My Greatest Temptation

4 24
Avatar for OkanlaDavid
2 years ago

My Greatest Temptation, my great challenge.

I have seen many who have fallen victim to temptation in many ways, would I say they brought it upon themselves or chances have it come their way. Temptation is part of our lives here on earth, there is nothing we can do to eradicate it from happening. No matter who you are, how old you have lived on earth, how rich you are or poor, how experienced you are, everyone has their measure of temptation. The life we live determines the kind of temptation we attract.

If Jesus Christ the Beloved Son of God was tempted despite His spiritual status before God and mission on earth why won't we be tempted? Christ knows the way through it when He was tempted directly by the devil, He knows him (the devil) likewise the devil knows who Christ was but he still went ahead to tempt him. However, our case is quite different because the devil will never come directly in person to tempt us rather he will occupy a thing or someone to carry that assignment out. Have you ever reason why? Is the devil afraid to come to us directly? Or do he feel we won't fall to his temptation when we know it is him?

Well, there is power in us that the devil cannot outshine directly which means he needs our consent to have his plan met. Temptation is a big fight in the mind of any individual because one is in between two crossroads of decision and at the same time the urge to do what is not is presently active. So what do you do in this case? We cannot run nor hide from temptation but we can resist or confront it in order not to fall, victim, as some others did.

So many people have fallen victim to temptation in one way or the other. I have in some cases, what about you but understand that it doesn't determine who we are. When tempted, is either you fall or rise tall but when we fall it is our responsibility to get up and move on in life rather than wallowing as victims of temptation. Temptation is slippery ground, anyone found therein will never leave the past behind and will be limited in limited.

What is my greatest temptation? I have been tempted by something sexually which I fall victim to, I have been tempted financially and I fall for It too, even emotionally, materially I have but I have come to a conclusion that to be tempted is not in things. I discovered that to overcome temptation I have to fight my way not to become a victim and it is what I finally decide for I end up doing which means the decision is left for me to make. The shocking news is that I am my temptation. It is what I choose that I end up falling for be it good or bad, right or wrong. It is my choice, I chose it someway somehow over other chances I got.

I am my own greatest temptation, so are you or aren't you? If I can conquer the wrong decision I desired then I will make the right decision but if I conquer myself for the wrong decision I will end up neglecting the right decision. Oh, myself I wonder how I can conquer you without struggle, I wonder how I can do the needful without chances of being tempted to do wrong? The decision is ours to make not God nor the devil. They both need our consent as they suggest to us.

As I conclude, why do I do things I don't want to do, I say things I don't want to say, I see things I don't want to see nor hear what I don't what to hear, think what I don't want to think? Am I lost to my temptation? Am I subjected to myself instead of me to be in charge? What is the way out, the way to fight against temptation, the way to overcome the nature of self in me? Oh God, I need your intervention. My greatest temptation is me, I love me, I'm interested in me, I will do what I want to do? However, all these things are a pointer to the temptation ahead and the ones to be suggested to us to feast on till we become victim to it.

#Peace

#OkanlaDavid

Sponsors of OkanlaDavid
empty
empty
empty

7
$ 1.94
$ 1.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.04 from @FarmGirl
+ 3
Sponsors of OkanlaDavid
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for OkanlaDavid
2 years ago

Comments

Our Father in heaven is perfect and He desires that we are perfect too. God's grace is available to keep us from falling into temptation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We can’t all be perfect but we struggle to get to perfection and involving God always is the best way to come off it and daily it gets tough coz I’ve been there…. This is a wonderful write up and a message

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am too, that's the truth and what we think usually tempts us to do or not to do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is called temptation, I guess we keep fighting to overcome when challenged with it. 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago