Read! But don't overread!

8 22
Avatar for Offset
Written by
1 year ago
4th August, 2022
Thursdays 6:00 am WAT
Third Article of the month

Reading is more and all about gaining and gathering lot of knowledge, which will be a power for us in the nearest future, because no knowledge is wasted!

Back then in those days,in my secondary school days, so many students thought "I'm intelligent, but deep down, I'm not." I know y'all will be eager to know why I said that, I said that because I'm not someone who is divinely intelligent, all I do is to Read. In fact, in most cases, I do crame what I have read, it's not as if, I really understand all i have read. When it's comes to exam time, from the beginning of the term, I don't read my books at all, I only pick them up when we are having exams. That's how I have been operating. But I felt this is not the best way to be an intelligent being. One has to gather a lot of knowledge so that this uniqueness will be in you among other school. Though this was a realization after graduating from a secondary School. Long term studying is the best.

When I talk about Long-term studying, I mean when we read, and we made those readings sink in our long-term memory, that's when long term Reading will be achieved.

Don't Overread!

I really what to explain this, according to what I have experienced. There is this attitude of mine, that I like making friends with those who I Know they are actually more intelligent than I am, most times sef, most of my friends are my seniors.

Here is a brief or little story or experience, which I have had about Overreading. There's a girl I do walk with then in my school, she's very brilliant though, many times, if i tell her to explain some things to me, or telling her to shed more light on a particular topics which seems so complicated for me, the next response from her will be, " I have almost finished the textbook, so what don't you understand"

So that statement always made feel like, for this girl to have said this, that means, she would have gathered a lot of knowledge. So I will also pull the trigger, by borrowing her textbook home, so I will start reading hard, then I started this reading of a thing. A particular topic is almost 15 pages, and then we were in week 9 by that time, and I was still Reading just One topic by then, of almost 15 pages, but we have few weeks left for exam. I will read and read, I won't still understand, as I'm using her textbook, I will use mine as well, In conjunction with the class note, but I only grasp few things there. I didn't get myself, because all I was reading wasn't entering my memory the way I want them.

When this process wasn't helping me, I returned her textbook, then started using my class note to Read, and Alot of attention to the teacher while teaching. I noticed something about her, since she has started reading her textbook, she's hasn't be listening anymore, coz she felt she has read it. But she doesn't know that paying maximum attention in class helps Alot. And this really helped me in my exam. Behold, when the result of our examination came out, she couldn't tell me her result because she knows she didn't do well. Total attention and little reading of my class note scaped me through.

How people Read

The way we assimilate things is quite different from each other. The way I read and understand might be different from yours. The way I answer questions might be different from yours.

  • Some people read, if and only if they are hearing music

  • Some read, if and only if the place is quiet

  • Some people also read by waking up at midnights to read

  • Some read, even though there's noise

And that's me, if I'm determined to read, even though there's noise, that doesn't mean I wouldn't read.

A little piece of advice

  • What this place is actually telling us all is that, "Don't read because your friend is reading"

  • Read at the best moment you feel like reading

  • Read at your convenience time, without anyone telling you to put that into action

  • Don't disguise as if you're reading, but deep down you aren't reading anything

  • Don't read because you saw others reading.

  • All these won't come in your favour

  • Just read, without being forced

Conclusion

I will call it a day here, I hope y'all grasp what I'm actually talking about in this article, and that you can use them to amend your ways in terms of reading aspects.

Thanks for reading and supporting my article, I cannot but appreciate y'all both subscribers and Sponsors. It's no one but still @Offset from Nigeria 🇳🇬

6
$ 1.62
$ 1.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @HappyBoy
+ 1
Sponsors of Offset
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Offset
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Hmmm. ‘Yung meaning kasi ng overread is, to interpret something to a greater degree, or in a more positive way, than appropriate; read too in-depth; overinterpret; overanalyze. For me, overreading is bad if it affects your physical and mental health already, or, when it doesn't make sense but you keep in reading. But, if you overread for a purpose and it does not affect your or you know how to manage your health, it can be good.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

When we overread, on the Long run, you will read nothing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It depends sa person siguro.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice article, I still remember when I got admitted in the university, I was told to read wide, study all day and all those stuff. I did but my semester result wasn't worth it. In my next semester, I decided to keep it cool, pay close attention to the lecturer, and I made great grades that semester.

Since then have always told myself, no go dey so pass yourself.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol, that's actually good, doing over sabi is not worth it. One will end up scoring low marks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Read on your convenient time, not only when others tell you it's good for them so do as you. We have intelligence differ from each other, know where you are good at. Blessings Offset.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's just it, the rate at which we get to understand things are quite different

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The mix and the united.

$ 0.00
1 year ago