeria here, we sometimes tag darkness to when someone doesn't 'know'. We say that person is in the dark as the English people would also say.

Image Source 2.

My father was in the dark. He didn't know better when I told him I wanted to become a football. He felt it was a waste of time and it is not a profession. To him, having to work in a corporate world is more rewarding. Back then, what is becoming a trend now, no one dare try it. How would you tell your parent you want to become a fashion designer or learn a trade? They believe it was for those who lack the means and to them, it was a slap on any parent's face if you have the means and your child wants differently.

I have heard of someone whose parents have the means and substance and yet he said he wanted to become a photographer. The father beat the living daylight out of him. It was that serious here in Nigeria while growing up. He made sure he sent us to the best of schools but he still believed having invested that much in us, we can't do anything different other than work in organizations.

I have always loved playing football. Every day I would go to the field after school and play till late at night when I would hear his horn from the far corner before the one to our street. I love running too, so I would beat his car for pace and get home before him even if I was about to score a goal. The moment I hear that car horn, nothing else matters, off I run.

No one can beat me for pace and hitting a shot. I was really good at it and I told him. At first, he agreed and said he would get me the form the next day. I should have known it won't be that easy. I just finished secondary school then and I was 16 years old, going to 17 years old. I knew Pepsi Football Academy would do me a world of good in realizing my dreams but he came home with a private university entry form for me. I couldn't hold back the anger and the tears.

After some minutes have passed and I know I had no choice, I went over the form and wanted to settle for Law. Still, it's a new private university in their second year of existence and because it belonged to my denomination: Baptist, dad said I should pick another course since I can't find Law there. I was angrier. I had to settle for Economics and picked Sociology as my second choice. I was picked for my first choice though.

Image Source 3.

This is what comes to my mind when I hear darkness. I pictured a time without 'light' - enlightenment which cost me from pursuing that dream of becoming a footballer. I don't want to see it as evil or a moment where people carry out devious acts but a time where people didn't know better because I feel if they know better maybe they would do better.

This is what 'darkness' means to me and I won't start having regrets, no, I am way past that. Even though he made that decision for me when I had no choice and he is no more and I am the one facing my life now without fulfilment in that area, I tried to make lemonade out of those lemons that came my way and become the best in everything that my hands find to do. I harnessed my talent in writing even though I was doing both writing and playing football back then. I started football before I discovered my writing skills.

No regrets, no tears and I am here, making the most of what I have left and open too, so as not to make the same mistake as he did with my children going forward.

7
$ 6.70
$ 6.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @TengoLoTodo
$ 0.05 from @JonicaBradley
+ 1
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

I can actually relate to your father. My son (age 18) graduated from high school 1 year early. He had all kinds of ideas about what he wanted to do with the rest of his life. We couldn't afford to send him to university, but he was eligible for scholarships and student loans. He ended up not attending Uni. He is working in a tech repair store now. I hope he decides to attend college and get some certifications. He is a coder for a hobby. He's brilliant. If we had had the means, he would have been attending Uni right now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am happy you shared your insight into this, mama and also sharing that personal experience. I can understand your standpoint on this. I totally understand that the parental instinct would always be there to guide the children in the right part.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Not to say you wouldn't be an excellent pro football player!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would have 😭😭😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And now you get to coach.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha I love this. Thanks mama πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Darkness as you said in some sense is a time where there was no exposure.

I think darkness here our country is not based on exposure but on the fact that we have people who doesn't want light to exist. And this limits the growth of a nation in every sphere.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's definitely another angle to it. Darkness means different things to everyone. Absolutely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sorry about this. Though you said no regrets but I can imagine what you went through doing those times.

This is what many suffer in the hands of those parents who seem to think their choice is the best for their children. I have been there so I know this. I suddenly developed an interest in learning how to sew but not because I wanted to become a professional seamstress but because I felt it is a skill I should know. My mom never stands in the way of whatever it is we wanna do but my dad? Oh boy lol. I told my dad and just like your dad, he accepted and I was very happy only for him to change his mind the next day and said that if it's not education that he wasn't going to sponsor it. So like that, I crossed it off my list.

The only difference between you and me is that yours was a passion but mine was just a skill I wanted to acquire so I didn't brood over it for a long time.

Well, I am glad that you have no regrets and that you are doing everything possible now to succeed in whatever you do. I wish you the best.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am glad you can also relate to it to some extent and that's what we faced with our parents here while growing up. I believe they felt they know better but they didn't especially in this part of the world.

Thank you so much for this. Detailed and deep.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awesome wee article , it takes me back to my time working in Africa. Football unites the world. I support Rangers and every time I came I would give jerseys to all the kids. I love football and we used to play local teams. I would badger my bosses and often we would their teams full football strips. Gabon was the best I had my little fan club of Gabonese cheering me, haha brilliant times , I was a striker and a hotshot.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Striker...that is amazing. I used to play on the wings and over time I adapted to playing in the central midfield but my favourite is still the wings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep. I was a no nonsense striker a traditional centre forward if the ball was a foot from the floor I would header it, not afraid of physical stuff

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is amazing. I have always admired the traditional kind of striker who risks it all, stay up there and nick in the goals.

$ 0.00
2 years ago