The dreamer

4 43
Avatar for Okeh
Written by
2 years ago

Is it just me or is this year is going fast?. I can remember vividly what has been happening in my life since the beginning of the year. I really have some happy moments but I don't want to tell you guys about it until the end of this year because it's still a work in progress.

Let me not lie, the strike that is happening in my university is really affecting me (not in a bad way though). I know people will say "go learn a trade", "go learn a skill", "read a book", " get a hobby". But let us face the fact, it doesn't really matter because once you're in a position for too long and you don't see growth, you get tired and focus on another things. I've gained admission to the university since 2019 and I'm just starting 200level, and it really isn't smooth but I keep pushing forward.

Just like what my dad always says" do your things at the right time so that you won't be coming back for it when you've passed the stage". That quote has really helped me because now I'm more alert and I want to follow my peers and do the innovative things that are doing.

Since the strike started in February, I started learning some basic computer skills because before now I really didn't know anything about tech and I'm studying a technology course in the university, it's funny right. Maybe because I didn't have the drive before or maybe because I'm not coming from a family that is into tech stuffs that much or maybe because most of my friends are art related students but all these things is about finding your purpose and follow it.

As I was learning the skills, I realized how much I love doing those things so I decided to follow it up . Some of my Friends have been tell me to read my school books to be waiting for when resumption starts so that when we resume, the school books will be like a revision. But I ask myself, am I going to be waiting for a Nigerian university that doesn't guarantee my success in life it mostly guarantee that you've gone through that stage. But mind you, I still carry my books from time to time but not in a way that it's my priority.

So back to my basic learning computer skills, it came to my notice that I don't know graphic designing. Which isn't a good thing because graphic designing is like the new deal, even small children have an idea of it. I got a link from my sister to apply for a scholarship that is strictly women to help them grow in a skill "ingressive for good", I don't know if you all knew about the scholarship then because it was more of a women affair but the only thing is that they were giving only 1000 women the scholarship out of over 19k that applied for it.

I applied for the scholarship early February but the results didn't come out till April. I actually thought I was going to get it but unfortunately, I didn't but I'm happy my sister got it, I'm so proud of her. Not getting the scholarship hasn't stopped me tho because during my waiting process, I realized I didn't have to get a scholarship to know graphic designing, there are many courses online that gives it for free too. But my main issue is that I don't know where to start, people are telling me to use Canva while others are telling me to use Adobe. I'm actually looking for an app that'll take baby steps with me, Incase you know of one, you can help a friend out and drop it in my comment session.

Till then I'll still keep being a dreamer and achieve my dreams.

Sponsors of Okeh
empty
empty
empty

7
$ 1.37
$ 1.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Mofif
$ 0.02 from @Sequoia
+ 1
Avatar for Okeh
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I believe you will learn graphics design fully and I also like designing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a good my friend. Trying ways ti improve ro develop new skills is nice. Let us keep dreaminv and always remember that dreams are the fuel of our soul.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's nice that you are atleast trying to build your graphics design skills even though you didn't get the scholarship. It's one of the best decisions you've made yet

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah🤭

$ 0.00
2 years ago