Amina

4 13
Avatar for Okadi14
1 year ago

Of the many messages I saw, I opened hers first because it bore a familiar name, Amina. And the message read thus ..

" Hi Okadi, my name is Amina, I am from Kaduna and I really admire your work, may I have your number, please?"

We exchanged numbers, and we talked over the phone every night, I had called first with a different number, speaking to her in Hausa Language almost through out our conversation.

She could not guess who I was, and I made it known to her that I was disappointed at the fact that she didn't have my number anymore. She apologized and said she couldn't explain what happened, and begged that I told her who I was. I had called her by her full name, Amina Hassan. She was sure I knew her.

She could never have imagined it was I, for she never thought I knew Hausa Language and very well too. She read a of my poems, and stories but never reacted to anyone of them, and I didn't notice.

She talked about it and explained why, I felt pity and told her it would all pass.

I called to wish her a happy Eid Mubarak, and playfully asked that she sent me my share of rice and meat. We talked for a little more while, then she asked that I wrote a poem tittled "AMINA" with a promise that I'd never share it with anyone nor post it anywhere.

That wasn't going to be so much of a big deal but it just didn't make complete sense. I asked her what she would want me to write about and she said, " write about your friend who would soon die of cancer.

At that moment, words were stuck in my mouth until I managed to exclaim "wow" before I asked, "what is going on Amina?"

She promised to tell me after I wrote the poem, by then, I already suspected that she had cancer. I really hoped I was wrong.

I tried to write the poem anyway, but my mind was blank. I scrambled for words, but every word seemed wrong.

two days later, I couldn't come up with any poem and she wouldn't say anything to me until I had sent her the poem.

She called in the morning to ask if it was ready, and I said it would be ready tonight.

I sent a poem of a few lines. She replied with smiley face and a heart Emoji. I said "your turn" and she replied with an "ok"

I called in the morning and said " Hello Amina" when the phone was answered. But a sad voice replied " Amina ta ratsu (Amina is dead)

©️Okadi

3
$ 0.03
$ 0.02 from @Mafer8866
$ 0.01 from @CoinBitShac
Avatar for Okadi14
1 year ago

Comments

God, in all your stories I am very shocked, I always get a lump in my throat, but I like that, when the writer conveys a feeling

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, beautiful

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't know what to say, and Im not in the position to ask. Really, we need to value the time the we have here, if you have still the opportunity to show your concern to other people chase it and grab it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I agree

$ 0.00
1 year ago